We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pork Pit

Pork Pit
27 Gloucester Ave, Miranda Hill, Montego Bay, Jamaica
952 1046
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 97 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you like Jerk Pork you'll love this! Food was amazing, football on the TVs round the bar and ice cold Red Stripe what's not to like?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    171
    56
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pork is a must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We fell in love with jerk and this place came highly recommended. My girlfriend had the chicken which was a bit dry and lacked flavor. BUT, that is NOT what they are known for. I had the pork and the flavor was simply amazing. Had it earlier today and am seriously thinking about a evening snack back there, since I'm flying home tomorrow.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Pork and Chicken right of the grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food and cold beer. What else is there to say? Don't but the CD of music from the guy near the bathrooms.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

what a nice treat! the food is excellent and the environment creates a true Jamaican experience. The food is reasonably priced. Worth the experience

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Fast Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Some people may have wrong expectations about this place: This is not a restaurant but a fast food place Jamaican style, you pay first, then pick up your order directly from the grill. The food tasted excellent, our jerk pork + chicken was juicy and amazingly flavorful, though we had the strong impression they use MSG, not something we really wanted. Overall, the place is smoky and a bit grubby, but again, the attraction here is the food, not the atmosphere. On that basis, we would certainly recommend the Pork Pit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pork Pit also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pork Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pork Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.