We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is one of the best resort I visited in my life.
The resort is only a 20 minute ride from the airport, the grounds are beautifully maintained and the main building is breathtaking

The personnel was very friendly, responsive and attentive to my requests, the hotel has an excellent solid team.

However, the highlight of this resort are the restaurants; I enjoyed all restaurants but I was too impressed by the excellence of the Italian Restaurant "Il Giardino" (in my opinion the chef Guido is the best chef of the world!!!)
The service and attitude of the entire staff was fantastic. Everyone was courteous and friendly and performed their job well.
The beach barbeque was fun and the food very good also

The Half Moon Resort should please most people. The setting, accommodation, facilities and service is of a very high standard and it has everything you need for a relaxing, luxurious holiday

GREAT!!!! I want to go back...again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients; we thank you for taking the time to share such lovely review about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. Our goal is to provide the best possible service to our clients and their satisfaction is our reward.

We are delighted you enjoyed the resort and its offerings; it is always lovely to hear that the team was friendly and performed their job well.

Thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ in the not so distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    208
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
360
312
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visited for two weeks in August with our seventeen year old twins their older sister and boyfriend.This was our eleventh visit but first with the whole family for about five years. We had Cottages 52,53 &54 which were perfect as we all had our own space but were still together and only yards away from the sea. Over the years we've stayed in various other locations on site but prefer the cottages which have a little more character than some of the newer additions. On our last couple of trips which had been a little later in the year we had been disappointed to find the Sugar Mill closed but on this occaision it was up and running and we made good use of it although sadly the newly opened Jerk restaurant at the Oleander which we had been looking forward to trying was shut. However we made good use of all the others eating places including the Seagrape, Italian, Robbies Kitchen (good for lunch) and the Indian/Thai. All excellent except the Indian which was a little disappointing. We were on the Half Moon Plan which is the only way to go unless you want to run up a very large bill and my wife and I upgraded to the Spa and golf plans at the resort. I played golf everyday at the crack of dawn and thanks to Norman my long suffering caddie of many years I usually made it back for breakfast with the family. My wife who claims to be something of an expert rates the Fern Tree Spa very highly and as with my golf it became part of her daily ritual. The kids or young grown ups as they prefer to be known used most of the facilities including tennis and horse riding and particularly enjoyed their excursion into the sea. Apart from it's fantastic location,excellent accomadation ,great food etc the one thing we really enjoy about Half Moon is being made to feel so welcome and it has truly become our home from home. In addition to my buddy Norman, special mention to Donnine at the swim up bar, all the guys at the beach bar and Teana Daniella,Derek,Everett Jourdain Caswell and Winston from the Seagrape. Also Grace-Ann on reception was truly exceptional in sorting out our little queries. To everyone at Half Moon thanks for making this such a fantastic family holiday. We'll see you again next year.

Room Tip: We prefer the cottages located on the west side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just got back from our Family Vacation of 6 adults and 2 small children. We loved our stay at Villa 54. Ask for our great staff: Kirk, Susan & Denise. Their hospitality was excellent.
They prepared 3 meals a day in villa every day which was perfect for a family with small children.
We had fresh fish, crab, lobster, chicken & oxtail all in a different sauce every time!
We loved that it was off season it felt like we had the place to ourselves and we just relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful grounds. The golf carts are a necessity in the Villa's. We used them all day long to and from the main beach, dolphins, playground, equestrian center, spa & exploring.
I would highly recommend Half Moon for a relaxing family vacation!!

Room Tip: Recently Renovated Oceanfront Villa's !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The company for which I work has an annual leadership conference for which I qualified. They sent my wife and I to the Half Moon Resort in Jamaica. We were OVERWHELMED!!! It was an all inclusive resort that included meals and drinks around the clock. The property was GIGANTIC and well manicured. The seascape views were breathtaking and the location was secured which gave us such peace. I could go on and on about the resort including its amenities. To give the synopsis, they have 2 miles of private beach, a dolphin lagoon where you can swim with the dolphins, an equestrian center that allows you to ride bareback on the horses right out into the sea, etc. There was so much to do that we never left the resort for the 5 days we were there. It was incredible. The lodging options were varied based on preferences, but we were put into a 6 bedroom villa with our own staff which included a butler and a housekeeper. Our staff, which was comprised of Anthony, Andrene, and Janet was the piece that made the trip unforgettable. They were always available and so friendly that they felt like part of the family by the time we departed. The company informed us that all costs of the trip were included including gratuity, but we were so impressed by Anthony, Andrene and Janet's desire to provide unparalleled service, that we pulled together an additional gratuity. Andrene washed our clothes daily and pressed them for us. She even mended a pair of khaki shorts for me that needed a new zipper and a button. All with a smile and no request for money. Anthony served us breakfast on our terrace daily at 8am, per our request, and was so warm and welcoming. It made getting up early a real enjoyment. Janet was always smiling and so friendly. We really got to know each of them and felt a little anxiety about leaving. We were concerned about staying in Jamaica after having spoken to a few friends. Needless to say, we were expecting a lot less and we were stunned! If you're entertaining a trip to Jamaica, I would urge you to consider the Half Moon Resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Golf, equestrian, spa, fine food, pools, fitness, tennis, water sports.... the list goes on.....and while Jamaica is so beautiful, this resort has outstanding beaches,truly wonderful accommodations,and the most outstanding staff...always cheerful and most accommodating from grounds people to managers! This stay was quite the experience and I highly recommend Half Moon...ya mon!

Room Tip: Our suite was in the original part of the resort. It was labeled a Junior Suite. The ocean was lite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Half Moon in September, 2013. Probably not the best time to visit because of the heat. We did have some rain, but plenty of sun to enjoy the beautiful beach. Our room was in the west cottages near the far end of the resort. I would highly recommend this area of this huge resort. Comfortable bed, big bathroom. We had our own patio with nice furniture and a view of the beach just steps away. The beach is beautiful with calm, clear water. Snorkeling was perfect just beyond the roped off swim area. The food was very good and the employees went over and above to provide excellent service. The wine was not great, but there was otherwise a good selection. The resort has a lot of history and I spent some time in the main lobby area looking at the pictures. The resort is big so at times you may have to take a golf cart to get around.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

BUT we came during off season. If you're young and looking for fun, this is NOT the place during off season. I can't speak on how it is otherwise. It's a ghost town and very expensive to get off the resort through the resort's taxi service. $60 round trip to the hip strip or Margaritaville. [there is a free shuttle at night to Margaritaville]. The service is amazing with accommodating staff. All in all, it was relaxing and QUIET but I won't be back until I'm 50+

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.