We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU, Montego Bay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Montego Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mahoe Bay - Ironshore P.O | Montego Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #25 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RIU, Montego Bay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is essentially an all-inclusive resort, but not high-end. This place is geared for those doing their vaca on the cheap. If you like good beer, good wine, higher-end food and a more relaxed setting, skip this place. The Ritz and the Hilton are MUCH better choices.

After our three-day layover, we tired of the din of the airport departures (The RIU is literally next to the departure end of runway), blasting music from the pool bar, and cafeteria-style meals.

The nice rooms are the ocean front units. They're larger suites. Anything else, are a bit dark and small (we switched after the first night, so we saw both).

Pluses, good swimming beach.

Room Tip: Upper floor in Building 5. Ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,042
    1,222
    763
    345
    196
See reviews for
895
1467
64
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon. Even for just a fun trip (instead of romantic) we still wouldn't go back. The place was so crowded and the people were rude! The pool was always so crowded and everyone reserved a space that you couldn't even get a chair unless you got to the pool before they opened in the morning, stood in line and reserved a seat like everyone else, which you weren't supposed to do- against the rules! They had a kid pool, but none of the kids were in the kid pool they were all at the adult pool and at the swim up bar!

EVERYTHING is a buffet and you HAVE to make reservations FIRST thing when you get to the resort or you won't be eating until 9:30pm. There is no room service or elevators (unless requested). My husband and I were on the 3rd floor originally, after carrying our luggage all the way up the stairs, our deposit box was broken so they had to move us to a different room....thankfully on the first floor, but when we asked where the elevator was they informed us the "didn't have one" so we had to carry our luggage back down.

Nothing was very clean, and the rooms were poor...could have been cleaner and nicer for a resort. It's definitely worth the extra money to go to a different resort in Jamaica.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was a girls trip to celebrate our 40th Birthday. Our trip was from September 26 - October 3, 2012. Our stay was All Inclusive.

Check in: When we arrived to the hotel we were greeted with a cocktail. I don't drink alcohol (I know I'm not the norm) but it would of been nice to have an option of a non - alcoholic beverage being offered. When checking in, the front desk staff was extremely nice. We asked to be placed on a higher level floor because of some of the past reviews regarding thefts. We arrived to the room, which was on the 3rd level (no elevator) in our building. We didn't have to take our luggage to the room because the bellman brought our bags up. When we left, we did have to carry our bags down 3 flights of stairs.

Accommodations:: The room was nice and had a safe in the closet. The bed was comfortable and we had (3) full size beds in our room but we only had (2) people in the room. With that being said, the room was still spacious. Outside on the balcony, there is an area designed to hang your wet clothing. For you drinkers, the bar area in the room was stocked with (3) alcohol dispensers and beers in the room refrigerator. For us non drinkers, there was plenty of water and soda. They refill your frig every other day. There also is a combination tub and shower with great water pressure and an excellent supply of hot water.

Maintenance:There was an issue with ants inside our room and a missing lamp shade. We had to call twice to get someone to come to the room but after the 2nd request someone was knocking on our door within 10 mins.

Wifi: Horrible.... The hotel gives 2 hrs a day free wifi but you have to be in the hotel lobby and you have to use it all at once or your out of luck. You can purchase a calling card for $25 and pay a transaction fee of $3.00 every time you use the card..... WTH! I think the card gives you 15 mins of talk time. Don't even think about getting an international app because they block the app, so your forced to use their options.

Food: This place serves the best Jerk Chicken. There is a beach hut that cooks it and its outstanding!! The rest of the food at the various resturants is just okay. There is plenty of food but just not enough quality food. There is one buffet Resturant there which is located closer to the front of the hotel had a better selection and quality than the resturants that they make you make resevations for. If you are a late night eater and snacker like I am, make sure you either bring snacks from home or take o bring some plastic ziplock bags to hoard food from the buffet or preferably the jerk chicken hut (lol). I think the last Resturant closes at 10pm.

The Pool: The hotel will supply you with a towel key card. In order to get a towel at the pool, you have to provide your towel key card and they will give you a towel. When u return the towel they will give you a key card back. The (2) pool were nice. The main pool had some visible damage to pool tiles that needed to repaired and replaced. Some area had missing tiles. There is a swim up bar with bar seats inside the pool. There are a couple of jacuzzi within the main pool. Everyday there are pool activities that will keep you laughing at intoxicated people trying to dance (hilarious), make sure you stake out a good seat at least 30 mins before.

Beach: the hotel is not sitting on the best part of the beach. The water isn't as clear and it had a lot of rocks and mushy seaweed. But the view is very nice. A day trip to Ocho Rios can help with the disappointed beach.

Activities: There is beach volleyball that the hotel staff participates in (this was great), there is paddle boats, kayaking, booze cruise that includes snorkeling. Make sure you bring some of your alcohol, water, and sodas from your room refrigerator because there is little booze that they supply on board . Try to get booked on the catamaran instead of a regular boat (this will make your experience so ugh better. We laced out of the net park of the catamaran while traveling to our snorkel spot (bring your own snorkel equipment) but they do supply used ones. Also bring bread pieces to fed the fish. After snorkeling the boat, took you to Margaritaville where there is a huge water slide into the ocean and a huge trampoline in the water. You can play on that or head to local stores for shopping.

There is an on site club that opens at 10:00. The DJ is good. The outside clubs like Margaritaville was extremely crowded and you have to deal with a mixture of tourist and locals. The smoking of marijuana is prevelant at the outside clubs in Jamaica. So if that bothers you, then go to the club a your hotel.

Shopping: there are good shopping deals to the stores just a 5 min walk outside of the hotel. Go during the day if you decide to walk and do not go alone. You may be approached to be taken to another shopping center in a different location, but just say no thank you. If your cab ride is not organized by the hotel then my advise is not to go. Also, you will find better liquor deals at the airport (who would of thought) when we were leaving Jamaica we found that there liquor prices were 2-7 dollars cheaper than the other tourist spots in the city. In addition they will box the liquor for you to carry on.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if your concerned with security. We didn't have any security problems whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My 19 year old daughter and I just returned from the Riu and other than the beach being a bit small, I have nothing but great things to say about this resort. On arrival (about noon) the check-in was a breeze and we didn't have to wait for our room. All the staff we met were exceptional and very accomodating. The jerk chicken was amazing. The a la carte restaurants were very good as was the buffet! We had a wonderful vacation and I would highly recommend this resort. I was a little apprehensive when reading the reviews before going as there were some negatives, but some people are hard to please i guess.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This resort adds up to everything I expected of it.. The food was great, the Jerk Hut is "AMAZING", long line, but worth it.. The entertainment never bored, and the beach and grounds were perfect. Smaller beach than what I've been use to, I think "man-made", but very nice.. I would totally go back :) Oh, and LOVED the bars in the rooms.. Always stocked ;)

Only complaint I had was the fact that my air conditioning broke one night and it was very damp in my room... But, it got fixed the next day and everything else made up for it..

I would definitley recommend a trip to Rick's Cafe to jump off the cliff. Long drive, but great day. Beautiful countryside..

Good times.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a really fabulous holiday at Montego Bay Riu, the room was lovely, extremely clean and spacious. My husband loved the optics, especially the fact they were replenished regularly. The whole hotel was very clean and the staff really helpful. The beach was well kept and every morning we saw members of staff disinfecting beach beds. The food was varied and of good quality, although the Italian Restaurant let us down as the main course was cool, almost cold.

We enjoyed the two large pools and good entertainment, quality drinks and service.

Overall all can highly recommend this hotel and being so close to the airport means you are ready to start your holiday 10 minutes after getting to the coach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned last week excellent hotel the the food is very good people how complain about the food must be very picky eaters the range of food is enormous. Very large nice swimming pool depth 4ft 6 all around maybe a little to deep for children the beach is nice but small and man made when you walk into water the first 10 ft is nice then weed and thick squelchy mud not very nice this is the only thing that spoilt this hotel we have been to all the riu in Jamaica and the one with the best beach is in negril all staff very friendly night time entertainment was good most nights but no live singing it is all miming to records all in all this was a good holiday.
Metal

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Montego Bay

Address: Mahoe Bay - Ironshore P.O | Montego Bay, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Montego Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Opening September 2008 * Located in Montego Bay, on Jamaica's northwest coast * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 2-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * Surrounded by 40,000 m2 / 47,840 sq. yards of lush gardens * 4.5 km / 2.8 miles from Montego Bay * 350 m / 114.8 ft from various shops * 2,7 km / 1.7 miles from Montego Bay airport * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Montego Bay Resort
Riu Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.