We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Hill

Save Saved
You added Moon Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moon Hill
5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gourmet Breakfast on us
Ranked #2 of 14 Kingston B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I visited this property for a nice getaway with friends. The property is gorgeous as it sits atop a luscious hill overlooking Kingston. Rooms are quaint and comfortable and service by the owner of the property is unmatched by any hotel. You’ll find both the personal touches of a home and the amenities of a hotel at this B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the poolhouse if available. Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paramaribo, Suriname
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

as a journalist working in the Caribbean and living in Suriname, I visited so many hotels. This one is very special : I rented the house in front of the swimming pool. All around is a beautiful garden and in the distance, down the hills : Kingston. As a surprise, very special to meet the owner Oliver Hill, the author of the Jamaica (Moon series) Travelling Guide, like I did for the Caribbean Media Group about Suriname. Don't miss Moon Hill !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I was in Kingston on business for one night and was looking for a more unique experience than a hotel. Moon Hill delivered on all fronts. Fantastic views of Kingston Bay from the top of a hill. A beautiful place to have a drink and watch the sun set. The rooms are spacious and clean and there is also a nice pool.
If you like the quiet it is ideal and in a short 10-15min taxi ride you can be in New Kingston or Barbican. Great Value and highly recommended. The propieter of the property is also an expert on Jamaica and its culture which helps add a trive of academic and cultural knowledge to the experience.

Room Tip: 2nd floor with a views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We spent our first 2 nights in Jamaica in Kingston, and our stay at Moon Hill was definitely a great start to this holiday. After a 15 minutes drive from the airport we arrived in this beautiful villa in between lush green hills and were surprised by a breathtaking view over the bay. The rooms are spacious, filled with bright sunlight, and there is a generous living area with dining room, not to forget a big terrace with hammocks and comfy chairs. Our breakfast: topped by fresh mango just picked in the garden! The swimming-pool is well maintained, and after breakfast we could relax at it surrounded by tropical rainforest. After all, we had the feeling being in our own private villa!
The owner is the person to ask about travel advice, knowing virtually everything about Kingston and the rest of the island, so we knew where to enjoy our jerk chicken, the vibrant nightlife and where to continue our Jamaican adventure. Definitely to recommend!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I've been a frequent guest at Moon Hill villa since it opened in 2009. I enjoyed waking up to beautiful sunny mornings, tropical birds and a nice breakfast ...everything done from scratch. My days are either filled with trips into the city or just chilling by the pool at Moon Hill that overlooks the beautiful city. At nights the concierge makes sure I am never bored whether its trips to the local clubs, restaurants or bars or dinner and music at Moon Hill. So whether you just want to relax or shake it with trips to clubs or sightseeing...I definitely recommend any and everyone to stay at Moon Hill.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We (3 people) went for a 4 weeks holiday to jamaica with the intention to stay at the north coast but also to visit the capital of the island. Searching for something special we came through friends contacts to this spot up in the cool and quiet hills of kingston, still only 5 to 10 minutes drive away from the main streets of the city. The view is amazing basically over the whole city to the waterfront and the keys! A beautiful garden was settled around a villa. A short visit became easily a 2 weeks stay.... It has a large living and a dining room with antique furnitures.The sleeping rooms were spacious, the roof terrace is fantastic to watch the sunsets, the kitchen is modern and offered anything we wished anytime. The pool and the sweet extern poolhouse are maintained and clean and where one of our favorite spots. Oliver, the extraordinary friendly and competent host of the place is a journalist and helped us to find things in and around town, a perfect tour guide as he writes books about the island!! He picked us fresh fruits for juices from the lush green garden anytime we were thirsty. Even our rental car found a place in the owners garage!!! Truly a real hidden jewel on a beautiful island!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Hill

Address: 5 Roedeen Close | Barbican Heights, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon Hill in Kingston, Jamaica :::Nestled in the Blue Mountain foothills on the edge of town, Moon Hill offers the ultimate home away from home in a comfortable hillside villa boasting spectacular views of Kingston, a private pool and expansive gardens. Whether you're a visiting executive with chronic hotel fatigue, a family looking to experience the most memorable vacation, a yoga instructor seeking the perfect retreat, or a producer or musician needing a luxurious base with easy access to the best of Kingston's music and entertainment industry, this four-bedroom villa is the only accommodation option of its kind. Coupled with personal concierge services to cover any need, Moon Hill offers its guests all-exclusive accommodation. Moon Hill is also a great stop-off point for those visiting other parts of Jamaica who fly into or out of Kingston, where a night or two at the start or end of a trip can give visitors a taste of the best the capital city, Jamaica's Heartbeat, has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Moon Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hill Hotel Kingston
Moon Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.