We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Good Hope Retreat to your Saves list.
Overlooking Bellmont and Bluefields bay
Jamaica
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
AandBD
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hideaway in stunning location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very pleasant 5 night stay in this lovely polished wood cabin. It is situated at 2000 feet, perched on a ridge, in a beautiful natural garden with wonderful views down to Bluefields from the cabin and across to the southwest coast from the garden. Everything is very simple, clean and well-presented. The bathroom with outdoor shower is in a separate building next-door to the cabin and the shower has a solar-heated warm water supply. The bed is large and very comfortable with mosquito net if needed (not necessary when we were there). Cooking facilities are simple but adequate, and note that meals can be provided by the hosts if desired. The house is about 40 minutes up the hill from the coast road and a 4wd is desirable (essential for the last half-kilometre or so). We hired a Suzuki Jimny from Island Cars at Montego Bay airport (good firm, excellent vehicle). Good Hope Retreat is well-located for exploring the western end of the island. If you do not want to self-drive, the owners will collect you at the airport and drive you around. Sean and his family are charming hosts and I am sure that on whatever basis you stay, you will have a great time at Good Hope Retreat.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Skanada
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
3
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I spent a magical week here in Good Hope. Everybody were really nice and friendly and we enjoyed being surrounded by nature... and the view from the cabin... amazing !!! Good Hope is perfect for people looking for something "off the track" in Jamaica. Though Sean, the owner, keeps it professionnal with attentionned and personnalized service, you feel at home, or at your friends' home. We were introduced to Jamaican culture and hospitality (and cuisine : delicious !!) through our many tours across the (marvellous) countryside and talks with Sean and the people of Good Hope. We also loved the beaches (bluefields,...) and the turquoise water of the sea. If you want to escape from the stress of life and just relax in paradise, this is the perfect place to stay. We just spent a week there and we just have one idea in mind : coming back again !!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jbbsmem
Key West, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exactly the Jamaican Experience I was looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at Good Hope Retreat a few times and each and every time is wonderful. From the minute I was picked up at the airport, I was treated with genuine, fun, respectful, informative Jamaican hospitality. The grounds are lush with flowers and fruits. The views are beyond spectacular. The food is exquisitely prepared, very tasty, and so unique. I have also brought my children (all ages) to Good Hope before and they have always loved it. Nearby are some great attractions: beaches, waterfalls, and markets. Whether I was looking for total peace and quiet or adventures with locals, I have always been totally pleased. I hope Sean has great success with Good Hope Retreat because he is a fantastic host.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$60
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
Owner
sean clark
+1 876-391-3775
Speaks English
Listed since : Feb 2011
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 469 days ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing