We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Moon: The whole Enchilada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Half Moon: The whole Enchilada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had heard nothing but great things about Half Moon in Montego Bay, Jamaica. So my expectations were fairly high going into the property. I wasn't disappointed.

The staff was very courteous and professional. The grounds including gardens, numerous swimming pools, and private beaches were very well kept. My favorite amenities include the terrific high-end spa, hot-tubs, and the olympic size swimming pool for doing laps.

The suite I had was called a "Junior Suite". But there wasn't anything small or "low shelf" about it. The suite was well decorated with many nice touches here and there. To my surprise the advertised in-room WiFi actually worked! And the speed was more than adequate for checking email and web browsing in bed with my iPad. Well of course, I'm the iPad guy: http://bit.ly/kshpress

The only knock (which can be easily remedied): The restaurants did not offer particularly exceptional food or dinning experience - for the price. This resort hotel (unlike too many in Jamaica) is not "all inclusive". So you're free to dine on the property or go out and sample the local cuisine.

I would highly recommend the Half Moon in Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Please see the photos I've attached. Happy travels!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity, Many thanks for your lovely review; we are delighted you enjoyed your Half Moon experience. It was certainly a pleasure serving you.

Thank you for recognizing the team – our staff are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our treasured guests and make each visit special.

Again, many thanks for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor; we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you ‘home’ in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    218
    66
    37
    25
See reviews for
390
333
22
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Half Moon for probably the 5th or 6th time. Each time we go it gets better. Great accommodations, super food and very courteous service. I highly recommend going in mid April as weather is perfect and not too crowded. I also recommend the all-inclusive option as menu prices are on the high side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing the lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure serving you again and receiving your always positive feedback.

We thank you for choosing your Half Moon family and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Your loyalty and patronage over the years are certainly appreciated. As always, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back “home” soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Half Moon for our destination wedding and are so happy that we did. Everything was absolutely beautiful! A special thanks must go out to Tashane our wedding coordinator. She was fantastic with the planning and made our day feel very special. She heard what our dream wedding was and made it a reality. Loved it!! The photos and dvd of our wedding are really well done:)
The resort is gorgeous with its trees, lush greens, aromatic scents, beaches, life in the sea and on land. Loved the birds singing in the morning.The buildings are charming with beautiful detail. We ate mostly at the Seagrape Terrace for breakfast and dinner and the food was fantastic. Great jerk chicken at the Pepperpot. The beach barbeque was so tasty and the entertainment was fun. And what pulled it all together and made it so beautiful for our one week stay was the people. Every staff member that we met were very friendly, pleasant and easy going. What great people that made you feel welcomed.
For our accommodations we were very lucky to be upgraded to a Spa Suite. It was just beautiful with its super comfy bed, sitting area, huge bathroom, private spa area and private patio overlooking the sea. Paradise!
Having the equestrian center and dolphin lagoon on the resort was really nice. We swam with the dolphins. What an experience. Loved the kisses. The beach horseback ride and swim was quite exhilarating. We would definitely do these again.
Getting around the resort is easy with the bikes. We had a blast cruisin' around and just having fun while taking in the beauty around every corner.
We do not have a single negative thing to say. Half Moon and entire staff is amazing!
Would we recommend staying at Half Moon? The answer is an enthusiastic YES. Worth paying the extra for this heaven on earth. We will definitely return!
Sam and Doreen
Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort for your very special occasion. We are delighted that our team and in particular Tashane our Wedding Coordinator, created an experience of a lifetime for your Wedding. Your beautiful comments will certainly be shared with Tashane and the rest of the team.

We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming for your first Anniversary and many more.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We traveled to Half Moon at the end of April 2013 for my husband's work. The resort is very large and very quiet (I was surprised how little we saw other guests). The grounds are immaculate and you have access to sign out bikes to explore. We stayed in one of the Hibiscus Suites which are duplex style: one upstairs and one downstairs. You walk into the living room/bedroom and it includes a large bathroom/dressing room with oversize tub. The suite also has a large patio not 20 steps from the beach. There is a small fridge that you can empty and and your things. We did not partake in any of the activities such are horseback riding or dolphin swimming, but we were told it was fun. Staff are extremely friendly and easy to get to know: Miss Dan at the front desk and Orville at the bar are great!
Since we were attending a corporate event, we had access to different dinners etc., but I would recommend this resort for any vacation or corporate event.

Pros:
Beautiful grounds
Most comfortable bed ever!
Hibiscus Suites are great and quiet
Never ran our of hot water
Friendly Staff always to be found
Very quiet and relaxing - if that is what you like
Buffet Breakfast and food in general is excellent for Jamaican resorts
Wonderful golf course
Pools and hot tub 20 steps from Hibiscus Suites.

Cons:
Lots of walking to get anywhere - beware tall heels!
Very expensive, get the all inclusive plan! (Drinks were around $12 each!)
Beach hurts to walk bare feet and not a lot of swimming areas

The beach sand quality is the only reason why I didn't give 5 stars - and this is not something the resort can control.

Room Tip: I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the Hibiscus Suites again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripAdvisor.

We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us; thank you for recognizing the team, the staff truly are the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special.

Again, thank you for your useful review; we look forward to welcoming you and your family to Half Moon in the near future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in one of the suites overlooking the beach, with huge bedroom/sitting area and enormous bathroom with jacuzzi bath and separate shower. A big balcony overlooking the beach with 2 sun beds, table and chairs. The staff/service was fantastic. The food was excellent (you can have dinner brought to your balcony and the staff lay the table with cloth, flowers, etc. We borrowed bikes to cycle around the vast site. There are numerous pools, tennis courts, spa, golf course and dolphins. Really loved our weekend there & highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the villas right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for sharing your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation, activities and resort amenities.

Again, thank you for choosing Hlaf Moon and for sharing your experience; we look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away-from-home.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Worth it! Great value. Mountains in background. Caribbean Sea temperature perfecto! Luxurious clean accommodations. Get a package and it will be well worth your dollar. Spa is gorgeous and my massage outstanding!! Spa was world class- trust me. Spa pools are gorgeous!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is always a pleasure receiving complimentary feedback from our valued clients. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share comments on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that your expectations were exceeded and you enjoyed the resort and its offerings.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests. We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Half Moon for a wedding. Everything about the place was wonderfuL! We stayed in a villa with the bride and loved the food, service, view, private pool and golf carts. The resort is very large so there is no need to leave. I am usually adventurous and want to go explore what is around me, but there is so much to do at the resort I never felt the need.

The reason that makes me believe I will not be going back is something I learned on my last day there. The owner is a wealthy man from Colorado and the people that work at the resort get PAID $50 A WEEK! The cost to stay per night was somewhere around $250 a night and this was a deal since we had a discount for being with a wedding. Most rooms are even more.

This IS considered a good job in Jamaica, but it still gives me an unsettled feeling. Be sure you tip well if you stay here.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large group splurge a little and get a villa. It is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on tripadvisor.

Half Moon is known for hosting beautiful and memorable weddings…we are happy that being a member of a wedding group you enjoyed your experience with us.

We regret that your memorable experience was marred on your last day as a result of the inaccurate information regarding our owners and the staff remuneration. On both instances you were misinformed as the owners for over 50 years do regard the Half Moon team and indeed Jamaica as their family and truly their home…they are not from Colorado; further our staff remuneration is in keeping with the Industry standards making Half Moon an Employer of choice.

Again, thank you for sharing your review; we trust you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back ‘home’ in the not too distant future and create another experience of a lifetime.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.