We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is nicely kept. The staff is friendly. There is a guard at the entrance of the premises. We had an issue with the bathroom plumbing. Called the front desk and they said someone will come. Someone did eventually come, after a second follow up call 2 hrs later. I guess the pace is a bit slower here. The food at the restaurant is very good. Had some jerked chicken, of course. The breakfast spread is pretty much the same every day. The pool is nice, although not as big as the Pegasus next door, it is nice to enjoy a relaxing afternoon. If you want to take a taxi around town, I recommend you check for a local company and call them yourself instead of asking the front desk. The front desk told us it would cost $45 USD to go to the Devon House (10 mins ride.) We called the car service directly, $5 USD. The room have a nice size desk for my laptop and work related stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    140
    43
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
28
29
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

While this hotel is average by international standards, it is a good choice for Kingston. The room was clean and well maintained. The room has large sliders that give you a view of the city and surrounding hills. The room safes they offer are very small, not large enough for a laptop, but you can squeeze an IPad in. The pool closes at 5pm, so it is useless for business travelers, who might want to relax or swim after work.

Breakfast offers a meager buffet, but the food they did offer was not bad. They offer 2 or 3 choices of fruit, one main hot food and a hot side item. You can also order off the menu (mostly omelets), but be prepared to wait as they are cleared geared towards the little buffet. I did not eat other meals there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as street noise can be a problem at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have been to Kingston on 12 occasions and all except my very first stay has been at The Courtleigh. I have found the staff to be for the most part very friendly and helpful. The facility is always clean and elegantly furnished. While it cannot be considered a top level hotel, it does well with the assets it does possess. My main grouse will be with the restaurant whose menu has been the very same over the last few years. While it is of course new and fresh to a first time traveler, I am tired of the very same options that are available every stay. The same can be said of breakfast as well.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces either the Jamaica Pegasus or the Knutsford Blvd. They have much better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Have stayed at the hotel in rooms and suites on different business visits recently. The rooms are very nice, the staff are prompt and friendly and the restaurant was good. The thing on all floors which let the place down which was such a pitty was the decor of the communal areas and room doors as they all looked like they neded a coat of paint which when you first arrive you wonder what the room will be like. Then you enter and realise you were worrying about nothing.
Minor point during one stay there was a storm and I think the emergency generator had to cut in. Think I was about the 6th floor and genuinely thought there was a helicopter outside my room the noise it made.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I would rate the hotel poor by US standards, but by Kingston standards I'd rate it "good". Worn, scuffed and tattered, it would loose it's Sheraton franchise in the US.

Now the good news, its safe and better than the Pegasus (the hotel next door that's suppose to be it's competition).

Ask directions to Scotchy's (outdoor jerk grill) to eat, that'll be worth the short walk.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have to admit, my expectations were very low. I stayed a while ago at another nearby hotel and was very disappointed. The taxi ride to/from the airport is +-25 minutes.

Upon arrival, staff are prompt to get to you your room and there is no nonsense for check-in. If you are an AAdvantage member, remember to give them your number since they give you points for your stay.

The rooms are OK ; nothing fabulous, but clean and comfortable. There is free WiFi and I found speed to be very good and was able to make phone calls via my laptop with no sound quality issues.

The gym is small but functional. There is a free breakfast that was included in my corporate rate ; it was nice and a great start to the day. The price per night I found to be very reasonable.

Overall, If this facility were in a major US city, it probably would be a 3-star. However, for the local market, this is a very good choice, especially if business takes you to the New Kingston area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible to get a view of city/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

well when i first arrive mmm... was a little worried cus the receptionist are was not all that inviting but i as i walk in my room aaahhh what a relief, very clean, the room have everything you need, the customer service is very good, and even thoe the hotel is in the middle of the town the noise is not loud.... i enjoyed myself in that hotel i will definitely visit again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.