We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically enlightening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appleton Estate

Appleton Estate
Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 223 attractions in Jamaica
Type: Factory Tours, Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction Details
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historically enlightening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed this brief tour of the grounds and ditillery. You also get a tasting session after your tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and polite. We would recommend this for a great history of rum and sugar production.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    8
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodden Town, Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Rum is always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Half of my family is Jamaica but this was the first time I had been back that I was finally of age to go and savor Appleton Estate Rum. For some reason, though it was obviously not the first time I had consumed Appleton it was the best rum I have ever tasted! So clearly, setting plays a big part on perception. The employees were very friendly, the estate clean and well kept, and the bartenders were very informative and creative.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great tour, bad roads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The tour of the distillery was very interesting and informative, conducted by a great guide who was entertaining and informative. Loved the rum tasting with all you can consume.

The drive from the cruise ship is over mountains on rugged roads in a bus that had poor suspension, fortunately we had a stop for a break.

The provided lunch was satisfactory.

Can only recommend the tour if you are interested in rum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Rum In The World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Appleton Estate Rum is the best in the world. A short distance from Treasure Beach to the Estate. Joy Spence Master Distiller knows how to make some tasty rum!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Arrive sober, leave tipsy...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really enjoyed this trip to Appleton estates, I'd visited Cuba and did the Santiago de Cuba tour and this tour was more informative plus instead of one tot of rum in Cuba you get to taste 13 different ones here so that makes the visit well worthwhile ...my partner and I also got to turn this big wheel that crushes sugar cane to make our own liquid sugar which we got to drink..you also taste the molasses they use.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleton Estate also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Portmore, Saint Catherine Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 

Been to Appleton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appleton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Appleton Estate to your Saves list