We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that we wanted & needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All that we wanted & needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We returned from our family trip with our 8, 6, & 22 mo. old children. We had a fabulous time! We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites. The beach & ocean were steps away from our porch. What a great location to start each day of our vacation. The resort brought me back to my 1980's trips to the Carribean. Even though The Half Moon is larger than my past experiences, I felt as though I was staying in a small resort. It also had that "old charm" -exactly what we had in mind. The employees were friendly & helpful. If you want to stay at a low-key, picturesque, relaxing resort this is the place to go. Enjoy hanging with your loved ones, catching hermit crabs, swimming, boating, shell collecting, bike riding, horse riding...
Thank you Half Moon for the great memories!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests during your recent visit to Half Moon, A RockResort. We are happy you enjoyed the entire facility and it offerings.

We are pleased that our team created an experience of a lifetime for you; and you thoroughly enjoyed Half Moon and its ‘old charm’. Half Moon has been careful to combine old world charm with modern touches, in our commitment to provide our guests with the highest standard of service and amenities in the industry.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon, and sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
We look for to another opportunity to welcome you in the not-too-distant-future.

Regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    690
    194
    63
    32
    22
See reviews for
313
290
21
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Have been to the Terrace restaurant for the last twenty years and for the last two years have been disappointed and would not return in a hurry bad food and staff completely uninterested. However The Sugar Mill restaurant very good and would go again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing comments regarding your recent Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely regret that we did not exceed your expectations this time around, especially with aspects of your dining experience. We appreciate your candid feedback which is not only important, but it is vital to our continuous improvement. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment encountered. We are happy however, that you enjoyed your Sugar Mill dining experience.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback; as always we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you ‘home’ in the not-too-distant future.

Regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Not a typical hotel or resort, the Half Moon was once a privately owned club. The extensive property has numerous types of accommodations. Two guests would enjoy a royal suite but with our family of four it was difficult to choose the right room category. We ended up splurging on a villa with a cook, butler and housekeeper. A two bedroom suite might have been enough space for a shorter trip but we were staying for 8 nights. 54 pools and several stretches of beach mean you won't have to search for peace & quiet. The spa, equestrian center, kids club and dolphin encounter (this was really pricey) were excellent. The Sugar Mill restaurant was outstanding. Teenagers may get bored since the "club" for those older than 12 was not well organized. Fitness and tennis classes were offered at a variety of times throughout the day. The Half Moon golf course was in beautiful shape and they even had ladies left handed rentals (Callaway) which made it possible for me to join my husband for a round. Free bike rentals and golf carts ($55/day) make getting around fun and easy. The Half Moon may be the best resort in Jamaica but it will not compare to some of the more luxurious and modern resorts in comparable climates (like the Four Seasons Costa Rica).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My Husband and I have been to Half Moon many times over the course of many years. I have never written a review before. We have adored every trip and wax nostalgic when we attempt to visit other resorts.
Half Moon is very large(but somehow still intimate). The property is breathtaking, every inch is beautifully maintained and landscapped with an abundance of tropical flowers and palm trees. The water is an otherwordly blue and can be seen from almost everywhere. The facilities are extensive. There are many pools available for all kinds of swimming activity. The dolphin lagoon is fabulous. There are old fashioned bicycles that even a, 'Grandma' can ride. The waterfront offers sailing,kayaking, floats, water bikes etc. The staff on the main beach is attentive and make you feel taken care of and safe.
We stayed in a Hibiscus suite which is lovely, large, has a private beach and is a little bit removed from the main resort, giving you some privacy. However, the rooms on the main beach are very lovely. I have seen them but have not stayed in them for 30 years and of course they have changed since then.
The food is good, not great. I must say Il Giardino was the best restaurant on the property. It has a new chef from Italy and I honestly had some of the best Italian food there, in Jamaica, better than most I have been to in New York City..and I have been to some of the best.
The Spa is extraordinarily beautiful and relaxing.
Let me just say this..if you are looking for a showstopping modern resort, this is not the place for you. This resort is about understated elegance with no stuffiness. Think the Kennedys, The British Royals, etc. All these people have spent time there. The beautiful lobby has pictures of many Presidents and Heads of State who have vacationed at Half Moon. There is one personal letter from Jackie Kennedy( that I find so compelling) thanking them for her family trip so many years ago. This resort has a pedigree and you feel it and more importantly, you feel that you are a part of it.
A shout out to the bartenders, the lovely wait staff, the conceirge, the business center...everyone tries to make your stay as perfect as possible.
This is a place for almost everyone. If you are a honeymoon couple I will let you know to expect to find that there will be children on the property. I must say we did not find the children intrusive in any way...this is because the resort is so large that there are a multitude of lodging and recreation areas for families to spread out. There is room for everyone. This is not a couples resort. If you do not want to see or hear any children ever ..maybe rethink your choice.
Take the Half Moon food and drink plan or your bills could really pile up..
Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband, two teenage sons and I, just got back from another week at the Half Moon. Last year we stayed in Villa 86 and this year in Villa 79. What another great vacation. I can't say enough about this place. We had the same cook and housekeeper this year that we had last year and a new butler. Linnette, Karen and Gary are the best team ever. They made our stay as comfortable as could be. The hotel manager, villa manager and all of the staff are amazing and very friendly. Can't wait to go back next year. There is no other place like this, you won't go wrong booking your vacation here.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which type of room you choose, you won't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Wow -where do we start? We had an awesome getaway to Half Moon. It had been a few years since our last visit and we were welcomed back with open arms. Stayed in the Hibiscus Suites which were lovely. Great location and the rooms were large - bathrooms huge! Maybe 25 steps outside our patio to the beach. One of the things I love about Half Moon is you can choose to hang out on the larger "main" beaches or there are dozens of small little coves where you can relax all by yourself. Either way you never feel crowded. We did the all inclusive plan which I highly recommend. Had dinner at Seagrape which was very good and Sugar Mill which was just as wonderful as everyone says. Lots of fun nights in the seaside bar with Caswell and Wills mixing drinks and keeping everyone entertained.The Spa is absolutely totally relaxing - I had a wonderful facial - and the again the staff was incredibly helpful. Can't wait to get back here soon!

Room Tip: Hibiscus suites are centrally located to everything at this resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just got back from Half Moon, March 2013. This was the most wonderful resort I have ever been to. The resort is beautiful, the staff is absolutely wonderful, friendly and amazing, and the food is wonderful.

I was warmly welcomed and made to feel relaxed and comfortable from my first step onto the grounds. We stayed in the Hibiscus Suites and it was absolutely wonderful.

I highly recommend the food plan as restaurants are pricey, but I must say the food is wonderful. We dined at the Seagrape, Il Giardino and the Sugarmill - all are wonderful!

I also highly recommend going to the bell desk and asking for a tour of the property. The bell staff is very knowledgable and it's a wonderful way to get a real sense of this 400-acre property, it's so beautiful!

We also enjoyed a swim with the dolphins. This is pricey, but being in the water with these amazing creatures is something you will not forget.

5 starts and I cannot wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Hibiscus Suites are close to the main swimming beach, bars and restaurants, but off the beaten path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel
Half Moon Resort
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica
Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.