We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, drinks, yum - eat somewhere else!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville

Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville
Gloucester Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
+1 876-952-4777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 83 restaurants in Montego Bay
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Hamburgers, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Views, drinks, yum - eat somewhere else!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fun place to pop in but plan to eat elsewhere for dinner. Food was mediocre and took forever,
( place wasn't that crowded when we ordered), views are awesome, would return for drinks only!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting. We're happy to hear that you got the chance to experience the wonderful atmosphere and tasty beverages that we offer, but were disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory dining and service experience. an integral part of the Margaritaville experience is delicious food in addition to the tasty drinks and fun atmosphere, and your comments have made it apparent that we missed out on some key elements with regard to our culinary offerings as well as our service standards. We have shared your review with our team with the aim of improving the all round experience for all our patrons. We hope that you will give us a chance to wow you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    210
    189
    156
    65
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location of this restaurant/club/bar is a win. The view is amazing as it is right on the waters, but the menu was lacking in Jamaican food, which wasn't what I (and most people) expected, also the prices for food and drinks were way too high and the staff seemed somewhat unprofessional and inattentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for your review. It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the location of our little piece of paradise right on the water front. We believe that an integral part of the Margartiaville experience is in fact location; more specifically one that is pleasing to the senses with a great view and relaxing environment. It was however disappointing to read your comments regarding our menu offerings and your service experience. With regard to our culinary offerings, our menu can be considered American cuisine with a Jamaican flare in addition to providing a somewhat familiar dining experience for some of our visitors who wish for a taste of home. From a pricing standpoint, we employ a model which is based on regular analysis of our competitors as well as similar concepts within our market to provide the best value perception possible. With regard to your service experience, we wish to assure you that what occurred is neither a true reflection of our high service standards nor a part of our operational culture. Your comments have been shared with our team for immediate improvement, and we will also re-evaluate our training regimes. Thank you again for visiting, and we hope that you will give us a chance in the near future to extend to you the true Margaritaville experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tasty food, drinks and fun in the sun all in one place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went here twice...the first day was on a Wednesday when the cruise ship was in port. There was all sorts of entertainment and vendors. (The only complaint is the vendor that does the braiding didn't do a very good job...my daughter was very disappointed. The braids were sticking straight up from her head, they looked like antennaes. we took them out when we went back to our hotel. I am just sorry that my daughter wasted her money that she was saving for this. She is 11 years old.) We didn't know they had a slide so we decided to go back again on Saturday. We stayed all day. We had so much fun. It wasn't as crowded as the first time. We swam, ate and drank all day. They have the best nachos we have ever had!!! The cheeseburgers are excellent!!! The water is so clear you can see all the way to the bottom. The slide is killer, but be prepared to shot out of it...so cool!!! Great time...will be going back when we visit Jamaica again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for visiting us not once but twice! We really appreciate you taking the time to stop by and also for writing this review. We always love to hear from you and any issues you might have had so that we can continuously improve (and we'll share your comments with the vendors as well). We are very happy you decided to come back another day and experience the awesome food and beverage offerings. The water slide is an awesome feature and we are happy we didn't disappoint. We cannot wait for you to visit again and look forward to serving you a cold margarita and a great time on our slide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Delicious Margarita - Pushy Salesmen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Upon each visit to Montego Bay, we try to make a stop at Margaritaville to enjoy a beverage and the atmosphere. I've always had a pleasant time and looked forward to it. A recent visit was less enjoyable than in the past. The persistence of a couple of the staff there trying to sell us souvenir cups and photos rivaled some of Jamaica's most pushy vendors. At one point, I felt as if we were involved in an infomercial for the souvenir cup as the seller pointed out each wonderful aspect of the cup. The cup was nice, but we were just there to enjoy a drink and the atmosphere and the 'hard sell' of that and the photo were turn offs. I'm not sure if it was coincidence or not, but the service seemed less attentive after we refused to buy the souvenir cup (I could be wrong on this, but the service was slow and the place was not that busy). I generally refrain from writing negative reviews, but this bothered me. I do know if I'll return. The margarita was delicious though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for visiting and for your feedback. We apologize for not providing the Margaritaville experience that you have become used to having visited us in the past. We believe in a hassle free, "no pressure, no problem" environment where our guests can enjoy our offerings at their own leisure, and your comments make it apparent that we failed to deliver on this. We have shared your feedback with our team for review, in addition to taking a look at our current training methods for improvement. We sincerely hope that you will choose to visit us again despite your experience, and thank you for visiting.

Sheldon Falconer
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Ga
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Margaritaville Jamaician style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Enjoyed the cold beer, food was very good, deck in the sun, and view, the water slide was awesome. Fun outing!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MvilleCarib, Social Media Coordinator at Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and also for this awesome review. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our food and beverage offerings. We take pride in making our customers happy and this review shows us we are doing a good job. Please stop by again, there is always more fun waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville also viewed

 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.