We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for the peak!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountains

Blue Mountains
Kingston, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Attractions in Kingston
Type: Mountains
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Want a wild outdoor adventure that'll leave you breathless, exhilarated and home in time for supper? Then push your way through the dense tropical forest of the Blue Mountains for an afternoon that will feast your eyes and work your quads.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not just for the peak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Mavis Banks at Forres pak hotel for 4 days without going to the peak!
A great way to mingle with the kind nice people of Jamaica!
Away from the tourist track, off the beaten path!
We simply went into town and talked to the Welcoming generous laid back locals of Mavis Banks.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    30
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Challenging but not extreme - accessible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

From the Whitfield Hall, you can sleep there. at 2:00am your start your hike in order to be at the peak at 5:30 for the sunrise. Honestly you don't need a guide. the patch is clear and easy to follow.
you must be in good shape though, it's not extreme but quiet steep.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“MY BACK YARD/ASK ME HOW”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

I have been travelling and taking trips to this remote section or my Island since 2001. Countless trips.Its a approximately 8 hours hiking from the base of the mountain to the Park which is a few kilometers from the peak. Peaceful, relaxing, back packers paradise. Cant do the long hike?.. you drive half way up using a different route. mini waterfalls, majestic forest, flowing blue mountain coffee fields, exotic plants and birds, low level clouds and thick mists........the most amazing sunrise and sunsets you will ever behold!!!!!!

A two day hike is recommended. Plan you vacation such that you have two free days to be used for your mountain adventure.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hollywell National Recreational Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

For nature lovers, the majestic scenery of the Blue & John Crow mountains can be enjoyed as one ascend the mountains beginning at Liguanea. Holywell National Recreational Park is the ideal getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city, providing the opportunity for a re-charge. Its dense vegetation of unusual (some endemic) flora and fauna provides a treat for a variety of birds and reptiles alike, every creature unique in the song that they sing. The nature trails duly marked is a delight to the legs and lungs. It pleased my heart to partake of the wild strawberries and to welcome a visit from the humming bird. Please ensure you are properly clad if you intend to overnight.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
350 attraction reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
“Wonderful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We went to the blue mountains as part of a tour. It was really beautiful scenery. Our guide told us all about the coffee region plantations and it's production. We got some great photos of the mountains. We saw lots of hikers but you would need to be fit to cope with that terrain.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.