We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Falls

Mayfield Falls
Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mayfield Falls like an insider
$58*
and up
Ranked #19 of 315 things to do in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Our short day in Jamaica was partly spent here at mayfield and it was well spent! Great, knowledgeable, and fun tour guide named Dwight made it a great time. He took a ton of pictures for us and was very helpful to get us through each and every rock up the river. We did a swim through and jumped off a tree for some adventure! We also had an amazing jerk chicken meal afterward with some red stripe to cap our day. Go here and avoid the tourist trap at Dunn's (no hand holding here because its a private tour).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    63
    16
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mid Atlantic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A laid back morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The road to Mayfield falls is a disaster, the restrooms and the food and drink area are so so, but the experience is absolutely great.

You get a personal guide to take you onto the river and you get to walk up river, dive in the falls, experience the Jamaica mountains, and start to understand what Jamaica is all about.

Smaller groups, smaller crowds, great staff, the kind of side trip that once you've been there, you just sit back and say "that was neat".

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Swim in a waterfall is off my bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this trip from Negril because it wasn't as far to go and got great reviews!! It was worth the trip, you get to see a lot of the interior of Negril on the drive and we had a great driver! The falls are very cool and the walk up the river is fun!! Our guide was a nice guy and very knowlegable, our tour included lunch which was also good. My only complaint would be the herding your into the craft stands at the end of the tour and it was very high pressure! We didn't take much cash that day and tried being honest with them but we couldn't get away, we ended up having to make a deal to send cash back with the driver upon our return to our resort to get them to leave us alone! It doesn't seem to bother most people but I personally don't like it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Fun, and Secluded.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My friends and I visited Mayfield Falls as a half day trip from our hotel in Montego Bay/Hopewell. We chose Mayfield Falls over Dunns River Falls because the cab ride was cheaper and because we were looking for a less touristy activity. I guess I have no comparison but In my opinion it was a great choice. The grounds were secluded and beautiful. The entrance fee was $15 plus $5 for shoe rental (be prepared for old ripped water shoes. You may want to bring your own). When we arrived we were introduced to our guide who took us to a hut where we changed into our water shoes and gave him our valuables to hold in a cooler bag. Although they warn you not to bring anything not waterproof, our guide was very careful with my camera (in my own waterproof case in addition). There were lockers if we would have wanted to leave stuff back at the camp (other than our towels) We were accompanied by a photographer and told that we didn't have to buy the photos of we didn't want to. We spent the next hour and a half walking through the crystal clear water and climbing rocks/falls. I would say that it was an easy/moderate walk. Our guide was helpful in telling us where to step and gave us a hand for big steps. He also showed us how to get the most interesting poses and gladly took good pictures with my camera when asked to. Still you will get completely wet and basic swimming skills will come in handy (but not a prerequisite). I would be nervous with a little kid fighting the current of the falls so keep that in mind if this is a family trip. Throughout the entire trek only twice did we run into other tourists so it felt pretty secluded. We never felt rushed at any time. At the end we walked the trail back that follows the water. On the way our guide pointed out cool jungle plants, including indigenous Jamaican vegetables (I'll let it be a surprise which ones!) Back at the hut they showed us a slide show of our pictures. We had 110 pictures and were told the cost was $10 per picture or $85 for all pictures. Overpriced, but did include some nice pictures. I'm embarrassed to say we gave in and bought them. (What can I say I'm a sucker for pictures.) One word of warning, there was a definite smell of "natural herbs" wafting from one of the huts. Definitely explained the laidback vibe. One other warning...the road to get there was unpaved at times and very narrow. It was bumpy and I may have sucked in my breath when we had to pass another car. All in all if you are looking for a fun and less touristy alternative to Dunns River Fall, this is a great choice! I would highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best kept secret, waterfalls off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

make sure you go to the first entrance not the second. it is much more laid back, less touristy! not good for people with difficulty walking though as lots of stairs. the journey to the falls is amazing, seeing the real Jamaica, little villages and rivers, swaying bamboo, hills and gullies. the falls are freezing but fabulous. great guides, lunch and drinks available, our families favourite summer day out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfield Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Mayfield Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.