We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay in New Kingston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Knutsford Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Knutsford Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A good place to stay in New Kingston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I could not fault this hotel really. It is clean modern with all the facilities of a good hotel. Service was generally good throughout. Staff were competent and always ready to help. Wireless internet is available throughout. The signal is marginal in some rooms, but there are also wired connections in the rooms.

The hotel has a perfectly acceptable swimming pool. Certainly well above average for a city centre hotel. The restaurant served good food, although the menu is a little limited of you are staying on a long business trip as I was.

All in all, I would be very happy to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    99
    61
    29
    14
See reviews for
36
36
43
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown,Guyana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a hotel in the heart of the uptown business district, New Kingston. It is fairly standard but on well-kept grounds. The room I stayed in was a standard on, a bit on the small side but comfortable enough. The food is reasonably good but there are other nearby eating places anyway. I didn't have any complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Knutsford was conveniently located in the heart of new Kingston. The staff were courteous and friendly. The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious and handy before dashing off to meetings in the morning. My only gripe was with the internet, which could be unreliable at times due to a weak signal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As a first time guest to the hotel I think the front desk staff needs to educate the guest about a few things that might help to improve the stay. Such as where not to place your room key card so as not to deactivate the strip. How to access the rooms by the pool area if it is raining so as to avoid from getting wet. Two other points to note... The wifi service is very weak as I constantly had to open my window and stuck my hand outside for my ipad to pick up. Hotel staff would walk right pass me while I am holding my sleeping baby with bags in hand and trying to access the main door. Overall despite these things my stay was a good one.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Comfortable stay, courteious staff, housekeeping very friendly and made sure I was happy. If you want to enjoy a great breakfast they serve a good one that is included with the room, continental, fresh and good service by the waitress clearing the table. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy more of the amentities, was a relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Get the standard room, not a big difference in the supreme room if you ask me for value, plus the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a lovely, serene, immaculately clean hotel. The staff provides outstanding service. Here is an example: on the first morning of our stay, my husband ate breakfast at the onsite restaurant and placed an order for my breakfast to be delivered to our room. On every morning thereafter, without being prompted, the waiter asked my husband if he would like them to prepare my breakfast and deliver it to our room. And every morning's breakfast was slightly different, with different fruits, different flavours of yogurt, and different breads. We liked everything about the Knutsford Court Hotel, and would definitely stay there again. The only tiny drawback, from our point of view, was the lack of elevators. When you check in, unless you are going to have a ground floor room, do ask for a bellman to carry your luggage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almonte, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first visit to the Knutsford for an all too brief stay of two nights. Our room with balcony was on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard--not large but with good comfortable beds and a clean new bathroom with shower. After a long drive from the north coast and a busy day of appointments the following day, it was a joy to spend our two evenings dining al fresco on Jamaican cuisine. The stars, toe-nail moon and tropical breezes made for delightful evening. The continental breakfast was a nice surprise since it included hot breakfast sausages and callaloo quiche as well as the usual fruit and a variety of breads and muffins. The proximity to the New Kingston business area made the hotel easily accessible from the main thoroughfares and the ample secure parking was very much appreciated. Staff were pleasant and service was top-notch. More great memories . .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knutsford Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.