We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time!! Short Trip but worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Time!! Short Trip but worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had a great time! Make sure you get the meal plan it is worth it. Hanging out on the beach was private and relaxing. The beach is not necessarily the best for swimming. The sand is course and not really that great between the toes. There is a rock line about 20 yards off shore almost lining the entire resort other than a swimming area by the main lobby. Our room was a villa and was very nice and clean. Transportation was fairly easy to get ahold of if we stayed longer we would have rented a golf cart. We went to a cool craft market but don't go there unless you are ready to be hassled and almost all of the booths have the same thing. There are some shops closer just down the road that have essentially the same items. The grounds are very beautiful and well kept. We felt safe at all time on the resort. If you want to ride horses book before you go. They book up fast. SWIMMING WITH THE DOLPHINS WAS THE BEST THING OF THE ENTIRE TRIP. It's onsite and a cool experience. I would go again for sure.

Room Tip: book on expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely comments regarding your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TirpAdvisor.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you enjoyed the Resort and its offerings; thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home-away- from-home.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    691
    195
    63
    32
    22
See reviews for
314
291
21
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location (15 minutes to Montego Bay Airport). Both the rooms and property are very well kept. The staff members always had a smile on their face, and were very courteous and professional. Nice variety of restaurants. The resort (beaches & lodging) stretches just about two miles. Everyday we were at the beach there were only a few people out snorkling, laying out etc. It never was crowded, which was great! I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share such lovely comments on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Half Moon is definitely for the discerning traveler who wants to experience the Caribbean in general and Jamaica in Particular. Opulence, 5 star service and amenities. Marriage and Honeymoon spot like none other. The kicker is that its a fraction of the price you would pay in comparable jurisdictions in the Caribbean without even the half moon ocean front, without the variety of the original cottages at one end and the modern conference villas at the other end.

Go horseback riding! Play with the dolphins and don't leave without knocking a small golf ball around.. If you know nothing about golf and you want to learn there are instructors... Kick back at the 19th Hole Bar or was it the 18th Hole Bar - I cant seem to remember what's the name and get a ounce of Appleton Estate 21 Year Old Rum and savor this unmatched (IN ITS CLASS) premium aged rum or perhaps you want to try the Jamaica Independence 50 Year Old Rum - the oldest commercially bottled rum in the world... This exquisite blend of fine - minimum aged (50) rum will blow every aged spirit you have ever had away... ITS THAT EXCELLENT AND UN-MATCHED!

If you have a conferences of any kind, the Half Moon Conference Centre with its state of the art facilities is only matched by the Super Montego Bay Conference Centre, which is quite nearby if Half Moon cannot accommodate you in large numbers.

Half Moon has group rates for its condos... So you your small group can vacation in opulence at group rates.

Security is in tight but unobtrusive.. Go down to Montego Bay proper and enjoy a night on town.. Half Moon will organise transport pick up and drop off if you did not rent a car or you can simply go out to the gate and enjoy the warmth and friendliness of the Jamaican people... A route taxi will gladly take you down and you can arrange for the driver to pick you up too.

Don't fret if you are vegetarian the chefs at the restaurant will prepare you any vegetarian meal you have in mind for the same cost another would cost you....

If your pallet cant do without a particular wine and that's all you drink, no matter how rare tell them ahead of time and they will source it for you....

Room Tip: Choose a original beach front cottage if you are on a romantic get-away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you; and receiving such detailed feedback on our resort facility and service. We are happy you enjoyed your experience including your accommodation. We will certainly share your compliments with the entire team.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at the Half Moon over 10 years ago and had fond memories of it and have been trying to find an excuse to go back ever since. Finally got the chance a couple months ago with my BFF and it is just as wonderful as I remember it.

The grounds are beautiful and there is a nice variety of restaurants. The food is good. If you don't drink I don't think the meal packages are worth it. Service was excellent!

We stayed in one of the cottages that walked right out onto the beach which offered an amazing view. We were away from the pool and the bar so away from the party and were quite content to wake up and walk out to sit in lounge chairs right outside our door. Soooo quiet and relaxing! (just what we were looking for)

Our room was very spacious with a sitting room and a nice large bathroom with a separate shower. The decor of the cottages is very quaint, charming, and full of character. My only complaint of our entire stay is that the mattresses in the room seem to be as old as the furniture so they're a bit lumpy. And at least in our room the "king" bed was really two twins pushed together. We didn't want a king bed anyway since it was me and my bestie so it was fine...but if I were there with my husband I would have been a bit annoyed. Also, there were no blackout blinds or curtains.

I can't wait to bring my family back to enjoy everything the Half Moon has to offer. Horseback riding, bike rides, snorkeling, kayaking, and a dolphin swim - all right on property! My daughter will be in heaven!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are thrilled that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. Thank you for the wonderful review on your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. We are delighted that after your last visit more than 10 years ago, we exceeded your expectations. It is certainly a pleasure serving you; our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. We sincerely regret any discomfort encountered with the mattress and the absence of a blackout blind at the window – these two issues were discussed to the team and the necessary adjustments will certainly be carried out.

Again, thank you for visiting Half Moon and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor; We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you `home[‘ with your family very soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had heard nothing but great things about Half Moon in Montego Bay, Jamaica. So my expectations were fairly high going into the property. I wasn't disappointed.

The staff was very courteous and professional. The grounds including gardens, numerous swimming pools, and private beaches were very well kept. My favorite amenities include the terrific high-end spa, hot-tubs, and the olympic size swimming pool for doing laps.

The suite I had was called a "Junior Suite". But there wasn't anything small or "low shelf" about it. The suite was well decorated with many nice touches here and there. To my surprise the advertised in-room WiFi actually worked! And the speed was more than adequate for checking email and web browsing in bed with my iPad. Well of course, I'm the iPad guy: http://bit.ly/kshpress

The only knock (which can be easily remedied): The restaurants did not offer particularly exceptional food or dinning experience - for the price. This resort hotel (unlike too many in Jamaica) is not "all inclusive". So you're free to dine on the property or go out and sample the local cuisine.

I would highly recommend the Half Moon in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Please see the photos I've attached. Happy travels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity, Many thanks for your lovely review; we are delighted you enjoyed your Half Moon experience. It was certainly a pleasure serving you.

Thank you for recognizing the team – our staff are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our treasured guests and make each visit special.

Again, many thanks for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor; we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you ‘home’ in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Half Moon for probably the 5th or 6th time. Each time we go it gets better. Great accommodations, super food and very courteous service. I highly recommend going in mid April as weather is perfect and not too crowded. I also recommend the all-inclusive option as menu prices are on the high side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you again and receiving your always positive feedback.

We thank you for choosing your Half Moon family and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your loyalty and patronage over the years are certainly appreciated. As always, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Half Moon for our destination wedding and are so happy that we did. Everything was absolutely beautiful! A special thanks must go out to Tashane our wedding coordinator. She was fantastic with the planning and made our day feel very special. She heard what our dream wedding was and made it a reality. Loved it!! The photos and dvd of our wedding are really well done:)
The resort is gorgeous with its trees, lush greens, aromatic scents, beaches, life in the sea and on land. Loved the birds singing in the morning.The buildings are charming with beautiful detail. We ate mostly at the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast and dinner and the food was fantastic. Great jerk chicken at the Pepperpot. The beach barbeque was so tasty and the entertainment was fun. And what pulled it all together and made it so beautiful for our one week stay was the people. Every staff member that we met were very friendly, pleasant and easy going. What great people that made you feel welcomed.
For our accommodations we were very lucky to be upgraded to a Spa Suite. It was just beautiful with its super comfy bed, sitting area, huge bathroom, private spa area and private patio overlooking the sea. Paradise!
Having the equestrian center and dolphin lagoon on the resort was really nice. We swam with the dolphins. What an experience. Loved the kisses. The beach horseback ride and swim was quite exhilarating. We would definitely do these again.
Getting around the resort is easy with the bikes. We had a blast cruisin' around and just having fun while taking in the beauty around every corner.
We do not have a single negative thing to say. Half Moon and entire staff is amazing!
Would we recommend staying at Half Moon? The answer is an enthusiastic YES. Worth paying the extra for this heaven on earth. We will definitely return!
Sam and Doreen
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your very special occasion. We are delighted that our team and in particular Tashane our Wedding Coordinator, created an experience of a lifetime for your Wedding. Your beautiful comments will certainly be shared with Tashane and the rest of the team.

We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming for your first Anniversary and many more.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel
Half Moon Resort
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Otel, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list