We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the Villas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
“Wonderful stay in the Villas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at this beautiful resort. Relaxing, beautiful, room to move around. Extra kudos to Kirk, Junette, and Lezetia were absolutely wonderful. All of the people we traveled with have missed them since our return. Wonderful spot, and I hope to return SOON.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your Half Moon experience on tripadvisor. We are delighted you had a `Royal’ experience. Thank you for recognizing the team, the staff are truly the ones who learn the idiosyncrasies of our clients and make each visit special. Your kind comments were shared with Kirk, Junette, Lezeyia and indeed the entire team.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ again and again.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    229
    73
    40
    25
See reviews for
422
360
24
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time, yet again, at the Half Moon. It is beautiful resort with the loveliest staff. The setting couldn't be more breathtaking, the staff is the warmest and friendliest, the food delicious... just a perfect relaxing get-a -way! Our family just loves it there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for choosing Half Moon, A RockResort, as always, it was a pleasure welcoming you to your home-away-from home. The loyalty to your Half Moon family is highly appreciated. We thank you for your patronage over the years and for taking the time to share your recent experience on tripadvisor.

It was a delight serving you again, your Half Moon family looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I just returned from vacationing at Half Moon. We had a very restful vacation. The Resort had everything you could ask for - no need to leave property (however we did for a bamboo raft ride down the Martha Brea - so worth it ask for Danny #35 as your guide) The beaches were great as well as the Deep water Dolphin adventure. We are tennis players so enoyed the courts. The pro Winston is supper nice. We choose the Perfectly Pampered Package so all meals and drinks were included as well as daily spa appointments. I have to say that is the way to go - No Worries Man.

Would definitly go again - might bring friends and try a villa next time just for the exprieince.

Room Tip: We were in a deluze King Cottage Room. Great views of the beach, beds were not what we like a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Half Moon is an AMAZING place!! The views are AMAZING!! The Villas are BEAUTIFUL!! The staff was unbelievable!! Where ever we went everyone was so friendly and so nice. Also, the staff was so helpful. We stayed in Villa 92. The staff in our Villa, Jason, Patricia and Paulette, made our stay extra special. If we needed something they were eager to help use no matter what the request. Jason arranged outings for us and drove us to any place we wanted to go on the premises. Avon made a very good choice on choosing Half Moon Resort as our place to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience, many thanks for the lovely comments towards the team we will certainly share your compliments with them, particularly the team members mentioned – Jason, Particia and Paulette.

It was a pleasure serving you and the Avon group. We look forward to the pleasure welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a magnificent property with beautifully appointed rooms, expansive manicured grounds, a 2-mile beach; and the service - from check-in to concierge to spa to housekeeping - is over-the-top. Every staff member we met was gracious, attentive, warm and efficient.

I happened to (barely) mention when making the reservation that it was our 30th wedding anniversary. When we got there, absolutely everyone on staff knew and congratulated us. Housekeeping also knew and wished us happy anniversary, and left colorful fresh flowers from the grounds every day. (Housekeepers ask if you need anything, and really mean it!)

We stayed in a Hibiscus Suite, and it was worth every penny. We like to spend time on the balconies of our hotel rooms, and Half Moon's was the prettiest, largest balcony ever. We practically lived out there, drinking in the view, watching sunsets, having happy hour, and enjoying the soft ocean breezes.

The suites was very elegantly furnished. The four-poster bed is super comfortable, there's a small living area looking out onto the ocean through sliding French doors, and the bathroom is huge.

We don't generally use concierge services because their suggestions seem limited -- often to tours or restaurants on property. Not so at Half Moon - Carol knows the options around town very well and offers the approximate cost of the taxi without making you ask. The concierge was closed by the time we were ready for dinner the first night, but the young woman who so graciously welcomed and checked us in, recommended a wonderful yet really inexpensive locals' restaurant, only a $10 taxi ride from the resort, since we asked for a casual and fun place off property. But do stay on property one night and eat at the fabulous Sugar Mill - the staff is very genuine in their praise of this place.

By the way, this resort in ON the beach, not across a street or highway. When the gates close behind you, it feels like your own private paradise.

Room Tip: Go for the Hibiscus Suites. They have huge balconies and are the Most ocean-Front rooms I've ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed review of our Resort. It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients. We have passed on your compliments on good service to our team.

Again, thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Half Moon, a RockResort. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back ‘home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our family's fifth consecutive year visiting Half Moon for a week's vacation. The experience continues to be a dream all around. Almost all of the staff have remained the
same for all of our visits. Whether you meet Donnine and Dale at the swim-up bar or
Dwayne at the Sugar MIll Restaruant it is not possible to imagine a nicer staff and warmer
service.
The grounds and natural surroundings are idyllic. The Spa is first-rate and the food is
tremendous everywhere you eat at the resort. My favorite item at breakfast is local Jamaican
cornmeal porridge that the chef would make each day. Our family could easily pass several
hours riding bikes around the property. Our children (10,8, and 5) asked to go to the Anancy
Children's Camp (on property) everyday which gave my wife and I time to play tennis and use the well-equipped gym.
Each time at HM has been more joyful and I hope to be returning for many years to come.
-Bob Trieste, NYC

Room Tip: We really enjoy the "Royal Suites" located close enough to the main hotel and kid's ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Half Moon is a beautiful resort which I evaluated as the best hotel I have ever been to.
Let me say that they have the best customer service in the world. I have an HR background and know a lot about customer service and training, I am happy to say that in my opinion this hotel has the personnel better trained than in any other.
They exceed the expectations on the service everytime.
It was a wonderful time. I recommend this hotel to all who want to go and rest, have fun, enjoy the beach and also for business.
Thanks to all the employees who made my stay the best one.

Room Tip: Any room is great. This is the best hotel I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

We appreciate you taking the time to share review on your recent Half Moon, A RockResort stay.

We are delighted you enjoyed your Royal Villa experience, many thanks for the lovely comments towards the team, particularly the team members mentioned – Jason, Particia and Paulette. We will certainly share your kind comments with everyone.

It was a pleasure serving you and the Avon team. We look forward to welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.