We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

All I can say is we can't wait to go back! My husband and I with our two children (13 and 11)stayed at the Half Moon in August. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found the resort from us. Every member of staff were friendly and welcoming. The staff seem delighted to have you stay with them. They treat you like their friend not as a guest and yet there is no obsequiousness. We stayed in an Oleander Suite which gave us a room downstairs for the kids with their own bathroom and a kitchen and a room and bathroom for us upstairs. Although the furnishings are a little tired(particularly compared to the furnishings in the Royal Suites) (and my only criticism would be please change the shower head in the upstairs bathroom) the room is perfectly equipped, very clean (our maid Tracy Ann was a joy) and a brilliant location. We had bicycles at our disposal for the week and this was a brilliant way to get around the resort as it is large. It also gave our kids the freedom they crave and because the resort is so safe, we were happy to let them cycle off to meet their friends and have time away from us. The facilities are superb. We swam with the horses which was an incredible experience and also swam with the dolphins - also an incredible experience. The kids also went snorkelling. However most of the time we spend around either our pool or the swim up bar pool where the bar staff were amazing - making very wicked cocktails in the afternoon!!! All the restaurants we visited were excellent. Having 6 to choose from plus the Friday night beach bbq enables guests to really get a good variety of food and everywhere the quality of the food; choice of dishes and presentation was excellent. I have already emailed reservations checking availability and prices for next year!! We really can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you have more than one child then the Oleander Suites are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort, its amenities and of course the many activities. Your comments are valuable to us and are highly appreciated - already we have replaced the showerhead you mentioned.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon It was a certainly pleasure serving you and catering our very important little guests. We are happy you enjoyed our facility and service; and look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    785
    208
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
360
312
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at this resort in order to consider it as a wedding destination. It met every criteria for that purpose and so much more. The beauty of the resort is evident from the moment you pull up to the entrance. The friendly greeting we received, along with rum punch, was a sign of the service in every aspect of our stay. The staff was very attentive, friendly and eager to help.
We were only 10 minutes from the airport, but were not disturbed by airplanes overhead.

We stayed in a Hibiscus Suite which was immaculate, spacious and well appointed. The large bathroom offered every convenience and comfort. The large balcony offered a relatively private, beautiful view of the ocean.

The resort is large enough to offer a variety of activities for those who prefer an active vacation-from boat rentals to golf to tennis to biking to horseback riding to swimming with the dolphins. For someone who is looking for relaxation, the beaches are extensive and quiet.

The food at Seagrape Terrace was beautifully presented with a delicious, gourmet quality. The availability of a variety of restaurants, as well as a grocery store on site provides a wide variety of eating options.

We can't wait for our return visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent Half Moon A. Rock Resort experience. Thank you for sharing the lovely comments on tripadvisor. We continue to be committed to provide all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. Our staff members are always ready to exceed expectations, thank you for acknowledging the team.

We thank you for choosing Half Moon for your vacation and look forward to creating an experience of a lifetime for your upcoming wedding.

Sincerely,


Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the time I arrived at the Half Moon welcome lounge in the airport, the staff was warm and inviting! Despite our late arrival time, every member of staff we came across from the welcome lounge, to the town car driver, to the bell hops to the pleasant faces at the check in desk were accommodating and friendly. The suite we stayed in was located right in front of the Olympic size pool and the swim up bar, needless to say we were in paradise! The grounds were beautifully kept, with not a fallen leaf out of place! We were fortunate to get upgraded to a cottage with a private balcony with a walk way onto the beach, because of a problem in our room. We were moved quickly, with no problem, the hotel management were absolutely amazing! As for the bartenders, they became my best friends! They made delicious drinks a long with being friendly, funny and courteous. Even when they were met with rude or pushy customers the bartenders and mangers maintained their professionalism and courtesy! I was so impressed! This was not my first trip to the island, but I will say that the staff at the Half Moon Resort made it one of the best! I look forward to my next family vacation at the paradise that is the Half Moon Resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback from our valued clients. We are delighted you enjoyed the resort, amenities and the hospitality from the staff. Our staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our guests and make each visit special.

We are happy you had an ultimate Jamaican experience; we look forward to welcoming you back 'home' very soon and to deliver another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am always hesitant to take our entire family (our sons 4 & 7) to luxury hotels but Half Moon was just stunning in this regard. The whole place makes a special effort to accommodate children. We had a nice little suit directly on the beach and were upgraded so that mum and dad had a separate room, very nice. Our kids loved it so much they did not want to leave. In the morning we enjoyed the beach and crystal clear sea. At about midday we went to the big pool in the shade. The hotel staff was just amazing with our little people. Absolutely catering to any of our needs. The most amazing experience was the sailing lesson with Jeremy who showed Jona, our oldest, the ropes and provided him with his first outing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated; it was surely a pleasure serving you. We are happy your expectations were exceeded and our very important little people enjoyed their experience including the sailing lesson. We thank you for your comments regarding our staff whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Thank you for selecting Half Moon, and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to serving the family again.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This resort is simply amazing. Stayed recently with my husband and had villa 181 on the beach with living room,kitchen bathroom downstairs with a beautiful patio on the beach and bedroom,bathroom,patio and dressing room upstairs. The service is simply the best and exploring the resort on the provided bikes was so much fun. This resort is very special and they should be proud of what they have created. I stay in hotels pretty much most of my life all over the world and this is one of the best I have encountered. So pleased I will be returning this weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
September 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughy enjoyed the resort and its amenities.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you're looking for an non-descript, dime-a-dozen all-inclusive beach resort in Jamaica, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a timeless, classy, Bogart-Bacall-Key Largo ambiance complemented by a first-class staff, then pack your bags for Half Moon. Having just returned from a 5-night stay in one of the optimally located Hibiscus Suites, here's our take:
The Pros:
* The Property - Conveniently located about 15 minutes from the Sanger International Airport, the 400+ acre Half Moon resort exudes old-world charm from the start. The lobby, recently restored after a fire, is a well-appointed throwback to the 30s and 40s...a Moroccan vibe. The suite and villa exteriors also feel classic, but not old. With amenities that include an equestrian club, an 18 hole putting course and old-time Huffy bikes to get around the expansive property, you feel like you stepped back in time to a much more relaxed era.
* The Rooms - I can only speak for the Hibiscus Suites, which are all oceanside, yet are centrally located on the property, so you're near it all. The rooms are very large and well-appointed. We were there on a particularly hot week, so the AC was always on and greatly appreciated. Ask for a second floor room for the best view of the glorious Caribbean Sea.
* The Restaurants - All very good. As advertised, dinner at the Sugar Mill was the highlight. Try the fish or chicken "escovitched" - a spicy vinegar-based marinade. Amazing! The Seagrapes buffet was excellent overall for breakfast and lunch, and we were impressed with the variety on the menu of Il Gardino, the Italian eatery. Take the advice of others and choose the all-inclusive meal plan, otherwise, plan to pay a minimum of $100 for a decent meal for two.
* The Service - saved the best for last. While you may expect Jamaican hospitality all over the island, I can only say the staff of Half Moon greatly exceeded our expectations. I need to give kudos and props to all those who made my family's stay so special:
- Celie, for her extraordinary pre-arrival concierge services
- Wayne, the bell captain who ran in 95 degree heat to quickly replace our non-functioning room keys upon arrival
- Dennis, our Juta driver to Ocho Rios. Easy going and great to spend the day with, and made an extra trip to return the iPod my son had left in his van. Above and beyond!
- Elvin, my wife's beach buddy, for taking care of our fun in the sun
- Kingsley, who made a friend for life in my son who enjoyed his company in the game room for hours on end
- Solomon at the Sugar Mill, a class-act who is welcome to stay with us on his next trip to Massachusetts
- Renate, for her special attention at lunch at Seagrapes and for arranging the special attention at Il Gardino
- Omar, the sous-chef who recommended the Blue Mountain coffee and made the buffets grand
- Richard, for making a great "everything but the kitchen sink" omelet
- Vanessa, for her daily smiles at the fresh fruit station
- Kevin, our caddy whose ability to read the greens easily saved me 5 strokes...and is a scratch golfer to boot
- Milford, the bartender at the 19th hole who made it the best hole on the course!
- The "Doctor" and Mark - our guides for horseback riding on the Beach. Swimming with the horses was definitely a high point.
Thank you all for making it a memorable vacation!
The Cons:
Just to be somewhat balanced, although any flaws are few and far between:
* Shopping Village - Granted that this was the low season, but the Half Moon Shopping Village is essentially an abandoned ghost town after many shops have moved down the road or closed permanently. Unless you want to pick up a quick Cuban cigar at the small cigar store, there's no reason for you to stop here.
* Bathrooms in the Hibsicus Suites are ridiculously oversized. Not that big is bad, but would have preferred the extra room be put into the bedroom itself.
* Duns River Falls - even during the low season, this tourist trap was mobbed with hundreds and hundreds of people climbing the falls. It was so crowded it was hard to appreciate the scenery. And watch out for the hard-sell vendors who line the exit to the park. There's no escape!
Best moments:
- Drinks and sunset at the Cedar Bar
- Riding horses in the ocean
- Ordering room service and eating dinner on the last night on our veranda
- Lounging at Sunset Beach. No worries, mon!
If we return to Jamaica, I can't see us staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the oceanside Hibiscus Suites. Centrally located. Ask for the upper floor for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Fell in love with Jamaica this trip. We stayed in the villas and were pampered, pampered, pampered by Anthony, Janice and Janet. Anthony aka yeah mon' - made sure we lacked for nothing at all. Janice smh - it needs to be illegal to cook like that. I couldn't stop eating. She even took the time to show me how to make my favorite 'aki and salt fish' and my new favorite 'the run down'. She even took us to the market - the real market. I am officially Jamaican. Janet made sure we departed with clean laundry which was extremely beneficial since I was traveling for an additional week. I'm still glowing!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are happy that you were pampered by our villa team of Anthony, Janice and Janet, we will certainly share your compliments with them. We are also happy that you are now officially Jamaican and look forward to welcoming you back home and creating another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.