We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort - the best in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Resort - the best in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This resort is simply amazing. Stayed recently with my husband and had villa 181 on the beach with living room,kitchen bathroom downstairs with a beautiful patio on the beach and bedroom,bathroom,patio and dressing room upstairs. The service is simply the best and exploring the resort on the provided bikes was so much fun. This resort is very special and they should be proud of what they have created. I stay in hotels pretty much most of my life all over the world and this is one of the best I have encountered. So pleased I will be returning this weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
September 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We thank you for taking the time to share comments on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughy enjoyed the resort and its amenities.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Sincerely,

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    270
    84
    48
    26
See reviews for
543
439
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you're looking for an non-descript, dime-a-dozen all-inclusive beach resort in Jamaica, look elsewhere. If you're looking for a timeless, classy, Bogart-Bacall-Key Largo ambiance complemented by a first-class staff, then pack your bags for Half Moon. Having just returned from a 5-night stay in one of the optimally located Hibiscus Suites, here's our take:
The Pros:
* The Property - Conveniently located about 15 minutes from the Sanger International Airport, the 400+ acre Half Moon resort exudes old-world charm from the start. The lobby, recently restored after a fire, is a well-appointed throwback to the 30s and 40s...a Moroccan vibe. The suite and villa exteriors also feel classic, but not old. With amenities that include an equestrian club, an 18 hole putting course and old-time Huffy bikes to get around the expansive property, you feel like you stepped back in time to a much more relaxed era.
* The Rooms - I can only speak for the Hibiscus Suites, which are all oceanside, yet are centrally located on the property, so you're near it all. The rooms are very large and well-appointed. We were there on a particularly hot week, so the AC was always on and greatly appreciated. Ask for a second floor room for the best view of the glorious Caribbean Sea.
* The Restaurants - All very good. As advertised, dinner at the Sugar Mill was the highlight. Try the fish or chicken "escovitched" - a spicy vinegar-based marinade. Amazing! The Seagrapes buffet was excellent overall for breakfast and lunch, and we were impressed with the variety on the menu of Il Gardino, the Italian eatery. Take the advice of others and choose the all-inclusive meal plan, otherwise, plan to pay a minimum of $100 for a decent meal for two.
* The Service - saved the best for last. While you may expect Jamaican hospitality all over the island, I can only say the staff of Half Moon greatly exceeded our expectations. I need to give kudos and props to all those who made my family's stay so special:
- Celie, for her extraordinary pre-arrival concierge services
- Wayne, the bell captain who ran in 95 degree heat to quickly replace our non-functioning room keys upon arrival
- Dennis, our Juta driver to Ocho Rios. Easy going and great to spend the day with, and made an extra trip to return the iPod my son had left in his van. Above and beyond!
- Elvin, my wife's beach buddy, for taking care of our fun in the sun
- Kingsley, who made a friend for life in my son who enjoyed his company in the game room for hours on end
- Solomon at the Sugar Mill, a class-act who is welcome to stay with us on his next trip to Massachusetts
- Renate, for her special attention at lunch at Seagrapes and for arranging the special attention at Il Gardino
- Omar, the sous-chef who recommended the Blue Mountain coffee and made the buffets grand
- Richard, for making a great "everything but the kitchen sink" omelet
- Vanessa, for her daily smiles at the fresh fruit station
- Kevin, our caddy whose ability to read the greens easily saved me 5 strokes...and is a scratch golfer to boot
- Milford, the bartender at the 19th hole who made it the best hole on the course!
- The "Doctor" and Mark - our guides for horseback riding on the Beach. Swimming with the horses was definitely a high point.
Thank you all for making it a memorable vacation!
The Cons:
Just to be somewhat balanced, although any flaws are few and far between:
* Shopping Village - Granted that this was the low season, but the Half Moon Shopping Village is essentially an abandoned ghost town after many shops have moved down the road or closed permanently. Unless you want to pick up a quick Cuban cigar at the small cigar store, there's no reason for you to stop here.
* Bathrooms in the Hibsicus Suites are ridiculously oversized. Not that big is bad, but would have preferred the extra room be put into the bedroom itself.
* Duns River Falls - even during the low season, this tourist trap was mobbed with hundreds and hundreds of people climbing the falls. It was so crowded it was hard to appreciate the scenery. And watch out for the hard-sell vendors who line the exit to the park. There's no escape!
Best moments:
- Drinks and sunset at the Cedar Bar
- Riding horses in the ocean
- Ordering room service and eating dinner on the last night on our veranda
- Lounging at Sunset Beach. No worries, mon!
If we return to Jamaica, I can't see us staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the oceanside Hibiscus Suites. Centrally located. Ask for the upper floor for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Fell in love with Jamaica this trip. We stayed in the villas and were pampered, pampered, pampered by Anthony, Janice and Janet. Anthony aka yeah mon' - made sure we lacked for nothing at all. Janice smh - it needs to be illegal to cook like that. I couldn't stop eating. She even took the time to show me how to make my favorite 'aki and salt fish' and my new favorite 'the run down'. She even took us to the market - the real market. I am officially Jamaican. Janet made sure we departed with clean laundry which was extremely beneficial since I was traveling for an additional week. I'm still glowing!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are happy that you were pampered by our villa team of Anthony, Janice and Janet, we will certainly share your compliments with them. We are also happy that you are now officially Jamaican and look forward to welcoming you back home and creating another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cannot fault this venue in any way the whole experience has been amazing and look forward to visiting this hotel again if we return to Jamaica. Everything is good and their website is a true reflection to the hotel, rooms, beach, restaurant
The pool bar is brilliant as well and so child friendly my kids had a ball on their bikes and playing in the grounds of the hotel

Room Tip: If I went next time request in advance a room on the beach front, it's not as though they are sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you found our facilities outstanding and that you had an amazing experience with the Half Moon family. Biking around the property is indeed a favourite activity for many of our treasured families, we are happy that the children’s experience was memorable. We look forward to creating another amazing experience in the not so distant future for you and your family.

Sincerely

Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We THOUGHT the ' half moon hotel' was some sort of low budget / SUPER 8-type of establishment in montego bay ~ You can imagine our astonishment when we rolled up to this "RESORT"

The grounds are immaculate and the rooms very very nicely appointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We are happy that we surpassed your expectations and that your stay was amazing. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you in the not so distant future…creating another experience of a lifetime.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Half Moon has long been on our bucket list – ten years ago we stayed at the Ritz next door and found ourselves wondering if we should have stayed at Half Moon instead. One reason for our return this year was so my husband could play golf again on the White Witch. Unfortunately, about a month before our trip we found out the White Witch had closed. This was a big disappointment. This trip was five nights at Half Moon and five nights at Jamaica Inn in Ocho Rios, another of our bucket list resorts. The surprise for us was that Half Moon exceeded our expectations and Jamaica Inn did not quite live up to them (check out our review on Jamaica Inn).

We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites which rate right up there with the nicest hotels rooms we have every stayed in. Particularly the huge bathroom and lovely patio overlooking the green lawn to the water beyond. We had requested to be in a quiet location and so we were quite a ways down from the main lobby area (past both the main pool and the adult lap pool) but we enjoyed the walk and the peaceful ambience. One important thing to note about this location is that the rooms really aren’t “beachfront” per se, as there is not one long stretch of beach here that you can walk out to, it is little rocky coves and there is an expanse of lawn between the rooms and the water. We spent most of our beach time on the main beach and if you really want to be located where you can walk out to one long stretch of beach, consider the West Cottages instead.

We did the all-inclusive plan and got a great summer sale rate. We found it to be well worth it. You still have to sign a bill for everything which is a bit of an inconvenience but it certainly gave us an idea regarding the prices, which are high (but not as high as the Jamaica Inn). We kept all our receipts to see if we made the right choice going AI and for five nights our food and beverage bill was more than $2,400 (and that did not include everything we drank out of the in-room mini-bar which is also included). Yes, we did drink and eat a bit more since we were on AI, but to give you an idea of the prices, the breakfast and lunch buffet (soft drinks or iced tea not included) is about $27 plus 25% tax and service charge so our lunch bill was regularly about $70 – 80 as was breakfast. Drinks, including glasses of wine, are around $10 – 11 each plus the 25%, beer is about $6 – 7, a diet coke $4. So, if you are going to have more than a few drinks a day, definitely consider the AI.

We found the food to be some of the best we have had in the Caribbean. Honestly did not have a bad meal and service was really attentive and efficient. Loved the lunch buffets – every day they would have a selection of soups and salads in addition to entrees, the soups and salads were real stand-outs as were the cookies! I don’t want to think about how many cookies I ate in five days – they would have two or three types of cookies every lunch along with lots of other desserts. We loved the ambience of the Sugar Mill Restaurant and the atmosphere of the Italian restaurant with its twinkly lights on the patio overlooking the sea was really romantic. The only criticism we have is that in the summer there is only one location for breakfast and lunch (the main restaurant) unless you want to take the shuttle to the shopping village which has an English Pub and Indian Restaurant (included in the AI). We didn’t want to leave the beach for that long. You can also have room service but we enjoyed the buffets so much we never did use it.

We really enjoyed hanging at the bar before and after dinner and chatting with other guests and the staff who suggested drinks to us and were just all around great guys. One of the complaints we have had about other beach resorts we have visited is that many of them don’t seem to have a good outdoor bar that stays open in the evening – the set-up of the main bar at Half Moon was ideal – it is part of the main building/open air lobby and restaurants but located right against the beach and the water and was open from 11 a.m. until late at night.
We enjoyed the sense of history throughout the Half Moon and featured in photos and mementos, it really is a Grand Dame (but laid-back) Jamaican Resort that has been kept updated and enhanced but has not lost its Caribbean charm. One of the top full-service resorts we have visited with facilities and amenities galore, we could have easily stayed much longer. We prefer adults-only AIs (some favorites include Galley Bay in Antigua and Sandals Emerald Bay in Great Exuma) so were a bit leery that the resort would be overrun by children – yes, this is a family resort and there were quite a few families but not quite as many children as we thought (it was 4th of July week, but perhaps they spent more time at the villas which had their own pools) and the resort is so spread out it was easy to find a peaceful location on the beach. Honestly, we have been more overrun by children at the Ritz or Four Seasons Resorts. The end result was a more romantic, couple-oriented resort than we expected and that’s one of the reasons Half Moon exceeded our expectations.

We would definitely return to Half Moon, but hopefully the White Witch will re-open so that next time my husband can play that spectacular course once again! That being said, he enjoyed the Half Moon golf course, which is a nice resort course but not up to the caliber of the White Witch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to pen your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations and thank you for confirming the Caribbean charm for which Half Moon is renowned. Recognizing our Sugar Mill and Il Giardino Restaurants as Romantic concurs with similar comments from many of our treasured guests. We are also happy that our all-inclusive options add value to our guests’ experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back home.

Sincerely,
Shernette Crichton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just got home from a awesome trip to Half Moon. We had a 5 bedroom villa with a private pool. Roal our butler, Beverly are cook, and Olive are maid more than exceeded our expectations and made the trip special. Roal took care of our every need. We ate breakfast and dinner in the room every night and Beverly cooked us authentic Jamaican meals that were out of this world !!!! Plus she did it by buying groceries onsite for a fraction of the cost of eating at restaurants on the resort or at near by Montego Bay. Olive also get our place spotless. I was an great vacation and I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure hosting you as our treasured guests; we thank you for so beautifully detailing your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort; your review is highly appreciated.

We are happy your stay was all you anticipated and the family thoroughly enjoyed their Royal Villa experience. We truly appreciate your recognizing the team in particular the villa team of Roal, Beverly and Olive. The staff members are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming back to your “home away from home” soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.7 mi away
Secrets St James
Secrets St James
#9 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,512 reviews
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.