We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor's Cave Beach

Doctor's Cave Beach
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #7 of 27 Attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Beaches
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Five miles of pure white sand and crystal clear water have made this beach a popular destination for tourists and families.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

On our way to Doctor's Beach we did not really see any of those movie style Jamaican beaches and were a bit disappointed and did not quite know what to expect. When we arrived to Doctor's Beach, which is on a beautiful beach strip shared by 2 clubs, we indeed were positively surprised. The water was beautiful and the beach not crowded. We did order from their beach bar and I guess for Jamaica the prices were reasonable. Once their party catamarans got back we decided to leave the beach, it was time for us to head back to the ship anyways. A plus is also that this beach is not far away from the pier.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    215
    69
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Doctor's Cave, Mobay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our taxi service / driver:- Rally from Rally Tours (876) 845-2307 / 776-5591. Superb service for our entire 7 day visit, went out of his way to make our trip memorable, give him a try, you won't be sorry. We were advised by our taxi driver that we couldn't leave Jamaica without a visit to Doctor's Cave. We were obviously lucky to catch a day without cruise ship crowds. Small beach, but beautiful and clean, clear water with some reef, a lot of different fish to see, not in large numbers but worth snorkeling. 2 water trampolines which were fun. The beach sellers were few and accepted 'No thank-you' and moved away. $6 entry each and $6 per chair and umbrella. Restaurants and drinks, food just OK. Lots of shade towards the back under the coconut palms, beautiful, relaxing day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I am not a fan of paying for a beach but this beach is really a nice relaxing beach. It cost $6 US but i would suggest that you change money before hand because you will save a little more using JD currency. The bathrooms are pretty decent but they can get pretty messy when people come in wet and sandy. There is a place to eat but keep in mind the area is very touristy so it can be a little pricey. I would say pack some food or eat before or after. There is no parking lot to park in. You have to find parking along the street which cost $50 JD per hour and can be pretty busy. Last thing...have fun, this place is worth the $5-6.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clear water, we always go for a day trip even if we stay at a resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Water was beautiful. Friendly staff and one year when we were at Doctor's Cave Beach we met one off the Marley's and we took pictures. So, the beach is so lively that celebrities also go swimming there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Picture perfect beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This beach is so beautiful!! White sand and beautiful emerald and sapphire waters!! You can just lie on the beach all day!! The entry is 500JD or 5USD. You can also rent beach chairs and an umbrella for about the same price. They open at 8-8.30 in the morning and close at 5 in the evening. Parking is available outside the entrance if you are driving. You just need to pick up a parking pass from a store across the street. Just ask the front desk at the beach entrance and they will tell you where to go. The pass cost us $5 and gave us parking for the whole day. Once you pay the entry for the beach, you can go out and come back in any time until the beach closes. The beach is clean and the water is crystal clear. The cafe is pretty decent...we are vegetarians and ordered rice and steamed veggies which was good.

They also had showers and changing rooms which were clean and well maintained. I would definitely recommend going to this beach on a non cruise ship day. It was so peaceful and calm...totally relaxing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor's Cave Beach also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Doctor's Cave Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor's Cave Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.