We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs upgrading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Kingston
Trinidad
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Needs upgrading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Very nice ambiance, but when I compared my room to my colleagues who stayed as well, there was a vast difference. My room clearly was the "older Courtleigh" and theirs was the refurbished one. I was a bit upset that the cost of both rooms was the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    126
    42
    10
    5
See reviews for
21
28
29
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I hear ya about the icy air. Luckily I had two beds so I stole the sheet and spread from the other bed. Was on the 9th floor. When it's windy it sounds like screaming, LOUD screaming. NO WAY anybody could sleep up there. Then there's the elevator. My room was near it and it sounded like rolling thunder Each and Every time someone used it. By this point, it was comical. I checked in very late at night and was leaving early in the morning, so I lay there talking to myself saying, "they're getting offffffff, NOW.... noooo, NOW.... noooo NoW...." PS The black out curtains don't extend all the way to the edges of the windows, so lots of light comes in early in morning. No joke, to deal with the noise I built a tower of pillows on my head. At SOME point I fell asleep, just in time for my alarm to go off.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Kingston is not a tourism destination, and as such hotel offer there lags way behind other places in the country such as Montego Bay.
I was here on business and was told that this is one of the few good places in town, and indeed I was pleased with the service and the hotel itself. The room is comfortable though a bit outdated, but very well cleaned, so is the bathroom. The only complaint I had was that the aircon was too cold, and there was not a single blanket in the room to stand the freeze.
Breakfast was plentiful though not remarkable (the cakes were good!). The best thing in the hotel was the barbecue food (I guess they do this on Wednesdays), which was really good and rather cheap. Service was slow as there were plenty of diners.
I'd stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I originally called to book a room and was rerouted to their partner hotel the Knutsford Court due to the lack of availability at this location. I decided to book online and was provided with a one bedroom suite upgrade. I was very impressed with the quality of service. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I found the room charming and spacious although the view was less than impressive. The property is in the midst of renovations, as is the Knutsford Court. I almost went crazy with the smell of oil paint throughout my room. It was very strong and was nauseating. Over all the location is amazing the room was pleasurable and the staff was wonderful so I am trying to overlook the renovations aspect. I actually stayed at 5 hotels during my stay in Jamaica and loved the room and service the best of all stays.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Vincent and the Grenadines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The suite in which I stayed was great value. The bathroom needs a makeover, however I found out that the hotel is in the process of upgrading them. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was a newish flat screen in the bedroom.
The wireless internet service needs work though as I had to log in everytime I left the computer for an hour.
The continental breakfast was quite good and the lobby and dining areas, beautifully laid out and welcoming.
The service was a little stiff and robotic at times. Hotels need to encourage their staff to just relax, be friendly and be themselves, sometimes. Smile more and be very welcoming to their guests. It goes a long way in encouraging repeat business.

Room Tip: Get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Best Service, Best Food, Best Location!

I have stayed there for 4 years strtaight and they continue to strive and know me my name!

great Job Courtleigh!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffielduk
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel after other good reviews on Tripadvisor. Paid the extra for a top floor suite but on exiting the elevator we were greeted by a really tremendous rumbling from what I presume to be the air-con machinery on the hotel roof. The room was nice but still very noisy and the hotel were quick to show us another room on a lower floor. This room was not as nice ( but would have been cheaper) and now that we were suspicious of the air-conditionong we checked this first. The fan seemed very weak so we decided to go back to the original room. During all this the hotel staff remained smiley, helpful, and were patient with us.
This is otherwise an efficient hotel with delightful staff. It is probably good as a business hotel but the swimming pool area is not attractive and I'm afraid it doesn't really cut it as a high end option. Booking through the website was impossible from the UK and emails were not answered promptly. In the end I had to phone.
The restaurant was only OK despite the enthusiasm of other entries under the Restaurant section of Tripadvisor

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites

Address: 85 Knutsford Blvd., Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#3 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Only Address You Will Ever Need to Make The Right Impression In Kingston. The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites offers discerning guests, unparalleled personalized service with deluxe rooms, one and two bedroom suites and our ultra-luxurious Penthouse floor. Featuring direct dial telephones, free wireless internet, work desk, cable TV including premium movie channels, in - room safe, coffee / tea maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board, Bath & Body Works amenities and Free buffet breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
Courtleigh Hotel Kingston
The Courtleigh Hotel And Suites Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.