We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make that Rum Punch stronger, mon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appleton Estate

Appleton Estate
Nassau Valley, Siloah in St. Elizabeth, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$160*
and up
Appleton Estate Rum Tour from Negril
Ranked #62 of 292 things to do in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make that Rum Punch stronger, mon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is definitely worth adding to your excursion list. It's a must see if you're into alcohol, history, and how things are made. I just went today and my group had a fun time!

The tour was awesome! It lasted for about 30-45 min and they walked us through the rum making process. A few people on the tour got to press out sugar cane by hand and the whole group received a sample. We also got to taste fresh molasses! And of course we has LOTS of samples of different rum :D Let's just say all the tourists were walking out with big smiles! They also give you a free mini bottle of rum on the way out.

Small tip: Its true, the rural roads are a bit rough getting there, but the bumpy ride is worth it. Plus you get to see the beautiful scenery! Also if you are able to stop by some of the food vendors on the way out, you'll please your inner foodie by indulging on local food (fish fry, bammy, festival, pepper shrimp, and local fruit).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LillyfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rum :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was really interesting to see where the rum is made and learn about the process. Guide was fun & knowledgeable. It rained almost the entire time we were there, but that is normal....they have plenty of umbrellas for everyone to stay dry!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AWilczynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Neat excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very interesting to see how the process is made. Neat walking tour and absolutely loved the tasting at the end. Tour guide very informative and appreciated the small group of people to answer individual questions.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historically enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed this brief tour of the grounds and ditillery. You also get a tasting session after your tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and polite. We would recommend this for a great history of rum and sugar production.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank familytrip09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rum is always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Half of my family is Jamaica but this was the first time I had been back that I was finally of age to go and savor Appleton Estate Rum. For some reason, though it was obviously not the first time I had consumed Appleton it was the best rum I have ever tasted! So clearly, setting plays a big part on perception. The employees were very friendly, the estate clean and well kept, and the bartenders were very informative and creative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleton Estate also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Appleton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing