We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed + peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Runaway Bay

Runaway Bay
Jamaica
Improve this listing
Ranked #96 of 198 Attractions in Jamaica
Type: Historic Sites, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Scuba diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful and exclusive resort area near Discovery Bay, where Columbus is said to have first landed on the island.
Birmingham u.k
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxed + peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

From the time we arrived at reception to the time we left for home every detail was taken care of. Runaway bay is a cove where the sea warm + the suns hot. We visited The dunns river falls (make sure you take your own sea shoes) climb the waterfall its exhilerating + not as bad as it looks. We went to Ocho Rios, that is an experience, its colourful, loud + busy. The street peddlers were a nuisence, every couple of yards we had ppl stop us to buy wooden beeded trinkets that they claim were made by their sick children! We were given a free upgrade to the sister hotel in montego bay (we both regret tAking it. Overall the holiday was brilliant. You can have as much or as little peace as you want. The beach is constantly being swept + all the staff were lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A lovely quiet village, took a stroll from our hotel locals very friendly not many people about until you reach the supermarket must be the local gathering point. Not much to see.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pauline and Bob's Corner shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Royal Decameron Club Caribbean. Beautiful hotel, great service and good food. No complaints there. If you are looking for an awesome driver for a day trip go to the first corner shop outside of the resort. Pauline and her husband Bob own the shop and also provide day trip service. We traveled through the mountains of St Ann, stopping in Brown's Town at the weekly Saturday Market, through the rocky roads to the Bob Marley Museum and saw Farmer Mega's Plantation in Nine Mile, down to 8 Mile, stopped at the Scotchie's Jerk Centre in Ocho Rios, ventured over to Dunn's River but did not go to the falls, and then ended back at Pauline's shop. The trip lasted roughly 8 hours. We gave the driver $100 plus tip for the drive. We did spent a close to $200 on attractions/souvenirs, but it was well worth it! Thank you, Bob and Pauline!
Tips:
1) Negotiate a price and pay ahead of time. This applies to everything.
2) Bring a good amount of Jamaica Dollars, tend to get lower prices that way
3) Be ready and more than aware that you will have to barter. Don't be naive, they expect you to bargain with them. If you don't bargain, you'll get a run for your money. This can be fun or super intimidating, your choice.
4) The ride is bouncy, wouldn't suggest pregnant women take this trip
5) Feed Bob. The man is probably just as hungry as you are during your drive. At the Jerk Centre the three of us shared a whole chicken, rice/beans/, and soda for like 1200 J. Always tip your driver and treat him like family, you will feel the mutual respect.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting but never again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Went on lumination trip. It was very interesting to see but don't need to see it again. You get about 10 min in the water and drive around the bay about 20 min. then back to hotel. The bottom of the bay is very very muddy and you dont want to touch it. I am glad I went to experience this but not worth the money. I almost felt that it was a waste of precious vacation time. It seems that it is better to go when it is raining because the water illuminates when it is being touched.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

This is a review of our first and second trips to Breezes Runaway Bay in Jamaica. Our first trip was June 1st to June 8th 2008 and our second trip was July 23rd to July 28th 2008.

As soon as we landed and made it though the airport, we were greeted with smiling faces and quickly shown to the Superclubs desk in the airport. In less than ten minutes they were loading us on the bus. We found our bus driver to be very safe and sociable. He even gave us a small commentary on items of interest as we passed them. The ride through the country was very pleasant and enjoyable, as it was almost exclusively along the coastline, and was a good start to the trip. On the way over to the resort, the bus driver made one stop for people to get out and use the restroom and stretch their legs which was very nice.

Sandra Holness, Guest Relations Manager of Breezes Runaway Bay Jamaica made us feel at home and she made us feel like part of the family. The people working there are outstanding and are there to make sure your vacation is a time to remember. The service at the entire resort was excellent. The entertainment staff was truly excellent. Crawzy Chris, Dwayne, Verona, and Aldeen, just to name a few, were all very talented and energetic. We looked forward to “Show Time” every night. There were also photographers that would roam around wanting to take your pictures that you would later have the option to buy. This was great for the times where you just didn’t have your own camera to capture those memories. Garth Brooks and Crazy J, photographers, were friendly and very funny. We were always treated well and the staff was quite friendly and attentive to our needs. I really felt like I was getting the true Jamaican treatment. So many of the staff helped make this a great vacation!!

Our Premium room was beautiful! The rooms were very cool in temperature, which was a relief from the heat and humidity outside. All rooms have balconies and/or patios that are angled so that most have a view of the interior gardens as well as some of the ocean.

The food is excellent and never boring! We had most of our dinners at the buffet but we did branch out and had dinner at Munasans which was great!!, and Pastafari was also worth the time. All the bartenders were very friendly and you have to try the Jamaican mixed drinks! The Jamaican sex on the beach is my favorite!

There were many activities to be had, ranging from group activities like Jamaican trivia, drinking games, etc, to water sports such as sailing, kayaking, paddleboats, windsurfing, snorkeling, and scuba.

The resort was beautiful and extremely clean. We found the facilities (i.e. common areas, pools, equipment) to be attractive, in great condition, and well maintained . The beach was spotless and the ocean water was exquisite.

It was the best vacation we have ever had and was an experience not to be forgotten. We will be back, again and again and again...... :) I can't wait to go back. Don't hesitate - GO!!!!!

We are heading back to Breezes Runaway Bay in Jamaica again on November 12th through the 19th!!! Yes, that’s three times in one year….that’s how much we love it there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Runaway Bay also viewed

Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
Runaway Bay, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Runaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runaway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.