We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel with a great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spanish Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Spanish Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spanish Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Kingston
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A fine hotel with a great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

First trip to Kingston, and very pleasantly surprised. This well run boutique hotel in the heart of Kingston is a respite from the craziness of Kingston. My room was extremely comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable, the wireless worked great, TV was great with a load of channels, and the air conditioning was nice and cold.

While they certainly checked all the boxes, the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. Friendly and efficient are the best way to describe them. Kudos to management, I'm told that this is the hardest part of running a good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 215 was very good. The AC didn't blow directly on the bed, and that was a big plus for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    119
    22
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
70
21
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a night at the Spanish Court Hotel (April 12 2013). It was a very nice place. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were located on the third floor facing the road; we had an awesome view of the mountains.
The staff went out of their way to help you. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. It had fresh fruit, muffins, cereal and omelets made to order. This place is definitely a place to stay if you’re in the Kingston area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As far as Kingston goes this is the best you can get and this is a very lovely property with a good restaurant and great service. Whenever I need to go to Kingston I always stay at the Spanish Court and I have always had a very pleasant experience. On a very recent trip I sent a new dress to be dry cleaned and this obviously was not done at the hotel. Upon receiving my dress back with a hole in it the manager asked me how much I had payed for it and handed me, in cash, without questions asked, the value of the dress. I was pleasantly surprised and even though slightly upset about the ruined dress I had to give kudos to the amazingly prompt and definitive response of the manager.
The Spanish Court is MY place in Kingston!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor have more light and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Kingston does not have a "really" luxury hotel, The Spanish Court has the feeling of a lovely botique hotel, even if it has many rooms. The decor is modern, simple and functional. The restaurant is very good and as the hotel it is a good value.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights whilst on business. The staff were extremely helpful and the food was good. The room was comfortable although the air conditioning took some working out. The pool isn't great and the sun deck is just above the car park and a road.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had stayed in Spanish court for 2 nights and 3 days on my business trip. First of all, this hotel is situated amidst the happening location in kingston. Customer service is very good at reception/breakfast/restaurant. Welcome drink is provided on arrival. Breakfast options are quite less but whatever they provide is good. The room interiors are very well done infact the entire hotel sports a nice contemporary and trendy look. Wifi is free. There is a restaurant that serves good food. A supermarket is just opposite the hotel. Access to taxis is not a problem. Did not try the swimming pool or the spa.The lighting in the rooms can be improved for sure. The room i stayed had two beds and the beds were really good and had good rest. There are rooms with single bed as well. Given a chance and if i travel again, i will definitely prefer this hotel for my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We needed to stay in Kingston one night due to airplane departure times and we very pleased with how accommodating the staff is to everyone

Check in was a breeze and loved the welcoming champagne.

We had an issue with our room initially and the staff bent over backwards to makes us happy.

We enjoyed sitting by pool,in the evening and listening to music and have a glass of wine

We were able to walk to Scotchees for jerk chicken, but I wouldn't recommend it do to having to cross some very busy streets...

The morning buffet was quite nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
Free internet...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Terra Nova All Suite Hotel
Free internet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
The Knutsford Court Hotel
The Knutsford Court Hotel
#7 of 22 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Olympia Crown Hotel
Olympia Crown Hotel
#19 of 22 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Courtleigh Hotel and Suites
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#6 of 22 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
The Jamaica Pegasus Hotel
#8 of 22 in Kingston
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spanish Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spanish Court Hotel

Address: 1 St Lucia Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Kingston Parish > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston
#1 Spa Hotel in Kingston
#1 Family Hotel in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spanish Court Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spanish Court Hotel, comfort, convenience and effortless luxury is our signature trademark. The majestic, Spanish-influenced exterior is enhanced by rich, soothing interiors that evoke the Jamaican palette of black, gold and green. Our Guest Rooms, including a selection of Deluxe, Junior and Royal Suites, offer the ideal sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation. Room Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, wired and wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Spanish Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel Jamaica/Kingston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spanish Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.