We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in The Heart of The City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
300 American Airlines Mileage bonus points with your stay
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kingston
Montego Bay
1 review
“A Gem in The Heart of The City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I have always heard about the Courtleigh but I really couldn't know until i experienced it for myself. I am a business traveller from Montego Bay and i have travelled to several hotels in Jamaica and by far Courtleigh is one of the best i've stayed at. i stayed in suite because i was upgraded from my regular room and i was completely blown away by the size of the room, bed and bathroom. the bathroom appeared to be recently refurbished and it was somehow difficult to leave it each time i went in. the service i received was top class from my arrival to check out and i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    126
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
28
29
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

For the first time ever, I decided to stay at a hotel instead of with relatives. I have stayed in Jamaica resorts in the tourist areas but never in a Kingston hotel so I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised.

The food was amazing- authentic, fresh and abundant. I ate ackee three times and I am very cautious about that particular item. I don't know if they are good at preparing any cutting-edge meals because I wasn't interested in that. I live in New York so I can get that when I am here.

The location is good- very very safe. I wandered around by myself as a single female and never felt afraid. There was a little festival being held in the park across the street and I went there the night that I arrived from the airport- alone. I had some snacks (ice cream and soup) and watched the children on the kiddie rides. A short walk away is the New Kingston shopping area where you have a choice of a few nightclubs and restaurants. There is a mall where I went to buy some knick knacks but don't expect anything like what you would call a shopping mall in North America. Very small with few shops. Fast food. You can walk to a few small shopping areas in various directions but nothing too exciting. I flew back on a Sunday and went for a walk before my flight- the place was deserted but there are no dark alleys so it wasn't in a scary way. There are public buses in the area and taxis as well. In this area, you will see many non-black Jamaicans and other non-blacks. So, a white person does not stand out quite as much as in other places.

The hotel has a small bar/ club and there is also a poolside bar. Computer access is available. I don't remember how much it cost. I must have charged it to the room. The ATM fee was ridiculously high so consider making one withdrawal or getting your money at one of the nearby banks.

The room was good. Not fancy but clean and with a nice view. Quiet. Modern amenities. One of my best memories is having breakfast on the balcony. The key cards provide an extra measure of security by restricting access to the hotel to guests but they didn't work consistently. You have to swipe multiple times.

My brother and I saw several Jamaican and American celebrities while I was staying at the hotel including a supermodel, tv star and a very famous recording artist. I was very surprised that they choose this small little hotel. LOL.

There was one desk worker who was too formal and robotic. Not friendly at all. Otherwise everyone was very nice and pleasant. Not falling over you like some places. Just doing their jobs with a smile.

Also, I had a meal at one of the neighboring hotels that was quite good but I don't remember which. Those hotels are larger and more famous but I prefer the smaller "boutique-like" atmosphere.

Overall, I recommend it. Kingston is not known for great hotels so I had low expectations. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed at the Courtleigh after having stayed at the Pegasus on a prior visit to Kingston four months ago.
Check-in: excruciatingly slow. Polite but nothing out of the ordinary.
Room: Despite having booked a full-rack rate, was given a very small room on the first floor, next to the "gym" and overlooking a roof top which allowed direct access into the room. Inside the room, the bathroom was old and showed signs of significant wear (circa 1960's). Room refrigerator was unplugged. Wi-fi was adequate but very slow (no possibility of watching video via the Internet).
Restaurant: I had two meals in the restaurant: lunch and breakfast. Lunch was adequate but hardly memorable. Buffet breakfast was ordinary; tired looking fresh fruit; dried scrambled eggs; UHT type orange juice; a couple of yogurts; and a limited selection of breads.
Issues that arose: My bill reflected restaurant charges that I had not incurred. Resolving the issue took more than thirty minutes as supervisors were consulted and manual restaurant tickets were examined and re-examined.
Check-out: Slow, polite, but hardly friendly.
All this being said, this hotel seems marginally better than its neighbour, the Pegasus, and appears to possibly be better than the Hilton. None of the hotel choices in New Kingston seem particularly enticing.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

Small, excellent restaurant and staff were very helpful. Not a traditional business 4 star but "homier". Staff was great. Allowed a "re-check in" after an appointment cancelled. Excellent high speed internet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

The Courtleigh was recommended by our local client as being better than the adjacent Pegasus. Having now stayed at both, I definitely agree. The Courtleigh is smaller than the Pegasus, with much nicer rooms, very friendly staff, and very good food. The high speed internet works well too. I have absolutely no complaints about my week there. If you want a busy nightlife, walk next door to the Hilton. If you want to use a bigger pool, go to the Pegasus (the pool at the Courtleigh was undergoing maintenance when we were there).
>
> In comparison, food at the Pegusus is not nearly as good, and the staff aren't as friendly. I stayed there earlier in 2008 and had a disappointing meal during our November trip.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

I was in Kingston, Jamaica for 4 nights at the end of August. The
client booked The Courteigh for me as they got a discounted rate and I am pleased that they did.

The hotel staff are amongst the friendliest and most helpful that I have come across. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.

The restaurant menu choice was excellent and the delivery even better. A great choice of world and local cuisine - and they know how to cook a steak to perfection too.

Breakfast also offered an excellent choice and the local coffee provided in the room was delicious.

What really made it for me was the profesionalism of the staff throughout the drama of hurricane Gustav. There were regular bulletins (guest-o-grams) and once the storm was heading towards to Jamaica, the hotel switly put their emergency plans into place. The restarauant and bar where made into shelters if required and assistance offered with contacing worried relatives.

The Courteigh made the whole hurricane expereiance a calming and safe one.

Well done.

Michael

  • Liked — Professionalism of the staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

Stayed here for 2 weeks while on business in Kingston. Not much choice of hotel in New Kingston (the business district) as only the Hilton and the Jamaica Pegasus give alternatives. All three hotels are next to each other

Was very impressed with hotel. Ended up with a suite (seems to be standard reading the reviews) which was huge and very comfortabe

Only downside comared to Hilton and Pegasus is it is quieter with less activity in the bars (could be a bonus to some people)

All three hotels are around the same price so whilst expensive there is no much choice and being close to the business center is invaluable in a city that is not so safe.

Would recommend this as the number 1 choice if you are on business or just visiting Kingston.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.