We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican

Pelican
Gloucester Ave, Miranda Hill, Montego Bay, Jamaica
952 3171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 98 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Awesome food and great vibes. You are in the middle of all the action and the Pelican adds much to the fun of Montego Bay. The ambiance is kook mon, and the staff nice and irie!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    113
    69
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced Diner Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Love Love Love their milkshakes. Probably one of the few places in MoBay you can get a chocolate milkshake. Their dishes are a overpriced and you can get better local jamaican food at some cookshops on the road. Mostly the elite and upper-class jamaicans dine here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJBenn, Owner at Pelican, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant! From a chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

So glad I went here before reading the reviews so I will have my say too. I have been in Montego Bay for 15 days and eat breakfast here every day and dinner here every few days. The staff are lovely and professional...big up Dalton! The service is fantastic, the decor is great and appropriate for the age of this restaurant. Love the fabric wall hangings capturing the heart of Jamaica. This place in full of Jamaicans which is always a good sign. I cannot fault the service! Now the food...the best scrambled eggs in the world! And great coffee. I am a chef from Sydney, Australia and have nothing but praises for the whole team, floor staff and kitchen. Dinner is great, the jerk chicken salad is tasty and very filling and fresh ingredients! Service is efficient and overall great value for money. Love the tunes they play, great mix of reggae and international artists. Thank you Pelican! Great job...heading there tonight for dinner again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food ,service and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I would like to commend all at the Pelican Grill for the most delectable meals , excellent service ,and cleanliness of the restaurant. The staff is always neatly dressed, greets you with a smile, prompt courteous service....A favorite for many locals and visitors. In all my years of using
The Pelican for feeding my passengers I have not had one complaint. Several years have gone by but The Pelican Grill 's food and service have remained "TOPS". Thank You Pelican

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you have Donovan as a waiter itll be even better!! That man does anything to accomodate us when we go. I alwyas request him

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.