We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kingston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Best Hotel in Kingston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed here every week for two months on business, and I can honestly say it is a phenomenally managed and effeciently run hotel. Staff is very friendly and accommodating, it is and extremely safe environment with guards at the entrance 24/7, very clean and an amazing breakfast buffet. This truly is Kingston’s preferred hotel and is a must stay for all types of travelers staying in Kingston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    95
    72
    25
    16
See reviews for
19
27
20
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I travel frequently for work to Kingston and I have been staying at this hotel and I am impressed with the service and with the management of the Hotel. Its clean, Staff is friendly and ready to help. Restaurant is Great. I really feel at home every time I stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Ive stayed here a couple of times and the breakfast is always the same and not much,it's an old hotel which needs renovating,the rooms are ok but the price is way too high for what they offer,I would not stay,but for a one or two night stay its not bad,more than that I would not recommend.

Stayed December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Been there many times but this time was the absolute best. The staff was very welcoming and catered to all our needs. The rooms have been updated. The food was great and was available 24/7. Very central location and taxis always available. Was there for the Olympics and Independence and the excitement and mood at the hotel was palpable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad, Caribbean
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have been to this hotel over the years a few times, and my only con, is that is you have a loud neighbor you will hear them, sometimes more so than your own TV in the room.
Other than that is it a OK hotel to stay for short times.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Well, where does one start with this old dinosaur ? Stayed here on company business many times over the last year and have seen it go from, what I would imagine could get no worse, to exceeding my wildest expectations. It is vile in the extreme and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. From the hateful staff who defiantly manage to ignore even the most basic requests, to the horrific bad trip that is the bedroom decor , this is the stay from hell for even the most hardy traveller. One of my worst memories was at breakfast, when confronted with lukewarm liver with boiled banana !! When I meekly asked if I could just have a yoghurt, I was informed that they were all on the executive floor, so this would not be possible.Add to this, the grotesque excuse for coffee, ( this from the Blue Mountain region, where one would imagine a decent coffee wouldn't,be a problem !) and you have an experience that would make even The Hotel Inspector retire ! Never, ever, contemplate this hotel, unless forced to at gunpoint!

Room Tip: Best tip? Book another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was reasonably clean and updated. The AC and internet worked well. The staff was very friendly. My wife says that rooms are not as nice as the pictures. The front desk will make change for US bills and its a good idea as the taxis will often not produce change. The Juta taxis outside are clean and seem safe. The food was edible and most importantly didnt make us ill.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel

Address: 81 Knutsford Boulevard, Kingston Kingston 5, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pegasus rises 17 stories in the heart of the business and financial district. It is within walking distance of international offices, embassies and shopping areas. The hotel is located 25 minutes from the Norman Manley International Airport. Our all-suite Royal Club floors are specially designed for business executives, and amenities include private check-in and check-out, complimentary continental breakfast and cocktails in the private lounge and a private fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Pegasus Kingston
Hotel Jamaica Pegasus
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.