We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strawberry Hill great for Relaxing!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strawberry Hill

Save Saved
You added Strawberry Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Strawberry Hill
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Satisfy My Sould
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Strawberry Hill great for Relaxing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The bar, grounds, vanishing pool, the CUTE cottages really nice R/R time!! The food could have been a bit more choices and luxuriant for US$ prices...and the wedding party did interrupt the "quiet"...but really one of the nicest island 'getaways" around!!

Room Tip: Bring a good book or a romantic partner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
22
76
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked Strawberry Hill to unwind after a long flight and had a perfect visit. The airport pick-up was on time with a rum cocktail thrown in. Travel to the hotel involves a ride through Kingston then up the mountain roads. Both were exciting. After a smooth arrival at the hotel we settled in a lovely room and enjoyed spectacular views over Kingston. Dinner was excellent, especially the Jamaican specialities. Sadly, we only booked one night and were sad to leave. Even the taxi service booked by the hotel to take us to Ocho Rios was fantastic. Chris the driver took us on a fantastic tour through the Blue Mountains, which included a detailed commentary on the sights, Jamaica, Bob Marley and him picking fresh Otaheite (Jamaican apples) for us to taste. Thank you. We will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Better late than never. Seeing as it is my 1st wedding anniversary I figured I would finally get around to writing my review.
We traveled to Jamaica to get married in February of 2012. We stayed at an all inclusive in Runaway Bay and traveled across the island to Strawberry Hill to tie our knot. We bussed our entire wedding entourage there the day before the wedding and stayed the night. We had the entire complex of cabins rented to accommodate everyone. We arrived a little bit before check-in time, but were treated wonderfully and were given the okay to explore the grounds and indulge in a beverage or 2 by the pool and enjoy the view while we waited to be able to check into our rooms. It was absolutely amazing. The cabins are beautiful. The view was stunning. I could not have asked for anything more. The staff treated our entire group like we were family. Our wedding coordinator Jhannelle made sure that we wanted for nothing and that our time there went flawlessly.
We had a dinner together as a group the night before the wedding (we called it our "rehearsal dinner". The food was fabulous. We had asked for a small set menu to be arranged for us and they were glad to put one together. I had the Jerk Cornish Hen and I can still remember the taste of it like it was yesterday. Amazing is the only word for it.
The next morning, they had a fantastic spread set up for us for breakfast. The wedding ceremony spot was all set up and ready to go so we got a sneak peak at that. Our ceremony was to begin at noon. It was perfect. The minister that Strawberry Hill had recommended to us was fantastic. The venue for our lunch after the wedding was the large gazebo on the lawn overlooking the Blue Mountains. Lunch was fantastic. The service we received was second to none. We did not get any extra decorations, but the simple center pieces they provided were enough. The view we had was all the decoration needed.
Since we had to be out of the rooms by 11am, but our ceremony wasn't to begin until noon, they set up an area for us to leave our luggage in the mean time. They also arranged for places for us to change afterwards for our bus trip back across the island.
All in all, I have only good things to say. It was very expensive, but worth every penny. I got my dream wedding, and I am grateful for all the staff there for helping to make that happen! Thank you all, and I hope to get back some day to enjoy your company and the beautiful view once again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A cool location, three thousand feet above Kingston, but a difficult road up from the city which takes about 40 minutes avoiding potholes and dangerous drivers. A beautiful setting for a peaceful resort in the hills, surrounded by coffee and banana plantations. Well prepared food, with Sunday brunch being their weekly special event. Friendly staff led by Gordon, the overall boss, and Shana-k, the food and beverages manager, who all made us very welcome. Guests are housed in individual wooden cottages perched on the hill side, all with great views. Not for those scared of heights, easily out of breath, or worried about how much it is all going to cost. Of special interest to anyone who wants to know more about Chris Blackwell and Island Records (there is a room set aside with all his awards).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

So you have seen many pictures and heard great stories of Strawberry Hilll, well let me tell you something. Words and pictures are inadequate to describe this experience. If you want to be engulfed totally in nature this is the place to stay in Jamaica. The roads up to the property is very narrow and winding however, do not let that deter you from choosing this boutique hotel. The property has incredible views overlooking Kingston and the blue mountains. The property is great . The architecture is great definitely a representation of the colonial period.

The room we stayed in was "TIMBUKTU2''. All the furniture in the room ties back to the colonial period.The food was "Great " especially the Sunday brunch.The staff was wonderful and Management is outstanding. It is an experience worth every penny.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Kingston and the mountains are a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited this restaurant for their Sunday brunch on 17th February 2013. The road up to the top of the hill is to say the least bad - narrow, winding with pot holes. The weather on the day we travelled was misty and dull. The view from the property was stunning views to the sea and of Kingston itself. The food was good although not a great choice for the main course. A very colonial property (it is a hotel and spa) and well worth the visit but not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Lovely little escape from the heat and chaos of Kingston - simple, elegant, charming, and rustic with beautiful views and gardens. Spa is a quiet Aveda retreat although just being in the mountains here is relaxing on its own- its quiet and remote. Spectacular friendly service, great history on the walls, jerk chicken was tasty, and the infinity pool is a nice touch. Came for the day only but sure the rooms are just as amazing as the rest of our stay. Great for a 1-2 day visit - 40 minutes from kingston and would definitely take the offer for the hotel transportation (worth it). Definitely would come back and also stay at the Golden Eye sister resort.

Room Tip: I did not stay here overnight so please disregard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strawberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill

Address: New Castle Road, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#3 Business Hotel in Kingston
#4 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Strawberry Hill 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill Hotel, Spa & Gardens, a 26-acre mountain top resort, is located in the heart of one of the world's most famous coffee-producing mountain ranges, Jamaica's Blue Mountains. Listed in the New York Times #1 bestselling book, 1,000 Places To See Before You Die, Strawberry Hill is 3100 feet above sea level and features one of the most awe-inspiring views of the Blue Mountains in one direction as well as the city of Kingston in the other. On a clear day, one can see up to 100 miles from the property's infinity-edge pool, and at night the city far below becomes a twinkling mirror of the night sky. The property's 12 Georgian-style cottages, spa, exotic gardens and restaurant offerings underwent an extensive refurbishment in October 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Strawberry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Irish Town
Strawberry Hill Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strawberry Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.