We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican

Pelican
Gloucester Ave, Miranda Hill, Montego Bay, Jamaica
952 3171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 97 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Whenever I'm in Mo bay, I make it a point of duty to visit Pelican. On my last visit, I had cornmeal porridge and then my main dish was callaloo with fried dumpling, white yam and green banana. It was delicious--as usual. 5 Stars. I'll be back again. That is all.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    104
    59
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best Jamaican food in mobay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Pelican is a place u can eat once a month or once a year or once a week and nothing changes.I always bring my friends here when they are visiting as the food the service are consistently good and value for money

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I go here everythime I travel to Jamaica. The VERY BEST value around. A very wide variety menu, deliciously prepared, and super great service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Traditional Jamaican food,very generous portions. Staff friendly, parking outside and tv with sports at bar area

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We took a break from our all inclusive buffet and headed to the Pelican for lobster dinners one evening. The Pelican was recommended by our resort the Royal Decameron Montego Beach's excursion desk. The nice lade at the excursion desk arranged everything for us. The Pelican provides free transportation from local resorts which is a big plus. Mr. Brooks their driver picked us up and delivered us back to the resort with no problem and was a very nice man. I ordered a broiled lobster dinner and the hubby ordered a curried lobster dinner. To my surprise I got two nice size lobster tails served with rice and peas, vegetables and garlic butter on the side. The hubby got a dish filled with big lobster chunks in a yummy curry cause with rice and vegetables. Dinner and a tip for our driver was about $100 us which was about exactly what I was expecting to pay. Dinner was very good. The atmosphere of the restaurant was nice but nothing super romantic. There was a pretty fish tank by the entry and the room was full of cozy booths. When we first entered the restaurant I knew the food would be good as most of the patrons were Jamaican. When I mentioned this to our driver Mr. Brooks he said lots of Jamaicans dine there for the Jamaican food. When in Montego Bay give the Pelican a try for great lobster and Jamaican food too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.