We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verney's Tropical Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Verney's Tropical Resort to your Saves list
Verney's Tropical Resort
3 Leader Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“cheap and worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This places is really very cheap we got a room with 5 beds for $80 (£50) breakfast is $6 per person but everything is brought fresh daily. Its in a really hilly location and you will needd a car or use a taxi, they have a mini bus ( im sure they would pick you up for a fee) its only about by 5 mins from the airport.

Rooms are clean and tidy, however it is in need of updating, but that did not put us off staying at the beginning of our trip and we booked for the last night as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
8
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

If you really want to feel Jamaica this is the place to go. My wife and I enjoyed the staff, they were very accommodating to our needs. The room was clean and the maid swept and mopped every day as well we had clean sheets and towels daily. The decor of the room were fitting for the room theme. The meals were awesome American or Jamaican, the chef was great. The pool was clean and inviting. Free coffee every morning at 0600, the view of the city was beautiful every morning as you watch it awake for the day. The gardener kept the grounds in top shape with many different varieties of plants that bloom all year long. We plan on returning.

Frank Brown

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

You need a car to stay here.

The only good thing about this hotel is the view from the alcove in the room onto the hills behind Montego Bay. The room itself is dark and needs renovation. The - also needs renovation - bathroom rug on the floor was old and shabby and was so unhygienic looking I didn't even want to step on it. The carpet in the room was up for replacement, there were iron burn marks on it.

There are no room rates in reception anywhere (that I saw) and when you ask - we just turned up - they tell you one rate - 55 US, I give them 60, the receptionist goes off to get change (I thought) and comes back and says, no, it's 60.. (??).
I just let it go... but next morning the room key deposit which I was told would be returned (JM$ 1000), when queried suddenly the price was 65! i.e. no key deposit refund...
I don't remember getting a receipt of anything I paid either... (I was on my way to the airport so other things on my mind...).

If staying here ask for receipts with proper rates for all charges.

Very nice owners, sadly it is run very unprofessionally, even asking for a cup of coffee on arrival (late morning) the breakfast coffee canister just gets reheated....

(I've worked in hotels myself so do know something about running one)....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful. The food was excellent. There's an outdoor pool and beautiful views of the city below. The room was clean, but the decor was a bit dated. The location was convenient, close to downtown, the beach and bus terminal (about a 10-15minute walk). However, I don't recommend walking to the hotel after dark. The road is poorly lit, and lacks a contiguous sidewalk. It's dangerous to walk here alone late at night; the traffic is scary and locals mentioned past criminal activity in desolate areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011 via mobile

I'm a flight attendant and I stayed there with friends in order to attend reggae sumfest , if ur looking for a fancy highend resort that will only see u as a number and not care about u what so ever, then this is not the place , while I was there I fracture my leg while on a atv adventure and ms sterling made me soup and they treated me very kind , I been to some if the most expensive hotels and they can't touch the service I got here .. Thanks ms sterling

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Don't let these reviews fool you, because they surely fooled me. The rooms are dirty and dark and a lot of roaches, bathrooms are horrible needs renovating. Mold was all over the bathroom. And staff is okay. Owners are nice but i would not waste my money here i would rather go to an all-inclusive. Food= small portions and huge price tag. Hotel matched the city slummy! a nice view but bad location on top of a huge hill.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wild & Wonderful, WV
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The OWNERS, they were so kind with us. Mrs. Sterling talked to me, as if she knows me for many years. The hotel is delightful, with all type of exotics plants, we feel like we was in our own house, and we have never experienced such incredible service before, especially from Doreen one of the staff member it was so lovely that it was hard to leave the resort to go to somewhere else of the Island.

We just returned from the Island, but we will return very soon.
"THIS YEAR"

  • Liked — the hospitality
  • Disliked — maybe i will need to stay longer to make any comments, so far all is good.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verney's Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verney's Tropical Resort

Address: 3 Leader Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#36 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Verney's Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verney`s Tropical Hotel Montego Bay
Verneys Tropical Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verney's Tropical Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.