We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strenuous but very relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Falls

Mayfield Falls
Jamaica
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #14 of 223 attractions in Jamaica
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Strenuous but very relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Perfect activity for a really hot day! David and our guides were very knowledgeable, both about the environment as well as the best paths through the falls. Waterproof shoes and a bathing suit are a must, since you will be getting wet...in my case I was fully dunked many times. And the Washing Machine at the end of the climb is worth every penny!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    36
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kindersley, Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently visited Mayfield Falls while on vacation at Negril! It is well worth the drive from Negril to the mountains to see this attraction and meet the great people working there. We all loved the experience of hiking up the falls. Our guide was so great, helpful and entertaining! The hike was followed by a lunch (extra cost) and time to look around. I would recommend the jerk chicken and the shrimp over the fish and curried chicken. A great experience!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unspoiled Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I have visited Mayfield falls today to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary. To begin, we would like to give kudos to our driver Sammy (Licensed with all of the Jamaica tourist organizations) for his excellent personalized tour from our hotel in Negril to the falls as he drove us through the small villages and mountains to give us a real taste of Jamaica. I have travelled to Jamaica 3 times now and this is the best half day excursion that I have ever taken. If you are staying in Negril and need to go anywhere on the island he is fantastic, waits for you during all excursions and is more reasonable than what most hotels charge to go on a crowded bus with other tourists. He can be reached/texted at (876) 360-0425.

Now back to the falls. Unlike Dunns River or the YS falls, tbe Mayfield falls are much less developed/commercialized and allow for more intimate time away from the masses of other tourists. Entry is $15 per person and each group is assigned one of 11 tour guides to navigate them up the falls. In our case my wife and I had our own guide. Our guide Clyde-Michael was worth every dollar we tipped him (he earns all of his livelihood on tips he receives). His knowledge of the falls, the country of Jamaica and of the jungle that surrounds the falls was fascinating to listen to. Unlike Dunns River and YS, my wife and I found Mayfield much more relaxing in terms of time allowed to swim and less tourist noise to take everything in. The guide tour takes about 1.5 hours. So beautiful and peaceful.

A must see if you visit Jamaica!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful and off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

4 of us went on the Mayfield Falls climb and loved it. There is a lot of climbing involved so it's not for the elderly or physically challenged, but well worth the trip. The guides are wonderful, pointing out different plants and sights. If you go make sure to take a waterproof camera (you WILL get dunked)and water shoes or crocs.
The cost was $15 admittance per person, plus a generous tip for the guide. We hired a local cabby to take us for a day tour and this was where we ended up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mountain magic Jan. 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hidden away in the rough and tumble of Western Jamaica is this gem. It may not have the publicity of Dunn River falls or the development of YS Falls but well worth the hour of rough roads to get there from Negril. We are a group of mature travelers with a fair amount of outdoor experience. Not mountain climbers but used to rough travel.
This attraction was impressive in its simplicity. More like large rapids than falls, although you are making some 1 to 2 meter ascents at a time. We had the opportunity to swim through a short underwater tunnel as well. This is available depending on water flows. The water was incredibly clear and comfortably warm.
You will have very good guides but also a photographer wanting to pose at regular intervals. I suspect the attraction makes a big chunk of its revenue off the photo franchise.

Recommendations:
1. Be reasonably mobile, flexible enough to raise your knee above your hip, you will be making some big steps to climb wet rocks.
2. Wear water shoes or tight fitting water friendly sandals. Good traction is a must.
3. If you want to take your own photos use a water camera or ziplock bags to protect it. Our guides were willing to carry our cameras when things got iffy.
4. Be prepared to wait while photos are posed at various points during the hike. Remember you're in Jamaica, not in a rush.
5. CD was $35US we bought it.

Food is available at the bar/restaurant but limited variety and ordered before you begin your hike through the falls.

Just like Disneyland, you end the ride right in the store. There are a few crafts shops at the end of the trail. The vendors were not pushy and by the looks of it these are the people who make them.
All in all this was a good walk in the wilderness, perfect for our group.

My overall rating was excellent well worth the fees and taxi ride. Better than YS Falls (visited in 2012) in a rustic sort of way.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfield Falls also viewed

Santa Cruz, Saint Elizabeth Parish
Port Antonio, Portland Parish
 
St. Ann's Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Westmoreland Parish, Jamaica
 

Been to Mayfield Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.