We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming and relaxing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vista de la Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vista de la Bahia to your Saves list
Vista de la Bahia
8 Corniche Road, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct - Best Rates
Ranked #2 of 39 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A charming and relaxing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My father and I stayed with the Scudamores at their charming B&B from 1/5/13 to 1/12/13. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by Peter and Elaine and shown to our immaculate and spacious room. The B&B is designed in such a way that it feels rich and push but still cozy. The outdoor patio and pool are stunningly set against the ocean. Having breakfast outside and gazing out on the ocean view was one of my favorite experiences of my stay. I echo Chris Tobias' suggestion to look into transportation options are at least to not take the first driver suggestion and to make sure that you negotiate the price of the ride before accepting. I had a problem with mosquitoes at night so I suggest bringing some spray just in case you also have the kind of blood that mosquitoes like to dine on. I loved the short walk to Doctor Cave's Beach which I favored over the beaches in Negril.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

No doubt about it - this is the most beautiful bed and breakfast on the island. Charming and hospitable hosts, a spectacular view and the most delicious breakfasts all add up to a perfect stay. Thanks again for the great times. Mom and I enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Everyone looked after our every need and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We highly appreciated the excellent service, cleanliness and the beautiful view on the bay, while having very fine breakfast by the pool.

Tips:
1. Use access to the main road by walking down within the property (ask the inkeepers).
2. Check alternatives to transport service proposed by the B&B (our driver may not have been the most outstanding one).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KATY
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed a week for our anniversary and it was absolutely a dream. The quality and cleanliness of the accommodations is the same as a five star hotel in the United States. The food was the highlight of the stay. You can have American cuisine, but you have to try the Jamaican cuisine as well. Just a couple of blocks away is the "Doctors Cave Beach" which is phenomenal and includes food and drink service. Also close by is the "Pelican Restaurant", and my experience is that everything on the menu is awesome. Before visiting Jamaica I had always heard that you don't feel secure in many places you go. I found the locals to be friendly and never felt insecure in any place we went. The B&B is extremely secure with electronic key entry. If anyone other than guest wanted to come on property it just is not possible. Would recommend again and again and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here after spending a week as leaders at one of the Jamaica Baptist Union youth summer camps. We were shattered and it was great to spend the first day of our break just chilling by the pool and watching the goings on in Montego Bay below. You also get breakfast by the pool. A short walk from the strip and the centre of Montego Bay. A great alternative to the soulless all inclusives which are located out of town. Would recommend to anyone. It's a partner B&B to Polkerris so if one is fully booked then try the other.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Travelling solo but felt like I was with Family. Thank you Peter and Elaine! An Oasis in the middle of Montego Bay with outstanding service. Have been recommending you non-stop! The breakfast was so homey and surroundings so comfy :) Did NOT want to leave. Def coming back with the Family. I look forward to my next visit and hope to make this a home away from home. The pool was divine, breakfast overlooking such a fabulous view. Most important was travelling solo the security of the property was prominent. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

This jewel of a B&B on a hill with spectacular views overlooking Montego Bay was just what we were looking for on our first trip to Jamaica. Our upstairs ocean view King room was squeaky clean , attractively furnished, and quiet with a comfortable firm bed and in-room safe. The feel is more like a villa than a B&B, with only 4 ensuite rooms in a separate wing of the beautifully situated residence. Our charming hosts Peter and Elaine could not have been more helpful with arrangements for drivers and suggestions for sightseeing.
Hailing from Sunset Beach on Oahu in Hawaii, where watching the Sunset over the ocean with a glass of wine is a daily ritual, Vista de la Bahia did not disappoint. The west facing orientation of the spacious lanai and pool complete with chaise lounges offered the perfect end to our days of swimming at beautiful Doctor's Cave Beach (10 min. Walk) or day tripping to Ocho Rios, YS Falls and Negril. Half of our 9 days, we were the only guests present on the grounds at any given time,so we felt very private .
The beautifully prepared and bountiful breakfasts were served on a covered portion of the same poolside lanai and were the highlight of each day.
The spirit of Aloha is alive and well in Jamaica.We were overwhelmed by the positive friendliness of the Jamaican people we encountered in the visitor industry, from our hosts to taxi drivers, wait staff, etc. "Are you enjoying yourself?" is the question of the day.
On our last night, we ordered dinner from the Pelican restaurant (owned by our hosts' family) sent up to be enjoyed on the lanai while watching the sunset afterglow. Mahalo (thank you)to Peter and Elaine for all their personal attention

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vista de la Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de la Bahia

Address: 8 Corniche Road, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Vista de la Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De La Bahia Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vista de la Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.