We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A very beautiful, huge resort. The staff were very helpful. The room was large with a fantastic bathroom and wonderful outlook over the sea. Enjoyed the breakfasts which changed daily and had a wide variety of local produce to try - really loved the juices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience, we are happy you enjoyed the resort, it’s amenities and the hospitality from our staff. We try hard to provide the best possible product to our valued customers and their satisfaction is our reward.

We are delight you selected Half Moon; we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    208
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
360
312
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrencville,GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every year my girlfriends and I take a trip to the Caribbean for a couple of days to get away from husbands, kids, and work.This year as a group Half Moon was our first villa. The resort was amazing!! It had everything to please 12 women. Even one lady stated she will not stay anywhere else in Jamaica. Nothing else has to be said. Thanks again Half Moon on behalf of the Soul Sistas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients
We are delighted that the ‘Soul Sistas’ thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the Royal Villa team created and experience of a lifetime for you. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, it was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming the ‘Soul Sistas’ back home soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We invited 4 of our other friends and their spouses for a long weekend in Jamaica. We were very pleased with the wonderful service of our butler, cook and maid. Out butler anticipated our every need and acted on it. Our cook did two breakfast sessions to accommodate the golfers and later to accommodate those wanted to sleep in. At one of our dinners our butler took the time to set the table in white linen with candles and fresh flowers. It was lovely. The home was lovely and right on the beach. The spa was great. Overall it was a relaxing, fun and truly enjoyable vacation and we all plan to go back soon.

Room Tip: Suggest you stay in the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was certainly a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor; we are thrilled you had a ‘Royal’ experience. We truly appreciate your lovely comments for the villa team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for our valued guests.

Thank you for staying at Half Moon, A RockRserot; we try to provide the best possible service to our clients and their satisfaction is our reward. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Mead, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in Villa 98 which was great. The best part about the trip was the amazing staff... The Butler, Cook, and housekeeper were so very warm and professional. The cook Lannette prepared authentic Jamaican food for us everyday, and she really is sweet lady. The Butler Jason was really nice, he made sure to keep us updated on all of the cool activities available on the island! The Housekeeper made sure we had clean clothes everyday and kept the Villa pristine. My family and I had a great time!!! Cant wait to return next year :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience, many thanks for recognizing the team for their hospitality; we have shared your lovely comments with them. The staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; we are happy you enjoyed the resort and its offerings and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

All I can say is we can't wait to go back! My husband and I with our two children (13 and 11)stayed at the Half Moon in August. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found the resort from us. Every member of staff were friendly and welcoming. The staff seem delighted to have you stay with them. They treat you like their friend not as a guest and yet there is no obsequiousness. We stayed in an Oleander Suite which gave us a room downstairs for the kids with their own bathroom and a kitchen and a room and bathroom for us upstairs. Although the furnishings are a little tired(particularly compared to the furnishings in the Royal Suites) (and my only criticism would be please change the shower head in the upstairs bathroom) the room is perfectly equipped, very clean (our maid Tracy Ann was a joy) and a brilliant location. We had bicycles at our disposal for the week and this was a brilliant way to get around the resort as it is large. It also gave our kids the freedom they crave and because the resort is so safe, we were happy to let them cycle off to meet their friends and have time away from us. The facilities are superb. We swam with the horses which was an incredible experience and also swam with the dolphins - also an incredible experience. The kids also went snorkelling. However most of the time we spend around either our pool or the swim up bar pool where the bar staff were amazing - making very wicked cocktails in the afternoon!!! All the restaurants we visited were excellent. Having 6 to choose from plus the Friday night beach bbq enables guests to really get a good variety of food and everywhere the quality of the food; choice of dishes and presentation was excellent. I have already emailed reservations checking availability and prices for next year!! We really can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you have more than one child then the Oleander Suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort, its amenities and of course the many activities. Your comments are valuable to us and are highly appreciated - already we have replaced the showerhead you mentioned.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon It was a certainly pleasure serving you and catering our very important little guests. We are happy you enjoyed our facility and service; and look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort in order to consider it as a wedding destination. It met every criteria for that purpose and so much more. The beauty of the resort is evident from the moment you pull up to the entrance. The friendly greeting we received, along with rum punch, was a sign of the service in every aspect of our stay. The staff was very attentive, friendly and eager to help.
We were only 10 minutes from the airport, but were not disturbed by airplanes overhead.

We stayed in a Hibiscus Suite which was immaculate, spacious and well appointed. The large bathroom offered every convenience and comfort. The large balcony offered a relatively private, beautiful view of the ocean.

The resort is large enough to offer a variety of activities for those who prefer an active vacation-from boat rentals to golf to tennis to biking to horseback riding to swimming with the dolphins. For someone who is looking for relaxation, the beaches are extensive and quiet.

The food at Seagrape Terrace was beautifully presented with a delicious, gourmet quality. The availability of a variety of restaurants, as well as a grocery store on site provides a wide variety of eating options.

We can't wait for our return visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent Half Moon A. Rock Resort experience. Thank you for sharing the lovely comments on tripadvisor. We continue to be committed to provide all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. Our staff members are always ready to exceed expectations, thank you for acknowledging the team.

We thank you for choosing Half Moon for your vacation and look forward to creating an experience of a lifetime for your upcoming wedding.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the time I arrived at the Half Moon welcome lounge in the airport, the staff was warm and inviting! Despite our late arrival time, every member of staff we came across from the welcome lounge, to the town car driver, to the bell hops to the pleasant faces at the check in desk were accommodating and friendly. The suite we stayed in was located right in front of the Olympic size pool and the swim up bar, needless to say we were in paradise! The grounds were beautifully kept, with not a fallen leaf out of place! We were fortunate to get upgraded to a cottage with a private balcony with a walk way onto the beach, because of a problem in our room. We were moved quickly, with no problem, the hotel management were absolutely amazing! As for the bartenders, they became my best friends! They made delicious drinks a long with being friendly, funny and courteous. Even when they were met with rude or pushy customers the bartenders and mangers maintained their professionalism and courtesy! I was so impressed! This was not my first trip to the island, but I will say that the staff at the Half Moon Resort made it one of the best! I look forward to my next family vacation at the paradise that is the Half Moon Resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback from our valued clients. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort, amenities and the hospitality from the staff. Our staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our guests and make each visit special.

We are happy you had an ultimate Jamaican experience; we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' very soon and to deliver another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.