We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Nova All Suite Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Nova All Suite Hotel to your Saves list
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Waterloo Road, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paramaribo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2006

I was there in Terra Nova in the beginning of Februari. The room was very nice and comfortable. I really liked it and if i'm going back to Jamaica, Terra Nova will definetely seeme again.
A proud Youth advisor of the UNFPA

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    38
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
27
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2006

I stayed at the Terra Nova while in Kingston for the Marine Corps Ball, which was held at the hotel. I would have given the Terra Nova a higher rating if the room was cleaner and more up to date. Upon arrival, we were escorted to a room which had a foul odor. Fortunately it was the wrong room (we requested 2 queen beds and the stinky room only had a king). We were moved to an odor-free room with two beds, but the walls and floors were stained, and some updating was defnitely needed. The room was spacious, however, but not a suite. I spent very little time in the room, so it wasn't a huge issue.

The lobby and restaurant were very charming and the tropical grounds were beautiful. The lunchtime and Sunday brunch buffets were tastely. We really enoyed the steel drum band that played outside during brunch. The food served at the Ball was much better, though. The event was held in a facitly adjacent to the hotel. The ballroom was plain, but the patio and gardens were enchanting.

I would stay at the hotel again for the Jamaican ambience. If room condition is important to you, the Pegasus has much nicer rooms for similar rates. But the Pegasus is just like any other hotel in any other city. If you visit Kingston, take caution using credit cards. I paid for my room with a Visa Check Card and returned home to find out that someone got a hold of the number and charged $1,000 on it. I used the card at the Terra Nova and only one other place. An Embassy official said this happened to someone else who stayed at the same hotel recently. I would suggest traveler's checks, but am not sure if they accept them. Despite this incident, which is not uncommon in Jamaica, I had a great time and enjoyed my stay at the Terra Nova.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

I stayed with my wife and adult daughter at the Terra Nova in August 2005. As this was at the end of a two-month visit (yes, two months, all over Jamaica!) we have the advantage of being able to compare it with many other places. The Terra Nova was one of our highlights, the other being Trident Villas in Portland. Terra Nova has a long-established reputation in Kingston. It is a high quality and well-appointed hotel, well managed and very clean. The only anomoly is that it is not "all-suite" as advertised: we three adults were offered one room, not a suite, but it was quite acceptable. For the benefit of gamblers, a casino is right next door, but under separate management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

I arrived at the hotel on May 26th and was very ill so I had ordered room service (basically water and juice). After a while of resting, I felt better and started to enjoy the hotel. When I returned to the room, I noticed that there were very small bugs crawling around my bed. I went downstairs and was helped by a young lady. I explained to her my concerns and she sent someone up to the room to spray as she thought they were tiny gnats. She said that this was normal in Jamaica due to the humidity and if they sprayed my room, there would be no issues.

I returned to the room and noticed that the bugs had diminished. When I awoke in the morning, my bed was full of the same bug. I explained my situation again to management, one of which came up to my room with me to investigate and they determined that I had ants in my bed all night. There weren't any gnats. They both explained it was because I had eaten in my room. Essentially they said that this was my fault and it was normal to have ants in my bed if I had eaten in my room. This doesn't make sense to me as why would you allow room service if this were the case.

After writing to the management, I received no response and no return to my phone calls.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2005

After thoroughly researching all the hotels in the Kingston area and asking friends and business connections who frequent the area for their opinion, my family decided to book at the Terranova All Suites Hotel during a weekend stay in Kingston. I had also previous reviews on TripAdvisor which gave rave reviews of the hotel. The hotels website looks wonderful compared to the rest of the "business style" hotels in the area. We were looking for something with charm & a true Jamaican experience.

This hotel prides itself on being one of the best hotels in the area; an "all suite hotel". We had booked 3 rooms. None if which were suites. They were all rundown. Nothing better than a 2 star hotel. Our room was infested with ants. The carpets were seriously worn. The bathroom was old. If you used your two towels; you were not given new towels until late the next afternoon.

I had asked for a pen to fill out a Mother's Day card and the front desk told me they have one pen for the entire hotel. There were private functions at the pool (across a small street) so it was pretty much closed the first 2 days of our stay. On their site it shows a pool bar where you can get a light lunch - that has since been shutdown.

On Mother's Day, we were forced to have the full formal brunch as they would not serve us any other food in the hotel - no room service, no snacks, etc until 6 p.m.

I must say, however, that the open-air dining room was enchanting and the food was very good. The wait staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. A great place to have lunch or dinner.

I would not recommend the TerraNova if you are looking for a luxury hotel with amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2005

The Terra Nova is a beautiful hotel. The ambiance and delicious food make for an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terra Nova All Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova All Suite Hotel

Address: 17 Waterloo Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Terra Nova All Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Terra Nova All Suite Hotel rests proudly in the heart of New Kingston, Jamaica, welcoming guests with its lush gardens, impeccable service and understated elegance for over 45 years.A symbol of white glove service and the pride of New Kingston, the hotel remains the only boutique hotel in Kingston catering specifically to the discerning business traveler. Since 1959, whether traveling to Kingston on business or pleasure the Terra Nova combines tradition with elegance and style to accommodate the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Terra Nova All Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Nova Kingston
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Nova All Suite Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.