We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neita's Nest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Neita's Nest to your Saves list
Neita's Nest
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bridgemount, Stony Hill | Kingston 8, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We only got to spend one night in Kingston at Neita's Nest but wish we could've stayed longer! Accommodations were clean, lovely home, beautiful view! Sitting on the veranda was great. So was talking with our lovely hostess. I can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
You had me checking my calendar, Liz D. I was finding it hard to believe that it was only one day, what with our lovely conversations during which we talked about your experiences while touring our city.

Then I remembered!.

Yours was a well-planned, though brief visit to our city. You arrived early in the morning and maxed out before checking in. By the next day your itinerary was already planned for everything else you wanted to fill in before departing. Kudos to you, my seasoned travelers.

Yes, we had some good exchanges about so much more, and there is even more to see, do and share when you return. Glad you liked it enough...

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    30
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
43
32
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Spent some time over the Christmas holidays at Neita's Nest ,I can truly say it's one of my most memorable trip to Jamaica travelling back there since 1975.,the service is awesome ,hospitable and homely. IF you are marveled and fascinated by nature you will love Neita's Nest , my favorite spot is the verandah, there is something about the verandah once you sit there and gazed ahead you can't help but have a true sense and appreciation of mother nature.
It's a view that transcends you ,and don't be surprise if the birds ant the cool Jamaican breeze sends you off to sleep. I loved it " CHECK IT OUT"

Bentley Noteman
Palm Bay Florida

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Yes, Bentley, the verandah at Neita's Nest is everyone's favourite spot. Mine too! So, even though there is the option for indoor dining with its wall-to-wall, floor-to-ceiling windows that let in all the views, there is something about the verandah! Whether it is in the warmth of the morning sunshine, the chilly Christmas breeze at dinnertime, or when April brings afternoon showers, that's where sports writers choose to write, artists paint, bird watchers peer and the rest of us, we just chill.

We are just so happy that you felt right at home. Do come again, Bentley.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed at Neita's Nest for two nights in February. It was delightful...Neita was a lovely host, the breakfast was sublime, with a fabulous view to boot! Who could ask for anything more! Would most definitely highly recommend this lovely retreat to anybody staying in Kingston!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello BenHH33,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us in February. We do concur, the view is of tremendous beauty, so with that we try to keep the meals and the hosting on par.

Whenever you are again in Kingston, know that this is your home-away-from-home.

Cheers,
Mcihelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My family and our friends stayed at the charming Neitas Nest situated in the foothills of the Blue mountains, above Kingston for 3 nights in January. It was a fabulous setting !
Michelle Neita is the most gracious host you could imagine. She is determined to see that her guests have the very best Kingston experience. From the delicious Jamaican breakfast served on the balcony overlooking those lush green mountains to Michelle's thoughtful arrangements, to help us enjoy Kingston. Michelle's charming hospitality was so appreciated by us and her wealth of knowledge made for very interesting conversation.
Charmaine the housekeeper was lovely to us and her meals were the best we had in Jamaica. So authentic and delicious ! We had a wonderful stay at Neita's Nest and we were able to make friends with a lovely Jamaican family. You can't do that in a hotel ! Thank you so much Michelle and Charmaine for such a special experience !
I highly recommend Neita's Nest to all. You will be delighted !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
AKJohnston2014, Hello to you and yours all the way in Melbourne, Australia from us here at Neita's Nest! Thank you so very much for taking the time from your hectic schedule to recount your experiences with us, and to share them here on Trip Advisor.

Your opennes and responsiveness from your first enquiry some six weeks before made it all the easier to prepare for your family /friend stay in our city. Yes, we want you to love Kingston the way we do, so we are always glad when our guests are open to taking tours, visiting places of interest, taking in cultural events and just being thirsty for a chat about who we are as a people.

Our city, though the largest in the Caribbean, is smaller than most the world over. Yet we do have a rich and complex history and a vibrant, multi-layered culture. We are so happy that you were delighted with your experience and that you have returned home with wonderful memories.

Wishing you many more family/friend, enriching vacations.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Dear Michelle,

thank you for providing accommodation, the time we spend in Kingstone was quite nice!
Just by arriving all my baggege plumped out of the car by climping the road up to you. What kind of welcome to Kingstone, I thought!
But at the moment you opened the door, everything was gone! Your kind of welcome and the rooms, - pretty nice! We talked to you for visiting Kingstone and just in that moment you organized a car to go to the city. Thank you!
Spending all the afternoon in Kingstone, I was very hungry, but Sybille allways reminded me:
„Thomas, just think about the dinner we got to get up in the accommodation!“
The day goes by and we got to get back to you. We got the dinner and spend the night at the roof of Kingstone. I asked you for starting tomorrow early in the morning, maybe at 05:45 – because of watching the sunrise in front of the silhouette of the 'blue mountains'. You permit me to enjoy this moment and I felt like 'Bob Marley':
"Rise up this mornin', Smiled with the risin' sun...“.
Later on I got to get the chance for a nice conversation to another guests, coming from Bristol/England - I just got to know at Neita's Nest. We talked about labour and we got to get to the point, germans work is fine, becaues of 'Mercedes' and 'BMW' and my girl, a manager of a company, working 12 to 14 hours a day. English work is fine too, but not as hard as the germans, because of having teatime ;-)
The day we spend in 'port royal' – by eating a really cheap 'lopster' and later on, visiting
'devon house'.
Again in the evening I got to get the look all over Kingstone, and just in that moment I got to know why the city is called 'Kings - town'!

Thanks for getting the chance to got to know Kingstown!
- Thank you Michelle for accommodation !


Thomas

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sm0th,

I am learning so much about your visit, and about you. All these anecdotes which make for a memorable experience, and through it all you remained true to yourself; happy, and enjoying evey moment!

Yours is a moving review of your stay, filled with a lot of heart. Thanks for sharing, and thanks for the lovely photo - our memento of your early morning wake up call..

Cheers,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

home away from home!

Neita's Nest is surrounded with natural beauty and is the perfect hide away in Kingston but you can still hear and feel the city.// Along with stunning pictures, this home provides comfortable and private rooms, large bathrooms, great accommodations and a beautiful breakfast on the balcony. I truly couldn't have asked for more! Ms. Michelle and her family were welcoming and kind. She was happy to give us details on local events and made sure we were taken care of, we felt like family (but not in an annoying way!).

We know Neita's Nest will be our #1 choice the next visit to Kingston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I am laughing because finding the thin line between being helpful and being annoying is a path that I walk every day. It is heart warming to know that I have stayed on track.

Glad you felt right at home and appreciated all we had to offer. You were the perfect guests.

See you then.
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first visit to Jamaica and we spent our first 2 nights at Neita's Nest. It was a great way to begin our Jamaican adventure. The view was lovely from the porch. We especially enjoyed the sparkle of the night lights below in Kingston. Our room was spotless, nice decor, firm bed and a ceiling fan...perfect for a good night's rest. Michelle was a wonderful host with a wealth of information about Kingston. She even got up at 4:00 a.m. to serve us a Jamaican breakfast and sent us on our way with a snack for later in the morning. We felt so "at home" thanks to Michelle and her staff's hospitality. We definitely recommend a stay at Neita's Nest and look forward to returning on our next trip to Kingston.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neitasnest, Owner at Neita's Nest, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
While the view from our porch is all of Mother Nature's doing, I too find myself out there in wonder and amazement on the ever changing scene as the light and shadows play on the many layers of mountains.

Munnikrp, we are happy that we could provide a magical start to your Jamaican vacation.

Cheers,
Michelle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neita's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neita's Nest

Address: Bridgemount, Stony Hill | Kingston 8, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Neita's Nest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Neita's Nest ... A Jamaican Bed and Breakfast service in a private dwelling enjoyed for decades by families and friends as it lends to easy entertaining. The breathtaking view of the sunrise, the show-stopping ascent of the full moon, and the mist-wrapped mountains after rain can all be enjoyed from all three guest bedrooms, as well as from the wide verandah - a perfect breakfast/dinner nook. Our floor-to-ceiling, wall-to-wall windows make for indoor dining a no-less picturesque experience. Neita's Nest - in Bridgemount, Stony Hill The approach, a winding, uphill challenge and now favoured-path of the fittest exercise buffs, is one of the oldest roads in the parish of St. Andrew. Built by slaves some 300 years ago, it still meanders through the residential area of Bridgemount, long-since named for this little-remembered piece of history. Historic Bed and Breakfast. Situated on the property that once housed The Captain's Quarters for Fort Bridgemount, an 18th century mountain-top British Army post, this 1960's chalet-styled home, now Bed and Breakfast to the world, is perched with a commanding view of the mountains surrounding Kingston's Liguanea Plains. Bird Watcher's Paradise/ Artist's Haven. The cool hills surrounding this upper St. Andrew home nurture a year-round verdant view, with the lush, untamed hillsides providing the perfect hideaway for over twenty species of local and migrant birds. But who's counting? The sheer joy of being awakened to nature's harmony creates the perfect setting of sights and sounds to inspire the creators of les beaux arts, the writers of poignant poetry and the composers of melodious music. Facilities and Amenities. Breakfast, which is included in your room rate, consists of Fresh Tropical Fruit, Juice, Freshly-brewed Authentic Jamaican Coffee, Assorted Teas, a Cooked Meal, Breads & Spreads. Our other facilities included in your room rate are free wireless internet and free covered parking on property. Our living spaces, and each of our 3 bedrooms, are fitted with basic bathroom amenities, and waffle robes are provided for each adult. We offer 1 King-sized or 2-Twin beds in each room, and although they are not en suite, each bedroom has its own bathroom. Additional Services. Do ask about our other services which can be provided on prior request and for an additional price. These include Airport Transfers, City Tours and other Transportation, Cellular Phone Rental, Business Services - including Editing, Personal Laundry, Dry Cleaning, Shoe Shine, Spa Services, Lunches, Dinners, Afternoon Tea and Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Neita's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neita's Nest Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neita's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.