We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Are we there yet?"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Appleton Estate

Appleton Estate
Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$90*
and up
Black River, YS Falls and Appleton Rum Estate Day...
Ranked #39 of 198 Attractions in Jamaica
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Factory Tours, Landmarks
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Are we there yet?"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

That was what we kept asking ourselves and our driver as embarked on a three-hour odyssey to the Appleton Estate. Our first mistake was going straight there after our flight from Miami to Montego Bay. It's a very short flight but we weren't prepared for the bone-jarring, twisting and turning carnival ride. The roads are poor (although I've seen worse) and the curves in the road made us beg him to pull over for a break. When we asked our driver how much further, he would always answer, "Not as far as when you last asked me!"
It's a good thing the airlines don't serve any food because whatever we would have eaten would have found a final home on a Jamaican roadside. All that being said, the tour was very good and informative, the guides friendly and proud of their product, and you get to sample lots of their fine rum. It was worth it, for sure, but I suggest you start out early, have lunch there or on the way, and be prepared for a long day in the car.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    35
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The tour is not worth the money they are charging and I really must say: they are very arrogant. Go to the supermarket and buy a bottle of Rum and you get more for your money

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“INFORMATIVE AND TASTY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Site is hard to get to, but the tour is very well organized and informative.
You start off inside, where you watch a brief film about their products (while sipping a rum punch). Next you are assigned a guide who takes you thru the distillery while providing historic information on the Appleton products. You also get to try a couple of the by-products of making rum. Tour ends up back at the original building where you are encouraged to try the various types of rum and purchase any that capture your fancy.
Won't spoil it by filling in more detail but, as you likely know, Appleton's is considered the world's best, and if you're interested in the process, you won't be disappointed

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Informative, and intoxicating if you so wish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The estate is set in a pleasant part of the Jamaican interior, and has its own landscaped grounds including sports fields. The tour was excellent and entertaining and I now have a much better understanding of the whole process of rum distillation (NB we did not get to see the 'sugar-cane to molasses' stage because it was the wrong time of year, but I had seen this elsewhere). Photos were not permitted in certain areas owing to industrial espionage in past years, and security seemed generally tight. The quantity of barrels is mind-boggling. Rum punch was served before the tour, and there was a pretty-much unlimited tasting opportunity at the end (neither of which we could avail ourselves of as we were driving - you're better off doing this one on a coach tour :-) ). There is also a well-stocked shop.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Informative tour.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The tours at the estate are pricey but well-run and entertaining. Worth the trip for the history and scenery on the way there and back.

Visited November 2012

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appleton Estate also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Portmore, Saint Catherine Parish
Kingston, Kingston Parish
 

Been to Appleton Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appleton Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.