We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Hill

Save Saved
You added Moon Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Hill
5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Kingston B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at Moon hill for two nights, and it was such wonderful experience ! I had stayed with numerous hotels all over the world, Moon Hill gets A+ ! The hotel has an excellent view overlooking downtown Kingston and is surrounded by beautiful trees with flowers and fruit. The hotel had a beautiful pool and yard that we can take a stroke. We saw beautiful birds in the yard, too. The room was equipped with everything that we would like to have, and super clean. The fresh flowers were also in the room. The host was so kind and very considerate, and meals at the hotel blew my mind!! So delicious!
Excellent place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at Moon Hill for just under a week, and absolutely loved it. We had the pool house, which is more like a small apartment with a lounge/kitchen area, TV and music system, and opens up right onto the side of the pool. The bed was comfortable and the whole place was really clean.

The room itself was lovely, but the setting is spectacular - looking right over Kingston, and set in lush green hills. You can relax by the pool (which is a really good size) or in the rocking chairs on the veranda just taking it all in. Its extremely quiet and peaceful.

Its the service that really makes this place special though - Oliver, Migail and Troy all went out of their way to make sure we felt at home. We had several of the home-cooked meals in the evenings which were delicious and really good value. The breakfast is also amazing, and served outside on the veranda each morning. Plus there's an honesty bar, which is well stocked with spirits, beers and soft drinks. Oliver arranged transport for us, and Migail even drove us to a couple of places herself.

This was the last week of our honeymoon and I can't think of a nicer place to have spent it!

Room Tip: If possible, go for the Pool House - its a bigger space and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I visited this property for a nice getaway with friends. The property is gorgeous as it sits atop a luscious hill overlooking Kingston. Rooms are quaint and comfortable and service by the owner of the property is unmatched by any hotel. You’ll find both the personal touches of a home and the amenities of a hotel at this B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the poolhouse if available. Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramaribo, Suriname
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

as a journalist working in the Caribbean and living in Suriname, I visited so many hotels. This one is very special : I rented the house in front of the swimming pool. All around is a beautiful garden and in the distance, down the hills : Kingston. As a surprise, very special to meet the owner Oliver Hill, the author of the Jamaica (Moon series) Travelling Guide, like I did for the Caribbean Media Group about Suriname. Don't miss Moon Hill !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was in Kingston on business for one night and was looking for a more unique experience than a hotel. Moon Hill delivered on all fronts. Fantastic views of Kingston Bay from the top of a hill. A beautiful place to have a drink and watch the sun set. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is also a nice pool.
If you like the quiet it is ideal and in a short 10-15min taxi ride you can be in New Kingston or Barbican. Great Value and highly recommended. The propieter of the property is also an expert on Jamaica and its culture which helps add a trive of academic and cultural knowledge to the experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent our first 2 nights in Jamaica in Kingston, and our stay at Moon Hill was definitely a great start to this holiday. After a 15 minutes drive from the airport we arrived in this beautiful villa in between lush green hills and were surprised by a breathtaking view over the bay. The rooms are spacious, filled with bright sunlight, and there is a generous living area with dining room, not to forget a big terrace with hammocks and comfy chairs. Our breakfast: topped by fresh mango just picked in the garden! The swimming-pool is well maintained, and after breakfast we could relax at it surrounded by tropical rainforest. After all, we had the feeling being in our own private villa!
The owner is the person to ask about travel advice, knowing virtually everything about Kingston and the rest of the island, so we knew where to enjoy our jerk chicken, the vibrant nightlife and where to continue our Jamaican adventure. Definitely to recommend!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I've been a frequent guest at Moon Hill villa since it opened in 2009. I enjoyed waking up to beautiful sunny mornings, tropical birds and a nice breakfast ...everything done from scratch. My days are either filled with trips into the city or just chilling by the pool at Moon Hill that overlooks the beautiful city. At nights the concierge makes sure I am never bored whether its trips to the local clubs, restaurants or bars or dinner and music at Moon Hill. So whether you just want to relax or shake it with trips to clubs or sightseeing...I definitely recommend any and everyone to stay at Moon Hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill

Address: 5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon Hill in Kingston, Jamaica :::Nestled in the Blue Mountain foothills on the edge of town, Moon Hill offers the ultimate home away from home in a comfortable hillside villa boasting spectacular views of Kingston, a private pool and expansive gardens. Whether you're a visiting executive with chronic hotel fatigue, a family looking to experience the most memorable vacation, a yoga instructor seeking the perfect retreat, or a producer or musician needing a luxurious base with easy access to the best of Kingston's music and entertainment industry, this four-bedroom villa is the only accommodation option of its kind. Coupled with personal concierge services to cover any need, Moon Hill offers its guests all-exclusive accommodation. Moon Hill is also a great stop-off point for those visiting other parts of Jamaica who fly into or out of Kingston, where a night or two at the start or end of a trip can give visitors a taste of the best the capital city, Jamaica's Heartbeat, has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hill Hotel Kingston
Moon Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.