We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and beach with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Half Moon, A RockResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Half Moon, A RockResort to your Saves list
Half Moon, A RockResort
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Half Moon Summer Getaway
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
1 review
“Beautiful hotel and beach with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Hotel and beach are beautiful and service at hotel is great. Steve Sowa (Executive Chef) was exceptionally helpful in accomodating us with our kosher food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Valued Client,

Thank you for vacationing at Half Moon, A RockResort and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are truly delighted you had a wonderful time and hope you’ll return to see us soon.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,021
    243
    74
    43
    26
See reviews for
483
391
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We loved our stay at Half Moon. The hotel is clean and elegant, the beach isn't crowded and right out your room - which was great for us with a napping baby. The pools are nice and the kids' area was clean and safe. It's a great place for a family with children. I researched many hotels in the Caribbean, not just Jamaica, and was very happy with our choice. We've stayed at Carlyle Bay and One & Only Ocean Club Bahamas and prefer Half Moon to both. And it's a better value.
My only small critique would be that the food in the restaurants is good but room service quality was sometimes a little disappointing - except breakfast on your patio steps from the ocean! We stayed in the Villa suite so we had a separate room for the baby and it was very nice. Although the beach by the cottages is better for swimming. The staff is also terrific and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Valued Clients,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we look forward to welcoming you to Half Moon again in the near future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Outstanding service, rooms were great, location was great, food was very good to great, the main pool is a little small but very nice, though there are many smaller pools located around the resort. Really hard to find any significant issues about the place. Definitely one of the nicer places I have been to in several years. I would describe it as "Old World Caribbean" with all the modern touches. The place is spreadout over a large area but it doesn't feel like the mega resorts of Cancun. All around nice place and I would defintely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest. We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we look forward to welcoming you to Half Moon again in the near future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

The hotel is beautiful. It has an old warm charm but with updated facilities. The beaches are great. The pools are outstanding. The food is excellent. But the main reason to go to this hotel is the service. The service is truly outstanding. Everyone makes you feel welcome. An outstanding resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest. We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we look forward to welcoming you to Half Moon again in the near future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I just returned last night(March 12th, 2011) from 5 days at Half Moon. I was pleasantly surprised by how beautiful it was there. We were in cottage 5, room 50 and thought we had the perfect location. Our room was updated, nice and quite. We never heard our neighbors. The hotel is charming and quaint....Reminded us of Sea Island. All the white lights on the trees at night by the water was lovely. We didn't understand that the cottages were made up of different rooms until we arrived. The cottages were all white but uniquely different on the outside and inside. I couldn't believe all the pools on the property. Each cottage, villa etc. had a pool on one or both sides that were for use by the different rooms. The door to our room was just steps from the beach. We did not opt for the meal plan and were glad we did not choose it. We rented a car (Hertz under $140 for our stay) and loved being able to go next door to the Ritz for lunch by their pool. Parking was very close to our room. Don 't book adventures through the hotel because they add extra $ to your fee....The Dreamer Catamaran trip was horrible(Not the hotels fault)...Did I mention that we would pick this hotel over the Ritz? We just loved the setting and the service was wonderful. We toured the spa here and at the Ritz and prefered the Half Moon Spa. Check out time is Noon and since we didn't have to leave for the airport until 4:00 the hotel offered us a hospitality suite at no charge. It was beautiful too....See photos.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HalfMoonARockResort, Manager at Half Moon, A RockResort, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely note about your stay at Half Moon, A RockResort. It was really a pleasure to have you as our guest. We’re happy your stay was all you anticipated and we look forward to welcoming you to Half Moon again in the near future.

Best regards,

The Half Moon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We booked the "Ultimate package"
Not so ultimate......there always seemed to be a "that's not included" qualification.......@ $1375 per day....most everything should be included except of course "the spa"
We do not mind paying for "above and beyond" but Half Moon didnt do it....having said that the staff at the resort were very friendly and professional despite the challenges........oh! One observation...reviewing your concerns with the GM unfortunately results in at best a "vacant smile"

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Have just come back from a week's stay with two teenage girls and cannot rate our holiday high enough. We stayed in a room in the Oleander Court (double bedroom upstairs, twin beds downstairs) which was plenty of space for the 4 of us: two large bathrooms, lots of wardrobe space and a kitchen, plus small terrace with tables and sunbeds.

The food was outstanding everywhere (particularly the huge breakfast buffet) and we had a wonderful supper at the Sugar Mill Restaurant, but the best meals of the week for us were at the Prince of Wales pub, the Italian restaurant and the Indian/Thai restaurant in the Shopping Village, Akbar - couldn't work out why no-one else seemed to go here!

There are miles of beach - but if you don't particularly like seaweed or rocks, then sea swimming can be limited to a small area near to the Seagrape restaurant and watersports area. If you want a sunbed on the sand, under dappled shade or full sun, totally secluded or within easy access of a bar, with maybe a float so you lay down and float over the top of the rocks and seaweed, then you're spoilt for choice.

The service we received everywhere was friendly and efficient (certainly by European standards!) - being creatures of habit we returned every morning to the same spot on the beach to find four sunbeds laid out for us complete with fresh towels, a couple of floats and even magazines to read; and after a couple of days Michelle & Beverley from Lester's Bar knew our drinks order and would bring them over without being asked first!

We were also very lucky to have a private Dolphin Encounter - just three of us with one dolphin which was mind blowing and even though it isn't cheap, was worth every single penny. Certainly an experience none of us will ever forget.

We've stayed in some amazing hotels in Dubai and Oman and had slight reservations about returning to the Caribbean as previous holidays on other islands have been somewhat lacking in terms of service or facilities in comparison, but Half Moon blew those pre-conceptions out of the water. We would definitely recommend it and will most certainly return another day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Half Moon, A RockResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon, A RockResort

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#3 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Half Moon, A RockResort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a two-mile, crescent-shaped beach on Jamaica's northern coast, Half Moon, A RockResort, is truly paradise found. This spectacular, 400-acre luxury resort features pristine, whitewashed cottages surrounded by beautifully landscaped gardens and the sparkling Caribbean Sea beyond.Expertly combining Old World charm and elegant modern touches, Half Moon offers 197 guest rooms and suites, and 31 private four- to seven-bedroom villas. Its world-class amenities include the renowned Fern Tree Spa, an 18-hole signature golf course, a Dolphin Lagoon, fitness centre, equestrian centre and more. With its spectacular seaside location, rich Caribbean heritage, warm and attentive staff and exceptional array of amenities, it's no wonder that this iconic Jamaican destination has set the standard for luxury Caribbean resorts for 60 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Half Moon, A RockResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon, a Rock Hotel Montego Bay
Half Moon Jamaica
Half Moon Resort Jamaica
Half Moon Bay Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half Moon, A RockResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.