We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to spend a vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great place to spend a vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The accommodations were fantastic, the food was great, the activities were fun and the Jamaican hospitality was exceptional. The dolphin encounter is definitely a not to be missed activity. The breakfast offerings made you want to get up and get out of bed. The smoothies alone made the breakfast. Dinners at Il Giardino, Sugar Mill and Robbies were delicious. The service was as good as the food. I would like to give a special nod of appreciation to Elizabeth in reservations, Cecile in pre-concierge and Latoya at the concierge desk. All of them went out of their way to make our visit special. The staff everywhere on the property went out of their way to ensure you were happy. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay with the Half Moon, A RockResort family. We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share the lovely review on tripadvisor.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation and resort facilities including your Dolphin experience. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity.

Thank you for recognizing the team, in particular Elizabeth, Cecile and Latoya; the staff truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. We have shared your comments with them.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” very soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    270
    84
    48
    26
See reviews for
543
439
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Here we go again, we have never returned to a hotel for a second time but something last year told us to give the Half Moon a go and it did not dissapoint in any way it only made us feel that we had made the right decision.
The restaurants never failed on providing the great food and service we experienced last time, a massive thank you to Jordain, Michelle at the Sea Grape. Dale (aka George Benson) and Caswell (aka Seal) at the Cedar bar.
Massive thanks for the excellent service at the Swim Up bar from Donnine not forgetting Donovan, this bar should be a Jamaican Tourist attraction.
The overall friendliness of all staff at the resort made us feel at home at all times.
The signature restaurant The Sugar Mill didnt dissapoint at all Solomon and his team especially Dywanne made us feel special at all times and we enjoyed learning more about the resort from Solomon.
The Horse riding experience is a must and we had so much confidence with our guide Dwaynne,
Last but by no means least the Golf Course fantastic days were spent on the course and in the 19th, Spencer many thanks your a diamond for your hospitality and tips and next time i will beat you. Special thanks go to Andrew and Michael in the store, Karen and staff in the shop, Desmond my Caddie i do trust your decisions honest. My wife sends a special thanks to Cleveland a laugh a minute. Milford. Kamieka and Aileen in the 19th. Most of all thanks Spencer for making my holiday special.
The hotel was spotless and well looked after nothing was to much trouble for the staff to assist us in our requests, beautiful relaxed surroundings with plenty of activities if you want or a tranquil relaxing resort just to chill.
Loved it see you soon.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are located best for all and are spacious enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Six days in Montego Bay at the Half Moon. Chose the Half Moon because we could get a 2 bedroom suite in order to accommodate our teenagers. Stayed in the Hibiscus Suites - which has to be the best location on the property. You are close to the pools, restaurants, fitness center, etc. The suites are some of the largest hotel rooms we have ever stayed in. The property is quite large so we used a golf cart for a couple of the days. Each morning we had breakfast on our covered patio looking out on the beach. Room service was fabulous. Dinners are over priced and I would rate the quality of the food as acceptable, but not great. We also ate at Robbies which was much more reasonably priced and more casual. This resort was quite comfortable and perfect for relaxing. A couple of things to note: our teenagers would have suffered from boredom if we had not booked several outside tours and excursions via Barrett Adventures. The shopping village was quite disappointing with only two shops open. Maybe more shops are open during the high season but in June there is no reason to go to the shopping village unless you want to eat at Robbies. Overall, this resort is fabulous and I would visit again. Very clean, nice, spacious rooms with private beaches and no hassles for our entire trip.

Room Tip: Recommend the hibiscus suites as they are very convenient but also private. Great space and easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. We appreciate your taking the time to share comments regarding your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. Your feedback is valuable to us and will certainly be used as a tool to further refine the service we offer our valued clients.

We do provide activities for our ‘teen’ guests however, these activities are extended on a seasonal basis, as posted on our website. We regret any inconvenience caused.

Again, thank you for choosing Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Yours sincerely,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our group stayed at one of the villas this past Memorial Day weekend. We were not sure what to expect, but from the minute we arrived, were overwhelmed by the luxury of the property and courtesy of the staff. Our butler/concierge Jason was absolutely the best - we truly did not have any wants or needs the entire time. Make sure to try the horseback riding/swim if you come.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a UNBELIEVABLE experience! Every person at Half-Moon made us feel like their #1 priority and it never once didn't feel genuine!

So many names to even remember but a special thanks to Bellman Rajeev and Wills at beachside bar. ALL of the bellman were wonderful and deserve an extra thank you since we played alot of golf and went to the Sugar Mill a couple of times on our short stay. So keeping us from walking really helped us out.

We stayed in a West Cottage #2 and loved that side of the resorts feel. The whole resort was lovely but the extra Dutch feel of the West side was very charming. The walk to and from the bars on the brick walk way was so relaxing.

All-Inclusive is the way to go for golfers. Half-Moon Caddy, STEVE was fantastic and over at Cinnamon Hill, AL! An extra thank you to Andrew the Caddy Master over at Half-Moon, he made us feel very appreciated. MILFORD at the 19th Hole is my hero, he made our rounds!

Sugar Mill for dinner was our favorite dining experience beside the beef patties at the 19th Hole Bar at the golf course.

A tip...take a walk down to Sunrise Beach early...Pepe & Toni the resorts Dolphins will surprise you with a few tricks & flips because they'll see you and want to say hi!!! :-)

WE CAN NOT WAIT TO COME BACK!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a getaway and our travel agent suggested Half Moon. We had a cottage RIGHT on the beach, which was the most perfect location on this 400 acre property. The size scared me at first, needing a shuttle, bike (available on site), or golf cart to go practically anywhere. That having been said, we made ourselves at home immediately. We had breakfast in our room daily....thanks to a very helpful and pleasant room service staff. The orders were always filled to perfection. I would rate the dinners as very good, not great. We had a very noisy air conditioning unit in the bedroom, which was disturbing. It took us 3 days and many phone calls to finally have a DVD player delivered to our room. The housekeeping staff was a little obtrusive, hovering in the evening awaiting our departure. We utilized the spa and my husband had "the best massage he has ever had," given by the lovely Pauline and I had a Fern Tree signature facial, given by Carlene, which was most enjoyable. There were a few things that would have caused me to never return to Half Moon, but I must say the location, the relaxation factor and the well intentioned staff makes me want to plan my return visit yesterday!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We highly appreciate your taking the time to post review on your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We try hard to provide the best possible service to our customers and their satisfaction is our reward. We sincerely apologise that we did not exceed your expectations in some areas of our service delivery. Be assured, we take your feedback very seriously and will use this as a tool to improve areas of deficiency.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and for your candid comments; the Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back home in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently had the great fortune of hosting a yoga retreat at the Half Moon Bay in Montego Bay and found the staff to be exceptional throughout the property. From our arrival, our initial greeting, our fabulous golf cart tour of the property, to our check-in, our welcome by Dwight and the staff at the spa, to the restaurant waiters, waitresses and bartenders, we were always treated with such warmth, hospitality and genuine grace. The experience we had was extraordinary. The resort is beautifully maintained, lush with garden color, impeccable pools, gorgeous beach and sea, as well as wonderful activities including tennis, swimming with the dolphins, horseback riding, golf and water sports. We really needed to stay longer, and many of my students have asked for a week-long retreat next year.

Thank you to Dwight Zieman who worked hard to make sure every detail was taken care of and special thanks to Gaby, the resident yoga teacher who welcomed all of my students and took class with us. We will definitely return. I love Jamaica, the people and the life philosophy of embracing "no problem" as a mantra. I highly recommend this resort to couples, singles, families, and world travelers. It is sophisticated, lush, beautiful, elegant, and an exceptional place to travel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa #90 which was ocean front and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
5.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.7 mi away
Secrets St James
Secrets St James
#9 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,515 reviews
5.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.