We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Moon at Rose Hall - Fabulous, Convenient, and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Half Moon at Rose Hall - Fabulous, Convenient, and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

Was at the Half Moon in Rose Hall from 4/17/08 - 4/21/08. Expensive - but loved it and wouldn't stay anywhere else if back in Jamaica. Very relaxing.

Location: 10 minutes from Montego Bay airport. Used hotel trans. Wouldn't venture from hotel without organized hotel group. Jamaica fairly rough outside of resorts...

Atmosphere: Resort casual - stayed in swimsuit and cover up most of the time. Sandals, sun dresses, big fun jewelery all appropriate.

Food: Settings are great. All restaurants / bars are right on the beach - shaded and breezy.

Did Half Moon all inclusive which included all food, drink and non motorized water sports. Very handy to have a fixed cost and eat whatever, whenever. Normally ate buffet which had fabulous salads and fresh fruit and juice (as well as a zillion other things). Ate lots of fresh local papaya, mango, jake fruit, star apple, etc.. Tried things like boiled bananas, ackee and saltfish, and fried plantain.

Beach: Fabulous. Crystal clear, calm, beautiful sand. Two main beaches and lots of little private connecting beaches. You can walk in the sand along the water's edge for about 2 miles. Lots of water sports - kayak, windsurf, snorkel, etc..

Rooms: Wow - we were in 23 and it was 20 feet from the beach. I literally threw a grape into the ocean from the balcony. GREAT rooms and used the balcony a lot.

Convenience: Great privacy and convenience. You can walk right out of your room onto the beach. With 52 (yes - 52) pools, there is also a pool around every cornr. You can rent bikes or golf carts if you don't want to walk.

Kids: Absolutely. The close proximity of the beaches and pools to the rooms would make it great.

Shopping: Not much. MUCH better shopping at the airport where you can get Red Stripe, Margaritaville, and Cool Runnings logo wear, Havaianas, liquor, etc..

Spa: Got a massage. $120 / hour. Expensive - but fairly normal for upscale resort. Very nice facilities and staff.

Golf: Husband played White Witch course and like it. Said it was beautiful and he liked having a caddie.

Excursions:

Island Dreamer snorkeling / Margaritaville excursion - a blast. Where else can you down a margarita, hop in a 3 story water slide and bounce on a trampoline in the ocean???

RoseHall Great House- OK. Interesting from a history perspective, but seemed like a waste of valuable beach / resor time.

River Rafting - very interesting. Completely different look at interior Jamaica (rain forest, giant bamboo stands). Treacherous bus ride up narrow, winding mountain road. Most fearful part of entire trip....

Hope this was helpful.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and right on the beach
  • Disliked — Expensive. Would go every year if it was cheaper.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,023
    243
    75
    43
    26
See reviews for
483
393
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

My family and I went to stay at Half Moon Bay because my father had some business in Jamaica and we thought we would make a little holiday out of it. We chose Half Moon Bay over a few choices mainly the Ritz because they had the villas with private cook, and butler. I have a 2 year old son and thought this would be great as we wouldn't have to get a nanny every night to go to dinner. Our cook and butler were great and very helpful though the standard of cooking was average to poor and you have to go to the grocery store on the hotel property to pick out your meals. The grpcery store chices are pretty dire and tring to get an array of vegetables and fresh fish seemed near impossible. So one night we decided to go to the Italian restaurant at the main hotel, well what a diaster. On all the leaflets and when we booked dinner reservations with the conceierge she said dinner attire was 'casual elegant'. That's it no further explanation on what they think is casual elegant. We had a wonderful little golf cart that we traveled arroun the resort on and it took us approx 10 to 12 mins to drive from our villa to the hotel and we were told he had to retrun and change into long pants even though he had a dress shirt, dress shorts and dress shoes on AND our cook told us that he was absolutely fine to dine in the restaurant in this attire. Meanwhile all the other diners in the restaurant were dressed in JEANS which I guess is okay considering they are long and children in pretty sloppy attire. When I complained to the general manager on duty that night he told me they have a strict long pant policy for the restaurants even though he ould prduce no written evidence of this anywhere and two members of his staff didn't feel it necessary to tell us this. I mean I know this may seem a little thing to most people but it really irked us as nothing seemed to live up to the expectation of the website. The beach was okay, we specifically booked a beach side villa as we wanted to be able to walk to the beach everyday and the beach in from of the villas was best described as non-existent. If you got in your golf cart and drove to the next closest beach they were okay but no facilities, ie drink, bathrooms etc Overall would I go back no, but the staff were extremely friendly on the whole.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out Islands
Top Contributor
651 reviews 651 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

I like to report on my trip to this amazing place; we got in a level4 Tornado last year but eveerything worekd extremely well, including the clean-up and the stay in the conference center for one night. Kids thought this good fun.

This ressort has clearly the following advantages

a) LOCATION
a site selected from a former plantation, which is so spacy, that it could not be bought today ant any price anywhere in the Carribean. With it come very nice beaches (around 3 or 4) distributed over 3km of shoreline.
b) SECURITY
the Hotel has a very strong focus on security which is important when you read on Jamaica in the foreign press. as such we never felt at risk.
c) STAFF
very friendly and warm. we exchanged a Golf coupon for a watersports one, and also traded other coupons for horse-backriding; was done very easy, no hussle; i think the eye of one of the owners present in the ressort helps to keep everyone up to service.
d) EXCURISONS
we booked not the official, but our own trip via the concierge folks at the hotel. worked very well - Dunn's Falls, Ricks Cafe, Margaritaville, etc Had good fun.
e) FOOD
Breakfast is splendid, the rest is good, but not gourmet like in other places like Barbados Sandy Lane - i think this has to do with the price - its much less pricy to go there, and with the clientele - US folks do not necessarily always expect the top-nob kitchen but prefer goodsized portions- this is more an Euro- type thing... (write me a mail if you disagree!)
f) ROOMS
we spent most of the day outside, so the room was not so main focus; but i like to say the two superior rooms we booked for kids and us in the same house worked very well. AirCon was good and service was well taken care of.
g) SPORTS
we liked the watersports and horsebacks - you can swim with them in the sea - was good fun and they did not push it too much on us. The Dolphin Swimming is a bit off, we avoided it.

i give it high marks, its one of the most beautiful locations in the world with a good history.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — nothing can think off
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

We have just returned from Half Moon. It was a nice experience. Overall, probably the best resort in the Montego Bay/Rose Hall area.With almost 500 acres of private land & beach, you never need to leave the resort.There is an ample amount of ammenities. (something for everyone) Horseback riding, Dolphin encounter-for guests only, Bicycles,Golf, Tennis, fitness center , snorkeling,Glass bottom boat, Kayaks, paddle boats, Beach BBQ party,The new Fern Spa, Children's village(supervised), Nanny services, 2 main pools or rent a golf cart and explore the lush manicured grounds of the resort.The hibiscus suites are all renovated with nice baths. The rest of the rooms appear to be original.They have great charm but need more updating to be considered a 5 star hotel.The Royal villas and Royal court with private pools appear to be the best overall buildings.(the royal villas provide butler,maid,nanny, cook & golf carts) Great and secure resort for couples or families. Probably not a good choice for someone wanting to be entertained till the wee hours of the night or singles looking to mingle.This resort is very relaxing and service oriented. As a whole, Half Moon is a 5 star resort but the rooms are a 4 star. A great resort. --P.S. Hire a private driver to allow yourself to experience some of Jamaica. The drive to the Bob Marley birthplace, fern gully and Dunn's river falls was amazing!

  • Liked — the expansive lush grounds
  • Disliked — nightly entertainment
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This resort is easy to get to and safe and a great option for families who want to stay together. The villa option is the only way to go here, in my opinion. I would not stay here otherwise. With the villa you get a chef, butler and maid and a private pool and 2 golf carts. The cooking and eating at home every day was the best part. Breakfast and dinners together around the pool was really fun. The staff were pretty nice, a little testy at times, but I've found this to be true at most of the Jamaican resorts I've stayed at. Beware of the quality of the rooms in the villas though. They are outdated at best. The air conditioning worked only some of the time- not at all in my room- the televisions worked rarely, and we saw a rat. Apparently they are common in the villas because of all the food and cooking. During the day we would play tennis- amazing tennis facilities- and then head to the beach. The beach is nice. Not great, but nice. The food in the restaurants is decent. Not great. We ate lunch everyday by the beach. The best thing to order is the buffet. Service was slow and staff seemed annoyed by us but again, I feel this is the norm in Jamaica. The villas overall are a great value and racing around the massive property in the golf carts with family was really fun. Definitely take the kids to see the dolphins in the lagoon and definitely go to the beach BBQ- this was a highlight. For some action head down the road at night to the Ritz for better food, higher prices, and better nightlife.

  • Liked — Privacy/staff at Villas , tennis and spa
  • Disliked — Rude staff, crappy rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Stayed there for 1 week. The property is very beautiful and vast. They are currently a 4 diamond rating and working on becoming a 5 diamond, so that said if you find something unpleasant...find the right person to take it up with and you'll be well serviced.

Initial resevation was for a superior room, the bathroom was a dingy mess - peeling and chipped paint. Looked like the main part of the room had been renovated but not the other parts. The outdoor patio was ok. I complained about the bathroom to the front desk manager (as looking at it every day I knew would eventually annoy me for having paid 400.00 plus a night). I told them I was not looking for an upgrade - just another room. They pleasantly surpised us and moved us at no charge to a Habiscus suite, a much more expensive and much nicer room. It was one ground level and spilled out onto the beach. So part of our wonderful time there I think had much to do with our location on the resort.

The general service was great. Meaning outside of the resturants. Derrek (front desk person) was very attentive through out our stay and always going out of his way to see to our comforts.

Service is slow in the resturants (except for the Sugar Mill, it was much better service, in fact great and much better food - we should have eaten there every night, prices are same similar to other places on the resort).

Bar service is also slow but once you give a good tip or two it vastly improves -- sad to say but probably true for most places.

After walking around the resort, I would say if you are going to stay in a Superior Suite, only book it if you can get a Ocean View, some of the ocean view Superior Suites are great and well worth the money.

And lastly, off resort excursions...try to book a private with Raffeal (works for Juta Tours), works directly with Half Moon through one of the touring companies. He was outstanding we booked 2 days with him for touring of MoBay and a trip to the falls. So much better than touring with a group of people when most of the time they turn out to be very annoying! We learned that on the Ocean Saffari trip (which I don't recommend at all).

  • Liked — Property
  • Disliked — Slow resturant service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Like others we were a little nervous about booking this trip. It's not inexpensive and we really wanted it to be amazing. Debated on just staying at the Ritz since it's familiar to us.....however, we were pleasantly surprised!!!!!! Upon our arrival, even at the airport , they were waiting for us. Everything was smooth and we were at the hotel in about 20 minutes as they bring you into the VIP room with a waiter to bring you a drink. We stayed in the Hibiscus suites and it was huge space for us since we have only one child. Our veranda was huge and they set up breakfast on it every morning. The food was delicious and the view of the ocean as we ate was tranquil. By the way, this ocean view is really an ocean view, about 15 feet from our room. Not like a high rise hotel. I could throw a rock into the water. The food was really good, we loved the Sugar Mill and the Italian restaurant. Definititely go with the Good Life Package because the restaurants are expensive. If you have young children, the hot dogs and hamburgers were a little different so my son stuck with the chicken fingers for lunch. There is soooo much to do. The dolphin lagoon, tennis lessons, horses, biking, the beach is great because it's a lagoon which keeps the water very calm. You could just float around on a raft like a pool. So many nice people. My son met a group of really nice boys that he had a blast with. The best part. . .we were biking one afternoon and there was a big event going on at the Royal Pavilion so we stopped our bikes to watch and out came PRINCE CHARLES!!! We had our camera and took some awesome pictures. He was staying at the hotel! The experience was amazing. The only 2 negatives is the beach service for drinks and chair set up is a little slow and the rooms are not pristine and super glamorous (with tons of marble, silk and flat screens). Overall, can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Activities, restaurants, beach, people
  • Disliked — Too short, should have stayed 2 more days!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.