We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor's Cave Beach

Doctor's Cave Beach
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #6 of 27 attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Five miles of pure white sand and crystal clear water have made this beach a popular destination for tourists and families.
Kanata, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“No problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful Beach with access to shade or shine, and close to good food. The kids loved the swim trampoline, and the clarity of the water is amazing...........just go!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    195
    63
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On our way to Doctor's Beach we did not really see any of those movie style Jamaican beaches and were a bit disappointed and did not quite know what to expect. When we arrived to Doctor's Beach, which is on a beautiful beach strip shared by 2 clubs, we indeed were positively surprised. The water was beautiful and the beach not crowded. We did order from their beach bar and I guess for Jamaica the prices were reasonable. Once their party catamarans got back we decided to leave the beach, it was time for us to head back to the ship anyways. A plus is also that this beach is not far away from the pier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doctor's Cave, Mobay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our taxi service / driver:- Rally from Rally Tours (876) 845-2307 / 776-5591. Superb service for our entire 7 day visit, went out of his way to make our trip memorable, give him a try, you won't be sorry. We were advised by our taxi driver that we couldn't leave Jamaica without a visit to Doctor's Cave. We were obviously lucky to catch a day without cruise ship crowds. Small beach, but beautiful and clean, clear water with some reef, a lot of different fish to see, not in large numbers but worth snorkeling. 2 water trampolines which were fun. The beach sellers were few and accepted 'No thank-you' and moved away. $6 entry each and $6 per chair and umbrella. Restaurants and drinks, food just OK. Lots of shade towards the back under the coconut palms, beautiful, relaxing day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am not a fan of paying for a beach but this beach is really a nice relaxing beach. It cost $6 US but i would suggest that you change money before hand because you will save a little more using JD currency. The bathrooms are pretty decent but they can get pretty messy when people come in wet and sandy. There is a place to eat but keep in mind the area is very touristy so it can be a little pricey. I would say pack some food or eat before or after. There is no parking lot to park in. You have to find parking along the street which cost $50 JD per hour and can be pretty busy. Last thing...have fun, this place is worth the $5-6.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clear water, we always go for a day trip even if we stay at a resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Water was beautiful. Friendly staff and one year when we were at Doctor's Cave Beach we met one off the Marley's and we took pictures. So, the beach is so lively that celebrities also go swimming there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor's Cave Beach also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Doctor's Cave Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor's Cave Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Doctor's Cave Beach to your Saves list