We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Knutsford Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Knutsford Court Hotel to your Saves list
The Knutsford Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kingston
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While visiting Kingston, we recently stayed at the Knutsford so we had a good home base in the middle of everything. We loved the location and found it safe and in walking distance to restaurants and stores in New Kingston and a short drive to the water and other areas in and around Kingston. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. The a/c worked too well and I found, if anything, it was a bit too cold in certain areas of the hotel. The restaurant was always freezing but I learned to wear jeans and enjoyed the continental breakfast provided every morning. We also had a nice dinner one night at the hotel restaurant. The staff were very helpful and check in and check out was quick and easy. Finally, me and my partner both had some work we had to do one morning and the free wi-fi and set up of the room was great for dealing with emergency business matters. The one complaint I would make is that the room is no where near soundproof and you can hear everything going on next door to you or in the hallway. This did not adversly affect our stay but if you are a light sleeper and have noisy neighbours, it could be a problem. For us, the stay met all our expectations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    125
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
48
47
51
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful Experience :) Oh sure a person could "pick" or "compare" but, come on, it's Kingston JA, all the staff were amazing, friendly, helpful and really great to deal with, the room was clean, the food was great, and the respect shown was also received ten fold. If you would like to experience Kingston in a safe, friendly environment then this Hotel is for you. I will be returning as soon as I can. To All Staff - Take really good care, be safe, healthy & happy, I miss you all so much, hope to see you very soon, Karen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Three friends and I stayed in room 2230 and 2232 last week. We got two double beds in our room as requested. The room has a balcony overlooking part of the car park towards the restaurant and was very quiet. We were hardly in the room so the view hardly mattered. The room was comfortable though it had a musty smell.

If you have a physical disability you may prefer a ground floor room as the hotel does not appear to have elevators. The rooms we stayed in were accessible only by climbing four (&1/2) flights of stairs.
There is no wifi in the rooms. We were told that there was wifi in the public areas but on my ipad I could never pick up a signal. I had no laptop with me so I couldn't check to see if I could get a signal on that. There is, however, ethernet internet connections in all the rooms.

What appeared to be the only electrical socket in the room had been pulled out of the wall and the wires were exposed. Hopefully this will be fixed before the next guest is assigned to the room.

I was happy that the bathroom window overlooked a mostly empty and quiet parking lot as the window was a bit low and had see through curtains.

If you are a vegan you will have a challenge with the complimentary breakfast, "The Sunrise Breakfast" served between 6:30am -10:00am. The buffet consisted of bacon and scrambled eggs, raisin bran, cornflakes, milk, coffee, chocolate cupcakes, toast, honeydew melon, water melon and cantaloupe. When we got there at 8:30 the fruits available were very sparse although about an hour later the cantaloupe plate was refreshed.
There is a regular menu from which you may order Jamaican or the usual breakfast fare at a cost.
Dinner at the Hotel's restaurant, The Melting Pot is good.

The hotel has a pool, gym and a guest laundromat.
Checkin is 3pm and checkout is at 12noon. The housekeepers come to clean rooms at 8:00am sharp. :)
All in all the rooms were comfortable and appeared clean. The hotel is very centrally located and very easy to find. The rate we got was very good and I believe we got value for money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the parking lot. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiswick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We moved here after spending a night in a B&B without managing to get much sleep because of road noise combined with dogs etc. so we were hoping for a quiet place to rest our heads. We were not disappointed. Sure if we wanted to find things wrong we could have found some, but the only thing that really let it down was the breakfast. Self service buffet was included in the price, it was perfectly adequate but in comparison to the rest of the experience it fell short. The staff were really helpful and ultra polite, clean room, very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Recently stayed as part of a business trip for just one night after staying at a few other hotels as part of the trip hence ended up making a mental comparison. Overall its a sprawling property and has the potential to be a top rung hotel. Rooms are clean without being amazing - lacks now commonplace amenities like coffee maker with coffee/condiments, complimentary water bottles, bath tub. Staff courteous but lack the warmth and smile I experienced in other hotels in Jamaica. Restaurant lacks variety on the menu card. Overall for the price charged, there are better hotels around, but they have the right location and huge real estate - an effort to renovate, replan and relaunch may not be such a bad idea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

On a touring holiday, we were recommended this hotel as a safe and decent place to spend a couple of nights in Kingston en route to somewhere else. It was adequate for this purpose. It was away from traffic noise and crowds, had a secure car park, OK identikit rooms and pleasant landscaped courtyard, but it utterly lacked character or charm. The people at the front desk were disengaged, the food at the restaurant was a mediocre and over-priced attempt at international cuisine, there was noise from the corridor at night, information on attractions, tours, etc. was virtually non-existent, and the swimming pool was very small and overlooked on all sides (on the way to/from bar and restaurant, inter alia - not the place for a middle-aged woman to swim lengths). The establishment's main business seems to be day conferences or visiting groups, and independent travellers do not seem to be valued. I would not choose it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was at the Knutsford in the first week of November for a business trip and the staff really helped make everything come so well without any hitches. Mr. Curry (not sure if it's the right spelling) and team really did a fantastic job with helping so many of us (Canadian school representatives) get setup for our big fair. Then there was the staff at the Melting Pot who went above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable dining experience. This was my second trip to Knutsford and I'd definitely go back just because of how great the staff was to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.6 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#2 of 23 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 23 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.8 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Four Seasons
Hotel Four Seasons
#10 of 23 in Kingston
3.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#8 of 23 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knutsford Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.