We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEWARE of fraud!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor's Cave Beach

Doctor's Cave Beach
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Beaches, Cultural
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five miles of pure white sand and crystal clear water have made this beach a popular destination for tourists and families.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEWARE of fraud!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We just returned from our honeymoon in Jamaica. We never visited this place but we have over $300 charged to our card from them.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    227
    75
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Jamaica Jamaica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Doctor's Cave beach is relaxing, exciting, and the view and water is awesome! From this beach, one can get a great view of the mountains and your cruise ship in the distance- a beautiful sight! The waters are usually calm with a gentle tide that soothes! The beach has clean restroom and changing facilities as well as a full bar and restaurant. Admission to the beach is $6 with chair rental at $6 as well. There is a tree shaded area which if available eliminates the need to rent an umbrella. The drinks are reasonable and the food is small but fairly priced. Given that this is Jamaica, there are relentless sales people all over selling everything from typical souvenirs to "brownies". Catch the quotations!!! There is a question that you may be asked many times while relaxing on the beach or shopping on the Hip Strip right outside the beach- "you want roll one?" I don't "roll" but those who do are never disappointed! I always enjoy this beach and will continue to return!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I visited this beach along with my mom and sister. The small fee that we paid to get in was well worth it. The water was clear and beautiful! There was plenty of local wildlife. There were several fish and stingrays in the water with us!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“This is not what I call Paradise”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Hip Strip - How disappointing, A strip of about 600 meters.
Dr Caves beach is about 20 meters of white sand that you are charged $6 for the privilege of visiting - coming from Australia - this is an outrage! Just 40 meters down the road at Nicks restaurant (look for the courtyard with the small cannon) is the same beach but free.....About a dozen souvenir shops and a park with views to the port. Would I go out of my way to visit here? No, but it is only a $5 pp taxi fare from the port - if you must.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pristine Waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The beach had white sand and water that was a clear as a glass of water from the tap, only in a pretty aqua color. We stayed in the water the whole time we were there. There wasn't much solicitation which made it even more pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor's Cave Beach also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Doctor's Cave Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor's Cave Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.