We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moon Hill is a welcome stop at the end of the road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Hill

Save Saved
You added Moon Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Hill
5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Breakfast on us
Ranked #2 of 14 Kingston B&B and Inns
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Moon Hill is a welcome stop at the end of the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Moon  Hill has fabulous food, excellent service, an excellent wi-fi signal and it is very well situated. We stayed in the pool house and rested comfortably under the mosquito netted four poster bed. Multi-lingual Oliver was a wealth of information and interesting trivia. Mozel tov to the Jamaican Jewish lunch (pepper jelly is finger lickin' good!).Omar prepared a scrumptious curried fish and the blueberry pancakes with real maple syrup are well worth a splurge. Last but not least, endless locally grown coffee and limeade made with amber sugar are made to perfection. Solar heated hot water, gravity controlled water flow, and avocados and mangos picked from the property, show Oliver's  commitment to ecologically sound business practises. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast nestled in the foothills of Jamaica's Blue Mountains. 

Room Tip: Pool house is tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was so fabulous. Seldom does Villa location get such high marks for their food but Oliver delivered and exceeded our expectations. Lovely property, maintained grounds, comfortable, well furnished rooms and an in property pool that was quiet and peaceful. Tucked in the hills of the Blue Mountains, you can't help but take in the stunning view of Kingston and the sea. The bonus was the freshly prepared meals with excellent quality ingredients that were presented with the flair of a seasoned chef. Hat's off Oliver, well done!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Beautiful location. It was really easy to get anywhere in Kingston. The staff was friendly and had great suggestions for places to go. The food was excellent! Highly recommend the Jamaican Italy breakfast. We rented the pool house which was great. Very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend staying here, we have travelled all over Jamaica and this is one of the best places we've stayed. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Kingston's chaotic, Moon Hill's chill. Move at your own pace, decide how much or little service and pampering you want. There's music if you want, but a peaceful, quiet sleep away from the hustle & bustle of the urb. The food's fantastic -- I recommend the Ital breakfast with soursop & papaya juice -- home made to order. Great views of the bay, a nice pool area, and beautiful birds and garden are a plus. The crew are down to Earth and real -- no stuffy hotel service here. All in all, it's no Best Western... it's more like a relaxing home stay than a hotel, and if that's the way you roll this is the place to find your groove.

Room Tip: If you're going as a couple get the pool house or master bedroom, for singles the other rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous time at Moon Hill for our honeymoon. When we arrived at our pool house room our bed was festooned with fresh flowers from the grounds. The location is great for those who want easy access to citylife in Kingston but would like a quiet place to rest. The cab fare to and from the guesthouse to points of interest in the city is well worth it. The grounds are lovely, lush gardens and rustic decor in a nice neighborhood. The food was fantastic! Fresh, tasty, and prepared around our schedule. One of the best parts of staying at Moon Hill was meeting the staff. They could not have been more helpful and fun to get to know.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the pool house in January and had a mixed experience of the place.
First the inside : the bed area is nice, confortable and clean with beautiful sheets and a brand new mosquito net, the sitting area is also clean and confortable with cable TV, wifi and even a nice stereo equipment.
Considering the prices of accomodation in Jamaica, we thought the bathrooms were surprisingly disappointing compare to other countries so this one is average but clean.
The real atmosphere breaker in the pool house is the useless (no equipment at all) kitchen with old damaged cupboard doors, which need to be taken away asap.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the meals are delicious and the panorama overlooking Kingston is very nice. The owner is clearly not a professional in hospitality but he tries hard and will do everything to meet his guests whishes.
Our biggest problem ended up to be the dogs. Not because of their presence, as we love animals but because of the barking at night. When we've been asked upon arrival if we had problems with them being around, we didn't know it woud mean they were gonna ruin our night ! They stayed around the bungalow and barked at anything, anytime. That's a noise we have a hard time coping with. Needless to say we were quite cranky in the morning...
We would more recommend the place to younger people and advise to enquire about locking the dogs at night.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moonhillja, Manager at Moon Hill, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Dear Beatriz & Dominique,
We regret that you did not find peaceful rest at Moon Hill as we pride ourselves on providing just that. Indeed dogs can be a two-edged sword, but unfortunately it is a trade-off we must accept in a city like Kingston where we do our best to balance comfort with security. It is in fact quite uncommon for the dogs to bother our guests to such a degree as they typically don't bark unless somehow provoked and I do wish you had called my attention to the matter as soon as you noted a problem given we have staff on property at all hours. As for the cabinets in the pool house, you are absolutely correct in noting they are by no means luxurious and could use replacement. We intend to upgrade said cabinets as soon as possible. At the same time, most guests overlook such details and focus on what the pool house does offer in terms of many other details you duly noted in your review. Regarding the lack of amenities like a coffee maker or a fridge, we provide our guests with 24-hour access to a modern and fully equipped kitchen, as well as offering insulated decanter with ice water in every room and any other beverages you could wish for can be delivered to your door at any time, so the lack of a coffee maker has never been an issue as we offer service to attend to any request at any time of day. As for my lack of experience in the hospitality industry, I find this to be an unsubstantiated slight and am a bit baffled at what the assertion is based on given my role as a travel writer for the past several years which has allowed me to experience and participate in the hospitality industry in several popular tourist destinations the world over. Nonetheless, I recognize there is always room for improvement and I appreciate your critique and will redouble my efforts to ensure that Moon Hill is the preferred place to rest for travelers of all kinds visiting Kingston.
Best Regards,
Oliver (manager, Moon Hill)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We needed a stopover for first night in Jamaica before travelling up to Port Antonio and we found this excellent guest house in the depths of Trip Advisor, which was a relief as the options in Kingston looked pricy and soulless.

The house is pretty, in a quiet residential area on the hill, with a lovely view over the City. The owner, Oliver, collected us from the airport and was full of information about the island, not surprising as he is the author of a really good guide to Jamaica (Moons).

We were well fed and Oliver accommodated our rather unusual requests (two rooms, as Mrs Uplifter only sleeps with the dead nowadays) with good humour and charm. The rooms are simple, but nice, and the facilities are fine. It was quiet and peaceful, apart from at one stage in the night when every dog in the city started off on one.

An excellent breakfast in the morning was followed by a swim in the very nice pool before heading north.

This is a great place and it deserves to succeed. I would definitely recommend it for a stopover or for a longer holiday in the capital.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill

Address: 5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon Hill in Kingston, Jamaica :::Nestled in the Blue Mountain foothills on the edge of town, Moon Hill offers the ultimate home away from home in a comfortable hillside villa boasting spectacular views of Kingston, a private pool and expansive gardens. Whether you're a visiting executive with chronic hotel fatigue, a family looking to experience the most memorable vacation, a yoga instructor seeking the perfect retreat, or a producer or musician needing a luxurious base with easy access to the best of Kingston's music and entertainment industry, this four-bedroom villa is the only accommodation option of its kind. Coupled with personal concierge services to cover any need, Moon Hill offers its guests all-exclusive accommodation. Moon Hill is also a great stop-off point for those visiting other parts of Jamaica who fly into or out of Kingston, where a night or two at the start or end of a trip can give visitors a taste of the best the capital city, Jamaica's Heartbeat, has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hill Hotel Kingston
Moon Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.