We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It needs renovation, but it's comfortable and secure.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It needs renovation, but it's comfortable and secure.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for five days, it's definitely a step down from the hotels I am accustomed to staying in (Embassy Suites and Hilton hotels), but for Kingston, I don't you will find much better. The fitness center was greatly improved compared to my last stay here in 2005. Treadmills, Elliptical, bikes, and weights are available. The rooms are dated, but large with very nice views. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The hotel has an executive level. With a lounge open for breakfast and snacks and drinks in the evening. For me it was well worth it to upgrade to the executive level. I felt very safe and secure at this hotel. I went for a walk one afternoon on the main street. I would not recommend this. I was immediately hit up for money, to buy some pot, or a woman. I quickly returned to the hotel. The restaurant had good food and service. The pool area is very nice, but the pool needs to be cleaned better. Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your opinion about the Jamaica Pegasus. Constructive commentary is always welcome because your opinion really matters.
The Pegasus was acquired by new Ownwership a little over a year ago and is presently undergoing a complete upgrade to both its guest and public areas. Please contact me directly when your travel plans have you visiting Jamaica's capital city again, as I would personally appreciate showing you the improvements that we have made since your last visit.
Respectfully,
PH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    81
    67
    25
    14
See reviews for
19
26
20
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed 1 night in April while on business in Kingston. The hotel needs renovations on the guestrooms, corridors and lobby. Luckily, they are currently renovating the lobby, and while this is in process, a temporary restaurant was fitted out below the ground floor in front of the pool. I hope they will renovate the guestrooms and corridors soon after.
While the food was decent at the buffet, they only offer buffet option, which is OK for breakfast, but falls short of options for lunch and dinner.
The service was average or below average; it took forever to get checked in, and the waiter forgot when we ordered a second round of drinks during dinner.
Internet works OK, as well as TV and AC in the guestrooms.
Location is convenient as most of the business hotels in New Kingston.
Definitely, not my favorite hotel in Kingston, and definitely not worth the rate.

Room Tip: Guestrooms on the West side have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your valued commentary. As you noticed the hotel is under renovation and the new Owners are committed to totally upgrade the property not only in public areas but also to the guest corridors and bedrooms.
By way of clarification, buffet service is indeed offered for breakfast and lunch but there is a full a la carte menu available for those who prefer. Dinner is a la carte only. There will also be a new cafe opening within a month.
Please visit us again on your next trip to Kingston - you will see that we are indeed committed to restoring this beautiful hotel to a world class standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sent 2 nights here before onward to ocho rios. Entrance grand. Rooms adequate and clean but definitely need up grading. Pool warm and attentive towel attendants ( probably due to leggy blonde daughter) restaurant woefully lacking. Do not have the mac and cheese if you value your arteries........... For a posh ish hotel I was shocked to see a bottle of ketchup plonked on table cafe style........ Food not great, wish we had gone out to eat ..... Breakfast redeemed itself with a cracking codfish and ackee offering. Remote in sons room broken, draw in chest broken, sliding door to patio broken, phone not working, clock radio not able to change time so redundant, reported remote to reception no response just as well we were not there for longer. Shame just needs some time and money spent on it and it could be nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your commentary. New Ownership shares your views on the physical state of the property and is committed to upgrading the overall standards in terms of renovations and food and beverage offering. Most of the public areas, restaurants and bars will be completed within the next couple of months. Bedrooms have already started being completely revamped and will continue to do so until all have been renovated.
I do hope you will revisit the Pegasus on your next trip to Kiungston and witness yourself the many improvements that have been made.
Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am sure that several years ago the Pegasus was a pretty impressive hotel for a capital in the Caribbean, unfortunately today is no longer what it used to be! The room are "old" and even the renovated one are not up to par. The service is mediocre, the breakfast cannot even compare to the one you are usually served in Jamaica.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pen your comments. The Jamaica Pegasus was recently acquired by new Owners who are committed to 'restore' the Jamaica Pegasus to its former stature not only in a physical sense but also throughout its service and amenities. Work has already commenced on most of the public areas and on one of the bedroom floors.
Hopefully on your next trip to the Nation's Capital, you will be able to witness firsthand the improvements that have been made.
Respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This legendary Jamaican hotel is under a great deal of renovation. It's worth checking into the executive floor for that extra white glove treatment and renovated rooms.
It's centrally located (within walking distance to business as well as banks and fast food). I really enjoyed the room. It was spotlessly clean. Bed was fine. Bath tub was narrow but in Jamaica most folks take showers. The internet was free but the Wifi in some areas wasn't very good, but I was told that this is part of the renovation. Plug in to their provided LAN in your room and it's fast (and free). Loved the 24hr coffee shop. Pool area need Wifi so i can work as I sunbathe! Decent food and good service. Bloke on reception could try a smile now an then! People complain about the elevators, i didn't have any problem. Security is also great in there which as a single business traveler is important. I much prefer the history and character that this hotel offers than the segregated sterile (could be anywhere in the world) that Spanish Court offers. Certainly looking forward to the end of their renovations and will rebook this hotel for my next biz trip.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and go for the Executive Floors it's worth it for the beautiful views and whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are presently renovating all our bedrooms and have planned to have large showers in the majority of our new bathrooms instead of the tub. Wifi is temporarily down around the pool area as we are upgrading our entire system. It will be back up very shortly.
Thanks for your valued comments - they are truly helpful as we continue to strive for excellence in service and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Pegasus is what happens when you build a hotel in the 80s and don't spend a cent maintaining it. My room was dirty, loud, in desperate need of a refit and lacked basic amenities. The bed was uncomfortable and the bathroom in particular was quite scary. Service was adequate and breakfast was average.The Pegasus has been helped by the fact that there is precious little business-standard hotels in Kingston, however I'll be looking elsewhere for my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
The new Owners of the Pagasus have embarked on an extensive renovation program which will encompass all the public spaces and bedrooms. Most of the public areas will be finished over the next several months and the bedrooms will be renovated a floor at a time to minimise disturbance to our valued guests.
Your comments are indeed noted and appreciated. We are diligently working on improving the physical structure of our offering.
We appreciate your taking the time to write your valuable thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandys
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wasn't sure quite what to expect from this hotel while in Jamaica for Carifta. I was very pleasantly surprised.
The staff was most accommodating to special requests.
The food is excellent with a good combination of Jamaican and standard fare. The breakfast buffet was excellent - and included with my package. Far more extensive than typical buffet breakfasts in American hotels.
Lunch was delicious and the Sunday brunch should not be missed.
The hotel was undergoing some renovation but I noticed only mild disruption in that the restaurant and shops have been relocated to other areas. Signage to these areas is professionally done and very clear.
The pool is beautiful, the tennis courts more than adequate and there is a walking path on the property. I did not use the path preferring to walk in Emancipation Park which is directly across the street. There I had a lot of Jamaican company as the marked half kilometre track seems to be a favourite of many.
There are stores and restaurants in easy walking distance of the hotel and it is in a very safe area.

Room Tip: I preferred my mountain view room to the ocean view I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, General Manager at The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The team at the Pegasus is constantly striving to exceed valued guests' expectations such as you and it is gratifying to know when we succeed.
We have indeed embarked on an extensive renovation program of all public areas and bedrooms and we endeavor to minimise any guest disturbance.
Thank you for your insightful commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston
Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our all-suite Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives, and amenities include private check-in and check-out, complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge and a private fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.