We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Caribbean Resort I have ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST Caribbean Resort I have ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Half Moon was an amazing place with amazing people, food, location, rooms etc. It is no wonder that "famous people" vacation there! Lots of photos of the Kennedy's and the royal Family etc,
The rooms are so quaint and everyone has their own private piece of beach. the Bartenders and wait staff are amazing. the Half Moon has its own dolphins in the ocean (amazing)
I just came back from Jamaica from a sub standard place and only was at Half Moon for a day visiting our "old friends" . I realized as i was writing the review for Iberostar that was lousy that I had not written a glowing report of my holiday from last year!

Room Tip: All of the Hibiscus suites are fabulous! 5, 6 bedroom villas are super duper fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    775
    207
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
357
309
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I hope my review does The Half Moon justice. We've never gone to a resort where we NEEDED to go back...until now. Foods great, the staff was so wonderful that we hugged some of them when we left. Most rooms have a private beach or a private pool or both. There's plenty to do if that's your thing, but if you want to do nothing, this is the place to do it. Room Service means food and drinks delivered to the beach. The spa is gorgeous and the massage I had was probably one of the best I've ever had. The rooms are spacious, but some are a bit in need of updating which from what I heard is already under way. The water is gorgeous, there's always a breeze and the weather was spectacular. Oh and if you are in to Spinning, they are the only resort that has a studio. Karata the instructor was AMAZING! GO! You won't be sorry...save ur money it's worth the price.

Room Tip: Most rooms are really good, but if you can afford beach front...DO IT! Room 231 and 232 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This resort is absolutely amazing! The villas are huge and come with a staff of three and everyone there is really nice. Our villa had the best chef, Ruth, and the friendliest staff. We attended a good friends wedding at the hotel and got to enjoy some of the amenities the hotel had to offer, like the spa. The massages and bath soaks were excellent and must trys during your stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I have been vacationing at Half Moon Resorts for the last 10 years. We have 2 boys and the activities are just great for them - swimming, cycling, swimming with the dolphins and exploring the property!! For us as a couple, we look forward to romantic weekends alone - the pool to the front of the villa and the sea to the back, dining under the stars in the privacy of our own space.......what more could one ask for?? And the property is gorgeous and the service is impeccable!!!!

Room Tip: All the room s are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I went with a group of approx 40-50 people...I start off by saying this because we got a great group rate....most likely would not have gone since the all-inclusive package is fairly pricey if done alone... However, it is the quite possibly the best resort we have ever been to... Food - Outstanding, Staff - Outstanding, Amenities - Outstanding, multiple pools, snorkeling was very good and convenient right off the beach. The Spa is EXCELLENT.... great staff and great amenities...Steam Room, Sauna, Multiple pools. We stayed in the suite near the main building and it was gorgeous.

Room Tip: Please research the rooms before you book since there are many options and some rooms can be a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share the lovely comments regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience. It was a pleasure having you as our treasured guests; and receiving such positive feedback on our resort facility and service.

We are happy your experience was all you anticipated and you thoroughly enjoyed the resort and its offerings. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued clients.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you “home” in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onida, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are a family of 4 "kids" and two adults and absolutely LOVED our vacation stay at Half Moon. We kept saying throughout our entire stay how awesome it was and that we would definitely be coming back. We stayed at Villa 26 and couldn't have been more pleased with our staff of cook, butler, maid. It was so awesome to wake up in the morning and have breakfast prepared for us right at our villa. Having a villa felt more like "home" and really helped a person relax giving everyone a space of their own. We all had a bedroom and bathroom, plus a living room and kitchen. Our Villa had its own pool, which ended up being perfect for our family with kids ages 5, 11, 14, and 19. The two younger boys ended up not liking swimming in the salt water at the beach, but were in and out of our private pool continuously throughout our stay. Several of the restaurants are a bit fancy, requiring long pants (no jeans) for the guys. The food at the restaurants was very good, had a nice variety of stuff. We have stayed at all-inclusives in the past and after a couple of days their food all seemed the same and we tired of it quickly. Not so at Half Moon. We were also able to keep our entire family occupied with all the activities at Half Moon and never felt the need to venture off of the property. There is a very relaxed feel to the entire resort. It was the first vacation that we have taken that really felt like a "vacation". I do recommend booking activities as soon as you know what you want to do. We waited, and ended up not being able to get on the list for several of them. You don't realize how many people are there enjoying the resort since it is so large and spread out. One disappointment was the Shopping Village on the property. Most stores have moved off of Half Moon Resort, therefore most of our shopping was done at the few stores located close to the lobby. LOVED LOVED LOVED Half Moon. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guests:

Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity, thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed a “Villa” experience. The Villa accommodation is usually a ‘hit’ with our many valued clients. It truly offers a “home away from home” atmosphere. Thank you for complimenting the team – our staff are really the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our treasured guests and make each visit special.

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, we certainly look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back ‘home’ in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Half Moon! Not only was the resort amazing and luxurious in a modernized yet 'old charm' way, but the level of service was consistently great -- better than most we've experienced in the Caribbean. We were also impressed that ALL of our pre-trip requests (i.e., airport transfers, feather/down-free bedding, room close to another family traveling with us, dinner reservations for all 7 nights, dolphin experience booking, etc.) were honored and 100% fulfilled. Additionally, I had asked that if possible, we be placed in one of the more renovated guest rooms within our category. Well, Half Moon did far better than that. Despite it being a fully-booked Spring Break week, they managed to upgrade us from a Junior Suite to a wonderful Hibiscus Suite (and do the same for our friend's family). We highly recommend the Hibiscus Suites -- beautiful, spacious and well-furnished suites in what was easily the best location on the resort (~30 yards from the beach, very close to the 2 main pools, lobby & main restaurants, Anancy Children's center, tennis courts, bike/cart rental, etc.)

Regarding the high service levels, there were so many examples during our trip. But I'll provide one shining example. We were traveling with 2 kids, ages 3 & 5. My 3-year old is pretty short so could not at all reach the sink counter in the bathroom. So one day, we pushed an upholstered ottoman from the bedroom into the bathroom and placed it right in front of a sink so that she could brush her teeth by herself. We had meant to move it back to the bedroom immediately afterwards, but forgot. But by the time we returned from breakfast, not only had the housekeeping staff moved it back to the bedroom for us, but they had also placed a beautiful and huge (like 30" wide) carved, mahoghany 2-tiered step stool in front of that sink for our daughter to use all week. It was this type of attention to detail that we witnessed all week. And the staff seemed genuinely interested and happy to help!

The only real negative feedback I have is regarding the food at the restaurants. Although they were all decent, I did not find any meal (other than the breakfast buffet) to be excellent. Now admittedly, my bar is set pretty high in terms of dining since I live in New York City, so I try to lower my expectations accordingly when I travel. Yet even so, I was expecting better food for a resort of this price and caliber. However, I will say that the breakfast buffet at Seagrapes was extremely good (both in variety and food quality) and worth doing every single morning you're there, especially since every seat has beach view and kids under 4 eat free (and kids under 12 are half-price).

Overall, we loved Half Moon and hope to return soon. So much to enjoy, especially for families with young kids.

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are great -- rooms are all beachfront, have tons of storage (closets and drawers), a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.