We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 generation birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Save Saved
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Suite Sale
Ranked #4 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3 generation birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

always wanted to visit this resort and it lived up to my expectations..the history of half moon makes you feel as if you are a celebrity as so many have stayed here. the staff made you feel like a star catering to your every wish. my daughters loved the luxury of the accomodations and the swim up bar. my grandson adored the kayak, the snorkeling, the pool, the paddleboats and the banana spilts we loved every minute of it and would love to return. we even got to swim with the dolphins, a dream come true.. ,in season there are so many activities for kids of all ages. we experienced a nanny one day and she was fabulous.

Room Tip: the cottages at the far end of the property require alot of walking unless you use the carts, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated; it was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are happy your experience was all you anticipated, including your accommodation and the various activities – the Dolphin swim is a favourite among the many activities our guests enjoy. We thank you for your comments regarding our staff whose goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Thank you for sharing your Half Moon experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you to your ‘home away from home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    783
    208
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
358
312
21
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our stay in Villa 91 was an amazing experience, Almanda Villa was beautiful and spacious. Our stay was made most comfortable by the wonderful people who pampered us daily. Jason our butler catered to our every need, exceeding every expectation. Ruby's incredible food preparation and presentation astounded us each morning and coming home in the evening Valerie made certain that our living abode was keep pristine and immaculate.

Five couples shared a private villa with a stunning terrace and a beautiful pool overlooking gorgeous gardens, palm trees, flowering hibiscus and perfectly manicured hedges. The old world elegance combined with all modern amenities made for a perfect vacation.

We would highly recommend Half Moon Resort and in particular Villa 91 and most specifically;

Jason - our incredible Butler who anticipated our every needs and ensured we were totally content.

Ruby - who fed us like royalty and provided the most amazing authentic Jamaican breakfast on our last day. Sadly we should have had it on our first day so we could have requested our favorite dishes every morning. Bacon and eggs will never cut it again!!

Valerie - not only kept the villa spotless and our rooms perfectly tidy but surprised us by ensuring our clothes were laundered and folded in spite of our untidy ways.

How we wish we could take them home with us forever!!!! We were totally spoiled and we will remember our time with them with appreciation and affection for years to come. Let's hope we can come back to Villa 91 soon.

Fiona, Mike, Lisa, Sean, Tina, Bill, Michael, Rose, Jackie and Gabe - till we meet again.

Room Tip: The Villa's are fantastic for a group. In particular Villa 91!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort; we are happy you had a `Royal’ experience. We generally receive complimentary reviews on the Royal Villas accommodation - which creates `a home away from home’ atmosphere, much to the delight of our valued guests like yourselves.

We thank you for the beautiful comments towards our dedicated team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for our most discerning clients. Your compliments will certainly be shared with Jason, Ruby and Valerie.

Again, thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guildford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Yes, a stunning location, yes beautiful facilities, but what makes this hotel truly exceptional are the superb staff who run it.
Polite, efficient and most importantly always cheerful the staff at the Half Moon have made my holiday break here an absolute delight.
Thank you

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure serving you; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated.

We thank you for the beautiful comments regarding our dedicated team whose goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; it was a privilege serving you; we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to your “home away from home”.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Get up early and walk the gorgeous property. From Sunset Beach to Sunrise Beach, the lush tropical grounds and even a cove with dolphins. Everything is so natural - no contrived "Disney" type man made beauty! Our one bedroom suite was immaculate and well appointed with a large patio overlooking the beach
The staff were amazing. Friendly and professional but not over familiar as is sometimes the case in Caribbean hotels.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guests,

It is always a pleasure receiving feedback from our valued clients; we thank you for taking the time to share such lovely note about your recent stay at Half Moon, A RockResort.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Thank you for selecting Half Moon and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back `home’ soon.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have been to Half Moon on several occasions and every time has been beyond wonderful! We have celebrated weddings, anniversaries and birthdays! Everyone at Half Moon has ensured that each celebration is special and memorable. The food is outstanding. The beaches are beautiful. The pool is relaxing. And the spa is to die for. We have stayed in the villas and we have been spoiled by Charles, Olive, and Celita. We love them! The villa experience is truly fun, especially for families with children. We have also stayed in a Hibiscus Suite which was spacious and located a mere several feet fom the beach. It was like having a private beach. Half Moon goes above and beyond. It highlights the island's natural beauty and captures the warmth of its people. We look forward to spending many more vacations here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure serving you as our treasured guests; we thank you for taking the time to share your Half Moon, A RockResort experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted your villa experience was all you anticipated and you enjoyed not only your Royal Villa accommodation but the various activities and hospitality from our dedicated team. Our ultimate goal is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests. We will be sure to share your beautiful comments with Charles, Olive and Celita.

Thank you for your patronage over the years; it is always a pleasure serving you and sharing in the verious special occasions. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home-away- from-home.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We celbrated our 11th wedding anniversary at the Half Moon and now look forward to returning in Spring. We loved everything about Half Moon; friendly staff, clean facilities, everything first rate. Exquisite meals at Sugar Hill restaurant, beautiful, updated, clean suite. Perfect balance of privacy and choice with numerous pools, beautiful beaches and luxurious spa.

We have twelve years experience vacationing in several Caribbean hotels (8 years with 2 young children) including Vieques (bug infested) & San Juan Puerto Rico (underwhelming) Ritz Carlton JA (food mediocre) 4 Beaches resorts- (excellent childcare but facilities run down), one supposedly "exclusive" resort in Turks and Caicos (a nightmare- refund on part of our trip- it was that bad) Atlantis in the Bahamas (commercial- long lines for buffet; non-personal cattle call).

Half Moon by far the most memorable. Personal attention, 9 and 7 year old kids kept very well occupied at kids club. We loved complimentary bicycles and fun dolphin encounter. Well done Half Moon.. we shall return for many years to come! We loved the staff- great service from Concierge; Candace, Housekeeper: Sophie, Beach attendant Tony. Sugar Mill Head Chef took time to chat with us before we left. Romantic setting, delicious food; should be #1 rated restaurant on the island!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The lovely comments regarding your recent experience at Half Moon, A RockResort are highly appreciated. It was certainly a pleasure to have you as our guests; we are happy your experience was all you anticipated.

We thank you for the beautiful comments concerning our dedicated team whose aim is always to create an experience of a lifetime for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor; again, it was a privilege serving you and we look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you to your “home away from home”.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We did not believe that the Half Moon resort could be even better but on our recent 7th visit, we think it was. The setting is the same......simply idyllic. To walk the beautiful 2 km sandy beech is simply heavenly. Every aspect of this resort is excellent but we would particularly like to praise the staff who always provide excellent service and are always so naturally friendly. It does not matter whether we are ordering a meal at the Sea Grape Restaurant, having a drink at the Swim up bar or arranging a trip with the concierge, the service cannot be faultered.

We always stay in one of the Hibiscus suites which are only 10 metres from the sea. To wake up with the sun shining having breakfast on the spacious balcony looking through the palm trees to the sea below is a dream.

There is also much to do on the resort with a 18 hole golf course (bunkers strategically positioned!!), tennis, horse riding, gym, spa and you can even swim with the dolphins.

We are now looking forward to our 8th visit. Another couple we met this time are arranging their 11th visit next July. I think that says it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely note about another enjoyable Half Moon, A RockResort experience. It was a pleasure serving you, we’re happy your stay was all you anticipated. The beautiful comments regarding the Half Moon facility and our devoted team members are highly appreciated; our aim is always to create a memorable experience for you our valued guests.

Again, thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As always, your Half Moon family looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you "home”.

Best regards,


The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica’s northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 33 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it’s no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for more than 50 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.