We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and safe beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doctor's Cave Beach

Doctor's Cave Beach
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Beaches, Cultural
Activities: Sunbathing, Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Five miles of pure white sand and crystal clear water have made this beach a popular destination for tourists and families.
Roscoe, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great and safe beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great sand beach, safe, not too crowded unless cruise ships are in port. Water gets nice and deep a bit further out and they have a really fun water trampoline. Restaurant and chair/umbrella rental

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    220
    74
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Best swimming water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The water was perfect for swimming I could get myself out of it until lunch.
Had lunch their I love their jerk chicken rice and beans my favorite
Went right back to swim until I went shopping,love the India linen dresses I end up with 5 love the cool feeling of that material.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, safe and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Visited Doctor's cave Beach last week with my husband and two teen boys. For less than $40 we got snorkeling gear, an umbrella and entrance to a secure, calm beach. There were very few people there and ti was not crowded at all. The beach is white sand and turquoise blue water, just what we were looking for. We have visited Jamaica before and knew that a private beach is what we wanted for this day trip so we had no issue paying a small fee to get in. The facilities were nice and very clean with staff that was helpful and friendly. The restaurant was steps away from the water and servers came around taking our order if we did not want to leave our umbrella. There was security and serenity so we were definitely satisfied. There was a small reef to snorkel around/above and the water was calm and clear. No persons harassing you to buy anything, no dirty beach and no long trek to questionable bathrooms. Definitely will return here when we visit Jamaica again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanahoe
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Give me a break”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You have to pay to use a beach. Get real. This is a nice beach but we have already paid enough money to get to the carribean without being charged to step on to the sand. Yes the facilities are nice but we have already paid enough. In addition, the beach closes early. Can you believe that?? A beach that closes?????? There are two public beaches up the road with no charge. No security either. The nearer of the two is the safer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Calm Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I absolutely loved Doctor's Cave Beach! The calm caribbean waters here are perfect for swimming and floating. I enjoyed not being bothered by people trying to sale me something while I was there. I was able to leave my belongings on the beach and not worry about them being stolen. I was able to enjoy the sun and ocean in peace the entire afternoon. The restaurants there are great too. I enjoyed a virgin mango daiquiri while being there......it was great!! I also loved the small fee you pay to get in......its only $5US. I definitely recommend this beach during your stay in Montego Bay. I definitely plan on returning in the near future!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doctor's Cave Beach also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Doctor's Cave Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doctor's Cave Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.