We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forres Park Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forres Park Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Forres Park Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Forres Park Resort & Spa
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Mavis Bank | Blue Mountain, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Kingston B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Forres Park Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very nice! Great place to stay if you want a base for birding around Blue Mountain. Extraordinary staff, beautiful room, great food. Nicolette and Shanique were amazing - interesting to talk to, very knowledgable about the area. Jamaican food is served on the patio and was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
24
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood,PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent two nights at Forres Park in Mavis Bank, Jamaica. It is situated in a lovely mountain setting with stunning views of the Blue Mountains. Birds abound! Many of the birds endemic to Jamaica can be found here or nearby. Some warblers and hummingbirds are likely to appear while you’re eating in the outdoor restaurant. We had time constraints so we were unable to take advantage of the guided birding tours available. We did take a nice long hike on the property.

Everything is very clean and attractive. The staff was remarkable for their warmth and complete professionalism. Joel, the chef, was a good cook and prepared a varied and distinctive menu. The fresh fruit he gathered for us one morning from the property was a real treat. Nicollet, our concierge, did everything to ensure we had a comfortable stay and an easy departure. Nicollet helped with our transportation needs and looked after us in the nicest ways.

Forres Park can be an all inclusive experience, or a traveler can take a short walk and enjoy the little town of Mavis Bank. We would recommend Forres Park to others.

Room Tip: In the less expensive room, check to see if the mosquito netting fits the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a pampering, informative, memorable experience! The staff, the location, the BIRDS! Sit on the deck and watch the birds fly into the trees around you. Sleep soundly in the crisp mountain air. Take a hike into the mountains. Eat specially prepared Jamaican recipes. A totally delightful trip for a true nature lover!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Deep in Jamaica's Blue Mountains you will find a retreat like no other. Set amidst tropical gardens, a chalet styled guesthouse awaits your arrival. Our pretty room (#5) with it's 4 poster bed and private bathroom, along with our own balcony was "Home away from Home". After a delicious meal we could wander the properties nature trail or take in the spectacular mountain views from either of the other 2 huge balconies. A gameroom was also available. The guesthouse staff was welcoming and accommodating in every way possible. We arrived as strangers and said our "farewells" as friends. Venture through the magical Blue Mountains and make your stay at Forres Park. You will believe this paradise is all your own.....for you have found "Journey's End". Gail Wright Minnesota, USA.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent seven days and nights here enjoying the peace and quiet of the Blue Mountains. I like tropical islands but prefer the interiors to the beach.This resort, located near the trails to Blue Mountain Peak, is rustic but luxurious with an extremely attentive and friendly staff, comfortable sitting areas including a wonderful second floor verandah with views of the major peaks of the Blue Mountain range, yet surrounded by gardens with a wide variety of Jamaica's endemic bird species ever present. The resort is an active coffee farm and is near a coffee processing factory which is refreshingly low-tech and thoroughly interesting to tour. The resort can arrange hiking tours as well as birdwatching trips. Food is fantastic. The kitchen can fix all continental /American standards if you insist, but the joy of staying here is the Jamaican cuisine in all of its variety-most of the fruits and veggies are locally sourced and can't be any fresher. Local rums are especially good. It's for nature lovers only-it's a long hour's drive to Kingston, so no shopping in the area except for very basic items. Hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: All rooms have a small private balcony, but 2nd floor rooms are quieter with superior views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Forres Park for 5 nights at the start of a combined birdwatching/ relaxing/ sightseeing tour arranged in the UK through Mot Mot Travel.. Arriving later than expected the taxi driver had been given the menu, our order was phoned through and a meal waiting for us when we arrived. The next morning we woke to amazing views of the Blue Mountains from our bedroom window. Meals were taken at The Roost, a dining deck overlooking the forest, a fruiting tree ensured plenty of birds! It was here that we were able to chat to all the friendly staff, everyone was so helpful, The food was locally sourced and delicious. it was a fantastic welcome to Jamaica - not only for the friendliness and hospitality but also the staff had been studying the birds and were able to help us find different species. There are trails on the property, our favourite was through the coffee plantations - many birds and good views of the mountains. We also had a couple of trips with a Bird Guide, Linden. Our driver, Colin found his way through the maze of tracks to Cinchona Gardens and we also visited the 'Old Mine Trail' We were able to see many of the endemic birds in this area. We miss the happy smiles of Nicolette, Shanique, Joel and Shirley, and wish them well, We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We liked everything about Forres Park. The staff was wonderful. The service excellence. The food was faboulous. They pick fruits and vegetable from their yard. We have been really cared for, and we are looking forward to go back.

Room Tip: The cabins are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Forres Park Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forres Park Resort & Spa

Address: Mavis Bank | Blue Mountain, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Forres Park Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forres Park Resort 60 acre coffee plantation is the ideal base for exploring the Blue Mountains. There are several choices in accommodation. From exquisite suites with four poster king size beds with private baths and private balconies with mountain views, fridge and other amenities. In addition, we have standard rooms and cabins which are tastefully decorated with antique four poster beds of varying sizes.There is an out-door dining room, overlooking the swaying bamboos, banana trees and the many coffee plants bursting with beans,with dishes to suit your taste.We offer tours of the Blue Mountains including trips to the Peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Forres Park Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forres Park Resort And Spa
Forres Park Hotel Kingston
Forres Park Resort & Spa Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forres Park Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.