We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountains

Blue Mountains
Kingston, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Original Blue Mountain Bicycle Tour from Falmouth
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want a wild outdoor adventure that'll leave you breathless, exhilarated and home in time for supper? Then push your way through the dense tropical forest of the Blue Mountains for an afternoon that will feast your eyes and work your quads.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We did the blue mountain bike tour. Lots of fun the scenery was unreal. Really fun time. Drive up in a bus and bike down. Lunch was provided. (Jerk chicken) mountain bikes were a bit crappy but still fun. Locals were selling bags of blue mountain coffee beans. It was cheap how ever we had already purchased some a few days prior. Do not forget your camera on this trip.

Visited July 2013
Thank GK363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature untouched”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I liked the journey to get there, then the unique trees, flowers, and edible plants that i had not seen before. I liked the cool climate and the experience of nature in its natural state. Reaching the peek brought a feeling of like you were in a 5000m race and finally you reach the finish line in first place (:-)


Visited August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nature and outdoors at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A trip to the blue mountains will invigorate your lungs....the air is fresh and crisp and temperature is just right. I enjoyed the sights, the birds, trees, and the stops along the way.... It's a lovely experience for a nature lover and the view is amazing, be sure to take a camera! Take your time on the way to the mountains, stop and enjoy the local cafe's and eateries - cafe blue, the Gap and get a taste of Jamaica!

Visited August 2012
Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Freewheelin' in the Blue Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend booked this through our first choice rep (Godfrey - awesome guy!). We were staying at the Grand Bahia Principe in Runaway so had a very early pick up (around 7am). We were the first pick up of many and it took 3 hours to get to the location of the tour. We were dreading this but it was actually a lovely drive and added to the trip as the tour guides were great an you got to see the real Jamaica. When we arrived we had brunch fried bread, scrambled egg, fruit etc) and as much blue mountain coffee as you like. Then we had a coffee demonstration which taught us the process of harvesting and roasting coffee beans until it becomes what you buy in the shops. At this point we were told it was the time we should purchase any coffee we wanted to buy at $17 for a lb of local coffee or $23 for the coffee in the packaging from the kingston factory. This was the only part of the tour that I was annoyed about as shortly after his we were driven to the start of the bike tour where there were local farmers selling the same coffee beans for $10 we ended up buying twice as much as we wanted as we preferred the money to go directly to the farmers and were happy that they were getting a fair deal for what is very good quality coffee. Anyway, you then choose your bike and begin the tour stopping every now and again to be told about the surrounding/take pictures etc which was very interesting. Once you reach where you had brunch its time for lunch which was rice and peas and chicken, drinks were also provided. You then began the second part of the journey down through the mountains I decided to complete the journey on the bus which drove just in front of those on the bikes as it began to rain quite heavily and I didn't really get on well with the bikes. Other people on the tour had done the whole thing in the bus rather than ride the bikes so that option is available. When you get to the bottom you come to a stunning waterfall. Local Jamaicans show you where to go, will take pictures of you on your own camera and put on quite a show jumping off the waterfalls however, they do expect to be tipped. After swimming in the waterfall you begin the journey home, we arrived back in the resort at around 5:30 - 6pm.

Visited July 2013
2 Thank kd247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Blue Mountain Bike Tour, Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had a great time exploring the Blue Mountains on a downhill bike tour. The tour company, Blue Mountain Bicycle Tours, picked me up from my hotel. It was a 2.5 hour drive from Ocho Rios to get there, but the driver made it pleasurable by telling about the history of Jamaica and pointing out sights, and stopping for photos.

On the way up the mountain from Buff Bay to Hardware Gap the company has a guest house and restaurant where brunch was served and where everyone was fitted with helmets and elbow and knee pads. Then further up the mountain we went to the starting point of the bike trip.

Bikes were generally in decent condition, with a backpedal brake for the rear wheel, and a hand brake for the front wheel. With our guides we went down the road with a safe speed, making stops on the way for views, pictures and the occasional traffic. The road is in surprisingly good condition, only during the 1st mile there are potholes. (Guess they keep the road in good repair for the tourists, as the same road on the other side of the mountain towards Kingston is very bad! See my review on Hollywell park.) After 45 minutes we were back at the same guest house for lunch, then there was a stop at a coffee plantation, and one hour later the tour ended at a waterfall and natural pool, where the locals jumped from the waterfall for tips and you could cool off in the water, or with a Red Stripe.

For this trip you need to be comfortable on a bike, as in knowing how to keep good balance and how to brake, but otherwise it is not strenuous at all, as it is really all down hill. Even considering the long ride to get there it was a fun activity. I paid $98 for this.

Visited July 2013
1 Thank robert4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains also viewed

Kingston, Kingston Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish

Been to Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing