We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Knutsford Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Knutsford Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Knutsford Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Three friends and I stayed in room 2230 and 2232 last week. We got two double beds in our room as requested. The room has a balcony overlooking part of the car park towards the restaurant and was very quiet. We were hardly in the room so the view hardly mattered. The room was comfortable though it had a musty smell.

If you have a physical disability you may prefer a ground floor room as the hotel does not appear to have elevators. The rooms we stayed in were accessible only by climbing four (&1/2) flights of stairs.
There is no wifi in the rooms. We were told that there was wifi in the public areas but on my ipad I could never pick up a signal. I had no laptop with me so I couldn't check to see if I could get a signal on that. There is, however, ethernet internet connections in all the rooms.

What appeared to be the only electrical socket in the room had been pulled out of the wall and the wires were exposed. Hopefully this will be fixed before the next guest is assigned to the room.

I was happy that the bathroom window overlooked a mostly empty and quiet parking lot as the window was a bit low and had see through curtains.

If you are a vegan you will have a challenge with the complimentary breakfast, "The Sunrise Breakfast" served between 6:30am -10:00am. The buffet consisted of bacon and scrambled eggs, raisin bran, cornflakes, milk, coffee, chocolate cupcakes, toast, honeydew melon, water melon and cantaloupe. When we got there at 8:30 the fruits available were very sparse although about an hour later the cantaloupe plate was refreshed.
There is a regular menu from which you may order Jamaican or the usual breakfast fare at a cost.
Dinner at the Hotel's restaurant, The Melting Pot is good.

The hotel has a pool, gym and a guest laundromat.
Checkin is 3pm and checkout is at 12noon. The housekeepers come to clean rooms at 8:00am sharp. :)
All in all the rooms were comfortable and appeared clean. The hotel is very centrally located and very easy to find. The rate we got was very good and I believe we got value for money. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the parking lot. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    97
    60
    29
    14
See reviews for
36
36
43
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiswick
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We moved here after spending a night in a B&B without managing to get much sleep because of road noise combined with dogs etc. so we were hoping for a quiet place to rest our heads. We were not disappointed. Sure if we wanted to find things wrong we could have found some, but the only thing that really let it down was the breakfast. Self service buffet was included in the price, it was perfectly adequate but in comparison to the rest of the experience it fell short. The staff were really helpful and ultra polite, clean room, very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Ask about an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Recently stayed as part of a business trip for just one night after staying at a few other hotels as part of the trip hence ended up making a mental comparison. Overall its a sprawling property and has the potential to be a top rung hotel. Rooms are clean without being amazing - lacks now commonplace amenities like coffee maker with coffee/condiments, complimentary water bottles, bath tub. Staff courteous but lack the warmth and smile I experienced in other hotels in Jamaica. Restaurant lacks variety on the menu card. Overall for the price charged, there are better hotels around, but they have the right location and huge real estate - an effort to renovate, replan and relaunch may not be such a bad idea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

On a touring holiday, we were recommended this hotel as a safe and decent place to spend a couple of nights in Kingston en route to somewhere else. It was adequate for this purpose. It was away from traffic noise and crowds, had a secure car park, OK identikit rooms and pleasant landscaped courtyard, but it utterly lacked character or charm. The people at the front desk were disengaged, the food at the restaurant was a mediocre and over-priced attempt at international cuisine, there was noise from the corridor at night, information on attractions, tours, etc. was virtually non-existent, and the swimming pool was very small and overlooked on all sides (on the way to/from bar and restaurant, inter alia - not the place for a middle-aged woman to swim lengths). The establishment's main business seems to be day conferences or visiting groups, and independent travellers do not seem to be valued. I would not choose it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was at the Knutsford in the first week of November for a business trip and the staff really helped make everything come so well without any hitches. Mr. Curry (not sure if it's the right spelling) and team really did a fantastic job with helping so many of us (Canadian school representatives) get setup for our big fair. Then there was the staff at the Melting Pot who went above and beyond to make sure we had an enjoyable dining experience. This was my second trip to Knutsford and I'd definitely go back just because of how great the staff was to me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was booked into this hotel by a business associate and we are still talking - but just. Actually, the room was plain but clean. The bed was comfortable. There was no WiFi but an ethernet cable was available and worked well. You will need to buy bottled water from the kiosk beside the front desk. There was a constant mechanical noise from outside the window but it was constant. Noise from the corridor was above average. Water pressure in the shower is low and the temp is warm - but bearable, you just won't get 'hot'. The hotel pool is small but it was open early for lengths. The hotel restaurant serves a limited hot breakfast (included). I had dinner with a colleague. Entrees were tasty, but portions were a bit skimpy and missing a vegetable side. Service was very slow. Walking about is not recommended in this area and there are no nearby shops. All in all, no 'disasters' but you can do better for the money.

Room Tip: Room facing the front of the hotel may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at the Knutsford Court Hotel 2 weeks ago and found it OK. My room was clean and the cable had good choices...and that is about it. The Internet access was hit or miss. The wireless didn't work in my room. I had to go to the lobby to access the wireless. The wireline access was slow and unacceptable for doing any voice communication.

I had the breakfast buffet....pass on it. If you're hungry it won't satisfy and you pay too much for what you get. There are no places within walking distance for eating alternatives.

Outside my window was an obnoxiously loud fan system which prevented me from getting into a REM sleep the whole week..

The price was reasonable, but I would look much harder for an alternative next time I go to Jamaica

Room Tip: ask to not be by the ridiculously loud fan outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Knutsford Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knutsford Court Hotel

Address: 16 Chelsea Avenue, Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Knutsford Court Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knutsford Court Hotel offers the best of both worlds, whether traveling for business of leisure. A selection of standard, superior, junior suites, one bedroom suites and two bedroom townhouses surrounding a lush garden courtyard with complimentary buffet breakfast daily. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wired and wireless internet access, 24-hour business centre and free private gym. Meeting and events are our forte with a choice of 7 function rooms with the largest seating 500. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Knutsford Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knutsford Court Kingston
Hotel Knutsford Court
The Knutsford Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Knutsford Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.