We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and peace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Strawberry Hill to your Saves list
Strawberry Hill
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kingston
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
“Relaxation and peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

A visit to the spa and dinner..............treatment was wonderful albeit technician 20 minutes late........her manner and profuse apologies made up for the indiscretion.........staff overall pleasant and welcoming.............dinner absolutely horrible.........first time requesting condiments......lamb was surely older than purported and tasteless and inedible...........salmon bland and inedible..........waitress apologized and offered birthday dessert on the house.........high end prices......low end quality food........sad..........location and surroundings absolutely pricelesss.........improve on the food and perfection will be attained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    51
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
80
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited this amazing hotel at the top of the blue mountains
in Jamaica.

The drive up the mountain from Kingston with poor winding roads and pot
holes took some time, but it was well worth it.

I have been to some wonderful hotels all around the world but cannot
think of a place with a more incredible panoramic vista.

The rooms are essentially small cottages which are equipped to the
highest standard, and the main buildings which incorporates the
restaurant, bar and library are of the same high quality.

The food, service and staff were also first class.

A must visit for anybody who appreciates the best.

Room Tip: Worth paying for an upgrade even though the standard rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent three nights at Strawberry Hill in the Birds Hill suite. It is a very serene place, with lots of special little details. The room was comfortable, lovely views of Kingston at night from a huge private deck. It was a good mix of rustic and elegant... lovely furnishings, but not fancy. The best part of visiting were the two hikes we did with Rasta Dave. We did one hike, The Gordon Town trail, which was an easy hike past lots of villages and winding along a pretty river where we stopped for a swim in a great swimming hole. The next day we did the "Fitness Hike" up the settlement trail... this was a challenging hike, pretty much straight uphill into the mountains, but amazing! Rasta Dave is a fantastic guide and is very knowledgeable about birds, plants, etc. A real joy to spend time with! Three nights is maybe one night too many to spend here as it is a very sleepy spot, but we really enjoyed it.
The restaurant does a very good job with lots of authentic local dishes, curried goat, jerk chicken etc. We ate there for 3 meals a day for 3 days and it got a little repetitive, but there are other restaurants in nearby "Irish town" that are within walking distance. We were there for their Sunday brunch which was an impressive buffet of all kinds of wonderful things. It gets a bit crowded with lots of people coming for the afternoon to eat.. and the restaurant is adjacent to the pool so it definitely is disruptive if you’re trying to read or relax. The pool area would be the one complaint that I have... there were not enough chaise lounge chairs for all of the guests on one day and they don’t always have towels available. We had to ask for both additional chairs and towels a few times. Gordon, the new manager, was happy to help us, but this is something that you really shouldn’t have to ask for. The deck is a little dicey but it is a nice pool with incredible views.
I did get a massage while I was there. It was great... the spa is very peaceful and the therapist did a very good job. Very reasonably priced.
All in all this is a special place, amazing gardens, great photos and tons of cool memorabilia of Chris Blackwell’s record label, Island Records. The staff goes above and beyond to be helpful and accommodating. If you get a chance to take the mountain road with Chris, one of the drivers, over to Goldeneye, do it!! You drive 5000 feet into the blue mountains and there are amazing sights, and a stop at an incredible coffee plantation.

Room Tip: Birds Hill is their largest suite... fairly private and great views! No A/C but it was not necessary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for one night having flown in that afternoon - amazing, the perfect start to our break! Stunning view at day and night. Beautiful setting and well set out cottages. We were in Tim3 which was lovely. Get up at 5am if you are still on BST and enjoy the grounds as the sun comes up, just idyllic! The pool setting is a great place to lose some time!! Breakfast was amazing and Gordon the new manager spent time with us which was great - I can see good things happening with him at the wheel! Would have loved to have been able to stay for longer, but the little slice of colonial splendour was the best start to our time on the island. Our only request - driving directions from the airport to help navigate through Kingston and up the mountain route!!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a couples retreat high above Kingston with great views over the city and Blue Mountains. Music is played quietly in the bar and the hotel may be booked out but you wouldn't know it for lack of roaming guests. The journey from the airport is an hour mostly on a windy pot holed road. The huts are pleasant and fairly rustic but the staff are excellent. Not a place to stay if you intend keep popping into Kingston. Think quiet couples retreat. You have to like your partners company to stay here. A helicopter service to the airport would help!

Room Tip: Lots of steps so not ideal for people with mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent two wonderful days at Strawberry Hill in March, 2013. The setting in the high approaches to Blue Mountain is idyllic and very romantic. The views of the surrounding hills, the city below, and the Caribbean are unparalleled due to the proximity of Blue Mountain to the sea. The restaurant is excellent. The cottages are cosy (read small) but charming with intimate balconies, great views, very clean and spacious bathrooms, and lovely four poster beds with fresh linens. There is free coffee and a nice selection of teas in the room as well as a safe.

Once you check in you are given a mobile phone with which you can contact the front desk, restaurant and spa. Be warned though that the signal comes up from Kingston and is very bad in certain parts of the property. You might have to climb some stairs to make a call. It is also worth noting that you will have to do a fair bit of climbing up and down to get from the cottage to the restaurant, pool, and reception.

The restaurant provides room service without the shockingly unethical markup that many hotel chains seem to think they are entitled to charge their guests. We asked for the room service trays to be collected after dinner, but the service staff forgot to do so, and so there was a bit of a mess outside our door in the morning after some of the local fauna had enjoyed our leftovers.

The chef also has a hot streak. Meaning the kitchen likes to add a lot of hot pepper to dishes. So ask for a mild version if you do not like heat. The approach to cuisine reminded me of Thai where flavours are very pronounced and heat is front and centre.

The continental breakfast is very nice, and consists of a basket of pastries juice and coffee. The carrot cake is brought warm and is delicious.

The spa provides a nice range of treatments for a reasonable price. We had no problem with the spa staff who are professional and pleasant, and describe the treatments and the philosophy of the spa very clearly. The massages we received were great.

The pool is on the cold side, but welcome on a hot day. It is an infinity pool looking over the city and is truly spectacular.

A slight negative is that it is quite difficult to find the place as you make your way up from Kingston, especially at night. You can easily make a wrong turn that will send you several miles up a mountain track. Follow the signs carefully. The road is bad in parts, but the journey is so worth it once you arrive at the tranquil property. Google Maps has the property in the wrong place as well and if you follow the road Google picks you may well go astray. On the return trip, if you leave in the morning on a weekday do not consider going into Kingston or you will be mired in very bad traffic. It could take two hours to get in to the centre of town.

To sum it up, this is a beautifully situated place you will enjoy immensely if you seek a peaceful romantic getaway with stunning views, lovely gardens, good food, and quite a few creature comforts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we spent two nights in strawberry hill with our five year old, before and after a few days on the beach and it was a terrific experience. the drive from montego bay was long and we got lost couple of times (bad signage) but Gillian at the front desk was extremely helpful and helped us get to the property and even arranged for food since it was late. our suite - bamboo - was beautiful, large with balconies overlooking the blue mountains and a view of kingston. all the rooms come with balconies, tea/coffee service which makes the mornings beautiful - great views, tranquil. rooms also come with a cd collection suggested by blackwell (of former island records fame). the property is beautiful with incredible flora and fauna and a riot of hummingbirds every morning and evening. there are short hikes around the property and between relaxing on the property and soaking in the quiet and views, and these hikes we passed a day easily. the bar area is v interesting with pics of marley and the rolling stones, grace jones, etc all of whom spent good time here. food options are limited - and we ate at the local restaurant five mins down from the hotel for lunch and dinner, preferring local food. however, the staff esp gillian made it very easy for us to be around the property - arranging for food for our child, opening up the gift shop for us to browse, arranging for water/food at short notice. its a beautiful break from the beaches and shows you a side of jamaica that should not be missed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strawberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill

Address: New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston
#5 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strawberry Hill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill Hotel, Spa & Gardens, a 26-acre mountain top resort, is located in the heart of one of the world's most famous coffee-producing mountain ranges, Jamaica's Blue Mountains. Listed in the New York Times #1 bestselling book, 1,000 Places To See Before You Die, Strawberry Hill is 3100 feet above sea level and features one of the most awe-inspiring views of the Blue Mountains in one direction as well as the city of Kingston in the other. On a clear day, one can see up to 100 miles from the property's infinity-edge pool, and at night the city far below becomes a twinkling mirror of the night sky. The property's 12 Georgian-style cottages, spa, exotic gardens and restaurant offerings underwent an extensive refurbishment in October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Strawberry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Irish Town
Strawberry Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.